We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Van 2 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thanh Van 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Thanh Van 2 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 122 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Loved this hotel. It is a little out of the centre of Hoi An, but there is a shuttle bus and bicycles available and you can off course rent a scooter. The staff is friendly and attentive and we got upgraded to a bigger room without asking. The room was perfect. I liked the decor, it was large, it had a balcony, the bathroom is beautiful. They also let us use the pool and showers even after we had checked out, and allowed us to leave our baggage in the baggage room. they mentioned that they had a tailor in town, but was not at all pushy about it. The staff is more than willing to help with whatever queries you might have. Stay here! You wont regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    120
    41
    21
    12
See reviews for
30
152
41
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Hotel is situated almost half way between the old City of Hoi An and the Local Beach.
You get a bicycle for free, so it's quite ideal:takes you 5 minutes to the old City and 10-15 to the beach.The area around is pretty untouristy - so far.The rooms are very good, AC,TV,wooden floor,good beds,great bathrooms and very clean with a good daily room service.Buffet Breakfast is included and the food is safe and pretty good.The stuff is helpful, competent and friendly:I came back there after three years and they recognised me, giving me a warm welcome.I stayed in a standart single room - which was definitely the most convenient joice during me six month travel.When you consider the price you will hardly find a deal like this anywhere else in VN I suppose.Tired of shabby Guest Houses but still not rich?Check in here!

Room Tip: The website doesn't work proper sometimes, so better contact the staff via email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (9nights). Free bicycles. Motor bikes and helmets Aus$5 per day.
Free hourly shuttle bus to old quarter and return. Rooms are spacious with large bathrooms. Wonderfully friendly staff.

Room Tip: All the Number '6' rooms ie 106, 206 are the Deluxe rooms but only approx Aus$43 per room pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I booked a few nights here for ourselves and my parents and all had a great time. So good in fact that my wife and I are now staying here for an additional week. The hotel is great value for money - the rooms are big,clean and serviced every day with fresh towels and sheets. The breakfast is basic, the staff are all friendly and keen to help you out both at reception and around the complex, the free wifi is generally pretty good, into the town for the 15 minute brisk walk. or 5 minute cycle ride.
Haven't used the restaurant,The food is pretty terrible .Lots of good choices nearby. Go to Grass garden restaurant, which is 2 minute away, just stond the corner.The food really yummy!!!!. Fair priced. Staff was very nice and explained some things about the food in their best English. They were lovely and friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is away from the old town but they do offer a free shuttle bus every hour (8am-10pm) and free bikes ( 5-10min ride). We had booked a standard room(4 nights) but were given a room with a balcony overlooking the pool, which was a bonus (not). The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom large. The room is swept out and the bed made on request and clean towels(some) are left.Free bottled water daily but the tea and coffee was not replaced, when I asked I was told I could go to the restaurant for coffee ie. buy it.
The buffet breakfast was very good with a selection of hot dishes, freshly cooked eggs, cold meats, fruit, and pastries.
WIFI is not good, very irregular signal that kept disappearing completely.
Our impression of the staff and hotel went down. It is 3star rated and whilst you don't expect western standards you do expect good service. If the truth be told if they can't sell you anything they're not really bothered with you. There are the normal pleasantries and smiles but they don't go out of their way. The male staff did not even help us with our bags to the taxi when we left,they just stood and watched.
One thing to bear in mind if you are looking to book soon: There is major building work going on next door, they start work at 6.30 /7am. The pool is overlooked by the building work/men. Call me synical but our "upgrade" to the pool view, noisy room was maybe only to leave the quieter front rooms for the higher paying guests!

Room Tip: From what we saw all rooms are of the same good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Location is 10 - 15 minute bike ride away from the heart of Hoa An. Hotel provides free bikes, which is very helpful, but the surrounding area is really uninteresting.

Public areas lack air conditioning or adequate fans. Restaurant is like a sauna each morning. Reception is stifling.

Breakfast consists of a very boring buffet and cooked to order eggs.

Room was fine. WiFi was irregular suggesting more and / or updated routers are needed. Bars of soap were the smallest I've ever seen!

Staff are friendly and helpful but transparently under significant pressure to sell tours and rail tickets. I made the mistake if purchasing a rail ticket and paid a hefty premium over a travel agent price. Almost made the same mistake with bus ticket to Danang found an agent charging a fair price and cancelled ticket originally booked at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is just outside of the old town area but within a quick bike ride or taxi ride. You can also take the free hotel shuttle to the Thanh Van I hotel and walk into the old town area from that location.

Our lovely staff wearing the traditional Vietnamese garments attended to our every need. There is a tremendous buffet breakfast served poolside every morning or if you prefer, dine inside with views of the pool.

This hotel was recommended to us by locals.

We would stay again-extremely reasonable, clean, quiet location and convenient to the beach area and old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit above the 2nd floor. You don't need to pay extra for a pool view since the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thanh Van 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van 2 Hotel

Address: 467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Van 2 hotel is very new, The hotel grand opening 2 month ago. The hotel is same owner with Thanh van 1 in Hoi an. New hotel and very clean, good service and so quite new, but friendly staff,....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thanh Van 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Van 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.