We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Photo Day Tours & Workshop

Hoi An Photo Day Tours & Workshop
42 Phan Boi Chau, Hoi An 0084, Vietnam
0084905671898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 113 activities in Hoi An
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hoi An Photo tour is now strong of over 3 years of experience. For the ones who wish to capture the real Vietnam in non touristy areas and/or learn more about photography, this tour is made for you. Led by a professional photographer, the tour takes you to villages where no other tourists can be seen. The tour includes a photography workshop to learn about all your camera settings, and a composition workshop to work on one's creativity. Capture an amazing sunrise in a fishing village, or rice farmers at sunset, Hoi An Photo Tour is the best way to get a very close up view on Vietnam!Get your best photos of Vietnam and improve your photography skills!
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a great morning with a small group lead by Etienne, would recommend this to anyone interested in taking photos of people.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    20
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I took the sunrise tour with Etienne and, enjoyed every bit of it, even though I am a complete photo beginner. We went to a number of interesting places making it possible to take lots of great shots (with Etienne always there to share tips). After the briefing and coffee we spent about four hrs together in a few places: we had a beautiful sunrise on the ferry, visited a fisherman village, a fish sauce factory, the harbour and had nice quick breakfast in the village. Everyone seemed to know Etienne - he speaks Vietnamese and is very friendly and supports some of the locals in the village, which I found amazing (always good to see people giving back!). This made the whole experience really nice as we were welcomed with smiles everywhere and people were even posing for us :). In the end we rode bicycles along the river back to town - lovely end to the tour.
I highly recommend this to both pro and complete amateur photographers as it's a lot of fun and let's you see the beautiful Hoi An from a different angle (quite a few angles actually :)!).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An absolutely stunning early morning Workshop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I took the sunrise tour with Etienne. It was a great experience! Absolutely stunning..
He gave us a Lot of helpful hints and took us to the most interesting places around Hoi An, but miles away from the usual Tourist spots ( thanks for that). He speaks vietnamese and therefore interaction with local people was very easy and we got lots of gorgeous shots. I really can recommend Etienne as a very nice person, a great teacher and a fantastic photographer.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Two of us took the Sunrise Tour with Pieter. It was surprisingly easy to get up for the 4.30am pick up - life starts much earlier in Vietnam and you get into the swing of it - plus there was plenty of coffee. We have a moderate to beginner understanding of photography and found that Pieter's explanations really helped clarify some confusing aspects. He knows his stuff. However, the best part was the fish market - huge, crazy and a great way to get in amongst the locals. You get two coffee breaks and a banh mi along the way, and the trip includes boat trips and a bicycle to ride through the village back to hoi an. A really well run tour in a small group - one of the best things we've done so far. Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went on the sunrise tour. There is a fee - better to pay through the web-site (a little cheaper) which I after paying.
One of the suggestions to would-be tourists is DO NOT expect to learn lots about photography. It is basic but very, very interesting. If you learn nothing (which is really not possible) it is well worth the experience of being among the fishing village early in the morning. And yes, it is possible to go and not have to use a "flash" camera. Believe me! You get out of it what you put in! The colours on the river were amazing. It was a great experience to see how the villagers work haggling for the best price for the seafood products. We then walked through the village and had breakfast, went to a fish-sauce factory which was interesting and then walked back to the ferry which was another experience in itself. We then rode back to Hoi An and finished our tour. Thank you Peter

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Photo Day Tours & Workshop also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Photo Day Tours & Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Photo Day Tours & Workshop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hoi An Photo Day Tours & Workshop to your Saves list