We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, but impersonal and a bit run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Belhamy Hoi An Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Belhamy Hoi An Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Le Belhamy Hoi An Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamlet 1 - Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Denmark
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Nice beach, but impersonal and a bit run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We went to Le Belhamy because we needed some time at the beach after Da Lat and Hue.

We rented a pool villa with private pool and room for 7. The villas are located a 1 minute walk from the beach. I would say that the beach, which is pretty clean is the main draw here. This time of year however it is not a beach where you would swim out, but you can stand in the waves and hope that the strong current does not take you away. They had 3-5 Lifeguard on duty, but everyday they put up the red flag and seemed to sleep the day away. I cant blame them, its a nice place to sleep, but somehow I do not like to see sleeping staff while looking at my 220 USD pr night room bill.

Breakfast was OK, but if you ordered anything for lunch or dinner expect to pay 3-4x normal price. So go to Hoi An instead.

The general maintenance of this place is OK, but as you can read in quite a few reviews in a lot of places it is worn down in a lot of places. Tiles missing, scratches on wood, towels that should have been replaced years ago etc.

Its a resort so they have spa service, massage etc. Price of this is 7-8 times as much as f.ex. Saigon on the street. Sure you have the beach to look at while getting a massage.

When checking in at this place you are a guest who they expect to pay your bill. And thats it. Dont expect any extraordinary service, help or too many friendly smiles.

Hoi An is 10 mins away by taxi or VND 110.000. Or you can use the Hotel Shuttle which runs every three hours or so (if they feel like it). It was sometimes a bit erratic.

We had an OK time, but we are not going back here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    151
    72
    23
    16
See reviews for
150
174
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang, Vietnam
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here in one week with my family and I ready to enjoyed so much.Nice beach with cleaning environment.I came to Nam Dinh restaurant and leaning cooking class with very good local chef.The staff was friendly, Restaurant is very nice decoration with french style.Buffet breakfast was good with many thing to choose.The Spa was good with body massage.Thanks and I will come back for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

. We relied on the TA reviews to make a decision to stay and thought that because there were far more good reviews than bad we would find the resort acceptable. However if you have been staying in good quality well managed resorts run by reputable hotel chains then you will not easily tolerate this place. This resort is not managed by a chain

The good: rooms are fine, pools are big enough and beach is OK. The not so good. Everything else is mediocre. The downstairs beds are rock hard. We had to remake beds with sofa cushions for the kids. Other issues were at the beach pools: many broken tiles with unsafe gaps some broken decking with unsafe gaps pool filter caps missing, shards of paint peeling from the shade structures, not a holiday feel.

Management advised that a recent typhoon was the cause of the problems but I believe that to be true only in part.

Also the resort seemed empty so that added to the feeling of decline.

The breakfast set up was unimpressive I have not seen staff sneaking snacks from the buffet before. The gardens need a lot of TLC. When we decided to leave earlier than we had booked the management were helpful and understanding and acknowledged the problems. I wish them luck.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This resort is located on a nice quiet stretch of beach about 10 minute drive from central Hoi An. The hotel lays on a regular free shuttle service into town.

We had a nice large room with high ceiling and baloney which overlooked one of the pools, tea/coffee facilities. One very odd thing about the room was the bathroom where you had to walk through the walk in shower to get to the toilet which I thought was very odd.

All in all this a nice resort but there were a few things that stuck out that could be improved if they want to set themselves as a higher end resort. The breakfast which was set up outside could have been a bit more varied. The service around the pool bar was very slow and there was no sign of anyone handing out beach towels (we had to ask one of the lifeguards for one). Reception whilst very friendly offered us a glass warm water when we first arrived after a long drive from Hue, which differed from most other hotels we stayed in Vietnam. Only small things.

It is a nice setting though and the beach is lovely. Didn't try the restaurant.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We're just back from a beautiful stay here at the Belhamy. Frankly if you get great weather all you need is a pool, a beach, a decent room and friendly hosts and Le Belhamy has all of those things - to such an extent that I couldn't not give them 5, but...

This appears very much a family run place and it shows in a good way and a not so good way. Yes, it's incredibly friendly but it's not exactly smoothly run.

