We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ong Bee lounge

Ong Bee lounge
313 Nguyen Duy Hieu street, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 9 88 326 796
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $2 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Restaurant is opening within the next few weeks. Decoration on going. We offer Vietnamese specialities, Western dishes & vegetarian meals.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have been in Hoi An for four days and have had lunch at this quaint little restaurant three times. The food is really great, service is fantastic and the beer very cold. Extremely affordable prices and very clean, overall. It's decked out in yellow and black hence the name!
Try it you'll love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    24
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent food at a very reasonable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

As a regular guest to Hoi An we regularly visited in the past Secret Gardens. However since some time we were disappointed by the service as well as the food, which was of great quality. My wife suggested that we should visit Ong Bee, which we did and were not disappointed. The menu car is very rich, maybe a little bit too rich, but the food we ordered was excellent. Well cocked, we didn't have to wait. The waitresses repeated each order taken so as to avoid mistakes and we got what we wanted. The interior is not as spectacular as Secret Garden, but the better service largely compensates for it. The evening was excellent and we will certainly return again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst food in town”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice looking place, good service but worst food in town. Meat very tough, meal not very tasty. Did give us free drinks to compensate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stumbled across the place one very hot lunch time. We had BBQ prawns and a chicken and noodle soup. Delicious. Fans were set up around us to cool the soaring temperatures. Over the five days we were in Hoi An we ate in here a few times (lunch or dinner) and were never disappointed. The corn soups were lovely (chicken /prawn) and the Saigon beer was great. They even made me a coffee with hot milk....lovely. Indoor or outside dining it's a thumbs up from us

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled onto this place today, prices are reasonable, service swift and food was delicious! Loved the happy hour mojitos too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ong Bee lounge also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ong Bee lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ong Bee lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.