We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall pleased.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Van 2 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thanh Van 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Thanh Van 2 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 111 Hoi An B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“overall pleased.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

clean, roomy and comfortable rooms, great bathrooms, excellent breakfast, good computers in lobby, friendly and helpful staff, free bicycles, shuttle to edge of tourist district, good info on local attractions and a wide range of booking options. price excellent value for money.

only downside: staff appear to be working on commission. it felt like every time we walked in or out, someone tried to sell us something. the funny one was when the employee tried to tell us, at 10pm, that we needed to book our airport taxi with her immediatey (36 hours beforehand) because it was high season. er, no.
also, no credit card payment.

Room Tip: currently has construction next door--ask for a room facing away from this if daytime noise is a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    108
    38
    21
    12
See reviews for
30
139
35
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We traveled Vietnam for three weeks and this was by far the best room for the price. The bathroom was fabulous. The pool is great and the shuttle to town is nice, even though we took a taxi sometimes for only $1. Breakfast was wonderful...full buffet. The free bikes were great...we rode 3 km to the local beach and had a great afternoon. The staff was wonderful...however, the sweet girl at the front counter booked us a taxi/tour to Marble Mountain, Marble Beach and then the driver was supposed to get us a hotel in Danang since we were flying out the next day. The hotel charged us $40 and the driver did not speak any English. He took us to Marble Mountain, which we had to figure out on our own, then to the "beach" where there was nothing. We had asked the hotel to make sure we could change and have a bite to eat, maybe some cabanas...then we just asked to go to hotel but he didn't know where to go. It ended up being a very frustrating afternoon and we felt like we got a $40 miserable taxi ride... Other than that, our stay here was wonderful. I would just be careful about what you book through the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved walking into our room.
Felt like we had stepped into colonial Vietnam.
Massive bathroom with bath and shower.
Can't pay with credit cards. We had to walk to 9 ATM's at 9.30 in the night to extract 12 million dong. That's 6 transactions....reflected on our bank statement when we got home. The ATM's either weren't working or didn't take master card.
The staff were absolutely amazing in on booking our travel via train to Hanoi to Ha long Bay.
When you book the Sleeper...insist on a bottom bunk. And if you can afford it go for the up market Ha long Bay boat. The cheaper is an experience but recommended for those younger than 30.
Shuttle bus is a godsend in the heat of the day and travels hourly.
Try a few places other than the recommended tailors..Thanh Van....We found them pushy to the extreme and touching my husband and calling him Daddy was unacceptable. We were unimpressed with their workmanship and can't recommend them. There are hundreds of tailor shops to choose from.
The girls at reception were wonderful, especially a young lady called Thanh, professional and helpful and made our time there very special. My husband was unwell and she couldn't do enough to help.
Make sure you plan to be there on the full moon. It is an experience not to be missed.
An experience of a life time.
Thanks Thanh

Room Tip: Cant pay with credit card
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

this hotel was one of the nicest hotels I stopped whilst in Vietnam I booked a deluxe room with balcony, I certainly was not disappointed. the room was massive it had a step up bed and a separate seating area with television and fridge. the bathroom was a separate toilet and separate shower room the bath was a step up bath with had a shower in as well. breakfast was also very good eggs made to order and everything else was buffet style plenty of choice too. they also have a pool and the hotel has a shuttle bus into town on the hour, and also free bicycles to hotel guests. I choose to walk which took approx. 20 minutes. the hotel also has a tailors in town at located next to its other hotel I had a suit made and shirts and they were very very good and cheap too 1 suit 2 shirts and a denim jacket cost me £160. all in all well worth stopping here if you do you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a good hotel set about 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Hoi An. Our room was on the first floor with two enormous twin beds, good air con, and a large bathroom with a step-up bath and shower. Booking in was very easy, with the staff very helpful, The Wi-fi in the room was first class with a strong signal at all times. Breakfast was reasonable with the usual choice of breads, pastries and fruits plus an egg station where eggs/omlettes could be cooked to your order. We used Hoi An as a relaxation stop between Saigon and Hanoi and the use of the swimming pool was most welcome to chill out in. Don't be put off by the location of this hotel as they do offer a free shuttle service to the town centre and free bicycle hire, but the leisurely stroll to the town is not demanding, and you do get to meet the locals on the way, who are always pleased to meet you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beautiful room, good value at reasonable price -shuttle (free) made it very convenient. Restaurant lovely for evening meal but kitchen closed at 7.30pm. Breakfast very disappointing. Varied reception -mostly friendly but some surly. Excellent coffee in the corner bar/cafe across the road. Would consider staying again. Relaxed. Air cond good but mattress incredibly hard.

Room Tip: Family suite was very roomy, with bath tub. No problem if you want extra space. Solar hot water a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is a little away from the main tourist circuit of Hoi An but nonetheless very easily accessible to everywhere. It is about a 15 min walk to the old-town but they have bicycles and mopeds that you can rent. We paid $25 for a really nice twin room and we rented a moped from the guy in the front. As the guy would close his shop at 8pm, he asked us to park the bike at the hotel parking lot and turn in the key to the reception. We had no problems doing that.

The girls at the reception were very friendly and enterprising. They booked us a cab for $30 to take us to Da Nang airport. They even packed us little sandwiches and gave us a banana on our way out. At the checkout, since we were hurried, my friend left her Vietnamese painting on the counter and walked to our car. The girl came running and gave us the painting. This honesty and service was truly appreciated.

We also got things stitched and delivered to our hotel and the hotel had kept it for us neatly. Overall, great property and excellent value for money. They even had a tub in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor. They have cheaper rooms in the basement too but don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thanh Van 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van 2 Hotel

Address: 467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Van 2 hotel is very new, The hotel grand opening 2 month ago. The hotel is same owner with Thanh van 1 in Hoi an. New hotel and very clean, good service and so quite new, but friendly staff,....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thanh Van 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Van 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.