In a week there I don't think there was anything that we ordered from the bar that the bar actually stocked. Each time something had to be found. It didn't even have ice behind the bar. On another occasion they said the coffee machine was broken. Cocktails took forever. I asked for salt for my fries one time and I'd all but finished them by the time it arrived.

Though there was a private beach there was no beach drinks service which made no sense at all. Why wouldn't you make a few extra dollars by serving to the beach? In general the bar staff didn't move from the TV at the bar.

Beyond that there were several little things that were just daft. The Chorizo Pizza, as mentioned by an earlier reviewer, has no Chorizo. The woodwork in our room had termites and their crunch woke us up regularly. I had to get a phone replaced in my room, the second phone worked intermittently. My parents had to replace the safe in their room - later when we had to check out the new safe broke too and it took three members of staff sometime to get their passports back.

Breakfasts were good - other meals less so.

The first couple of days the beach was red flagged - despite this five swimming guards lounged by the beach all day. Two days later there was a green flag and no guard to be seen. When people vacated beach loungers no one took away empty drinks or dusted the sand off.


Lovely lovely set up and absolutely gorgeous but if you're the type to get wound up by general clunkiness then you might be better off choosing a more corporate option. We had a lovely time but it wasn't exactly problem free.

Room Tip: We just had a cheap room rather than the expensive cabin style accommodation - it was fine and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

After travelling around Thailand and Vietnam for 6 weeks we were ready for a little R&R from all the hussle & bussle of crowded streets. Our taxi passed a sign, 'le belhamy resort ' and we decided to check it out. Much to our surprise we were in this garden paradise, The beauty of the hotel is surpassed only by the friendly and helpfull staff. This resort is the real deal. All the ammenities you would expect in a 5 star hotel.It is a family run resort and classified as a 4 star but comparable to any 5 star. Just a stone throw from a fabulous beach and an ocean that is second to none. Wonderful dining, hammocks under palm trees with ocean waves that can lull the most difficult of sleepers. All the rooms are bright, comfortable and cheerful. We are planning to come back real soon with our son and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We got off on the wrong foot right from the start of our stay. I organised a car for 6 people to pick us up from the airport and it literally held only 6 people - no luggage! We needed to hire a second car to tranfer our bags and when I queried this with the hotel, I was told it was my fault as I did not let them know that I would be bringing luggage for a 6 night stay. If you are using the hotel's transfer service, make sure you clearly advise the number of people and bags that need to be collected.

With no restaurants nearby, we chose to dine in the restaurant on our first night. We should have known something was wrong when we saw that only 2 tables were taken on a Saturday night. We were given a snack menu to choose dinner from. We thought this was very unusual and the staff must have heard us discussing this as they eventually found a slightly larger menu and brought it over. One of our party ordered seafood from the second menu which was a mistake - the seafood was contaminated. We could smell it before it got to the table. Another meal didn't even arrive, but we didn't chase it after seeing the rotten seafood. The breakfast the next day was much better and most guests ate at the hotel for breakfast.

The staff are very willing and friendly however we found it was easier to walk across to the bar and order our room drinks rather than call after waiting 30 minutes for 2 drinks that ended up being not what we had ordered. There is a language barrier and my Vietnamese is non existent, so we found that it worked a lot better by speaking to the staff in person.

The rooms are very spacious and well set out, but in definite need of repair. We are still waiting for the leaking toilet and broken light fixtures to be repaired - I guess the next guest will have to follow that up. The beds are HARD and I never got used to sleeping on them.

The resort itself is set in a very nice garden setting. We chose a pool villa and were given a beachside pool villa as an unexpected bonus. It was great to be so close to the water.

The spa was the highlight - the therapists are lovely and well trained in a beautiful, peaceful setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Belhamy Hoi An Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Belhamy Hoi An Resort and Spa

Address: Hamlet 1 - Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Belhamy Hoi An Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Belhamy Hoi An resort and Spa is located on the picturesque Ha My Beach - less than 10 minutes drive from the UNESCO Heritage Listed Hoi An Ancient Town. The resort reflects the influences of Japan, France, China and Vietnam in its unique architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Le Belhamy Hoi An Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Belhamy Hoi An Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Belhamy Hoi An Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.