We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Van 2 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Thanh Van 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Thanh Van 2 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 113 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

While the hotel is a little away from old town ( 5 min bike ride),everything else is excellent.
And since its a bit off the old town grid, the prices are excellent.

My room was huge. Very well done up and felt like a 4 star at minimum.
Lovely balcony overlooking the pool and beyond.
Breakfast was lovely. Live egg counter et all.

Staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Right opposite the hotel is a bike rental place. Get yourself a scooter and you wont feel you are not in the middle of the action. (The same can be rented from the hotel for a higher price. avoid)

The in-house spa is also wonderful and cheaper than most spas in old town area. Nothing like coming back home to a lovely massage.

Overall, lovely and recommended.

Room Tip: Pool facing, on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    98
    36
    21
    12
See reviews for
28
130
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our stay was ok until we checked out. We were charged 2 bottles of beer which we did not consume. The amount was very small and we just paid to get our passports back. That really put us off as incidence like this never happened to us for over 30 years of traveling. For those who wants to stay in this hotel, maybe you should check your mini bar items at checking in to avoid being charged unduly. Sound proofing is very poor. Location of the hotel is far from Hoi An old quarter. I would stay somewhere nearer to the old town if I visit Hoi An again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A few friends and I visited Hoi An on our way through vietnam. We booked this hotel online before we left because it looked like a nice well priced hotel and when we got there we certainly weren't disappointed.

The first point to note was that the rooms were quite big compared to other hotels we had stayed in. Plenty of room to relax. There was even a couch. 4 of us shared 2 rooms and the staff were very helpful and gave us the option of adjoining rooms or separate rooms but each with a balcony. The service was great, the staff were very friendly and happy to help. We didn't book any tours as we were only in town for a few days but they had plenty of info and tours that you could book.

The hotel isn't located right in the center of town but they have a free shuttle service, free bicycles and most of the time we just walked (which took approx. 20min.) so it was never a problem. The main reason we stopped into Hoi An was to get clothes made. We had a list of tailors to try but when we got there the staff at the hotel suggested we visit their tailor (Thanh Van - Cloth Shop). We were a little skeptical at first as we hadn't heard of their tailor but in the end we decided to go with them and the clothes were excellent.

Breakfast was good and the pool was very clean and excellent after a hot day wondering the street of Hoi An.

Well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We have been travelling in SE Asia for 6 weeks now and decided that for Christmas, we would spend a whole week at a nice hotel. We picked Than Van II on line, hoping for the best! We were not disappointed! Our room is large, clean and beautifully decorated. The maids clean it daily. There is a metal works next door but it has never been too loud and they do not start early or go late. Every member of the staff is super friendly and accommodating. We are greeted by everyone, whether we are coming or going. The buffet breakfast is excellent and fresh every morning. The pool is smaller then we imagined it to be but it is clean and nice to relax by! They even had a Christmas Eve Party for the guests, with complementary wine, coffee, fruit and desserts! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A friend and I were recommended to this hotel when we arrived at the airport in Danang. The quality of the rooms looked amazing for the price and to be honest they were spacious and well equipped.

As is often the case in Vietnam though there's always something else to be sold. Watch out for their tailor! Firstly they are pushy, which is expected in Vietnam, but the girl in the tailors was also very strange. She kept fondling or groping us! Not cool! If she goes to high five you she'll almost certainly miss and go for your boobs or other areas. Be on your guard.

Sad thing is....of all the tailors i visited when I was in Hoi An (many) she actually wasn't the most pushy and I suspect their clothes are actually of a higher quality than you'd usually get, but the service is very off putting.

Back to the hotel, the dude who owns it is rude, abrupt and not particularly interested in you if you don't show interest in his tailors. There are much nicer places to stay in Hoi An and many that are owned by genuine, lovely Vietnamese who want to make an honest living. Go to one of those.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel and i had a great experience!
First of all reception staff showed us a few rooms and let us choose which one we liked the most (hotel didnt seem empty to me). Room was massive and very clean, the biggest I had in Vietnam so far, with a coach and a bed that would allow 3 people to sleep comfortably. There was even an extra bed and a huge bathroom which had nothing to envy to some 4-5 star hotels. We had a fridge, aircon worked fine and wifi was OK. We also had welcome drinks and room has complimentary water bottles. And last but no least there is a nice clean swimming pool if you want to refresh yourself before to go out exploring Hoi An. Maybe the only thing was the breakfast which was simply a bit poor.

You know?, I find really funny the complains and little annoyances with some of the reviews on here. Some people seems to expect a 5 star service for the price of a budget hotel. I mean c mon for $25 you wouldn't even get a ymca in most of the US cities let alone a pension in Europe.
Some complain about reception staff been pushy about tailors. Dont you know how to say "Thanks but NO thanks?". It works for me. End of story.
Also others found out hotel charged 30% in tours or buses? Really?! Woow! You wouldn't expect them to do it for free, do you? Be a bit smart, do some research and try to cut down the price booking it yourself as we did. Others complain about slow wifi. Well that happens all over Vietnam and if you expect a 4G speed I think you are in the wrong country. Maybe you should go to Japan instead.
And regarding been far from town, i find this the most laughable thing too. Far? They offer FREE bicycles there which will let you get in Hoi An town in less than 20m. Otherwise book a bloody taxi, you' ll be in town in 10m, It is not such a big place honestly. Towels not changed on daily basis? really? do you do that at home? are you that dirty?
And last of course there is people sleeping in reception if you come back to the hotel late, normally after midnight ( Vietnamese people wakes up about 5-6am you see?). But that happens everywhere in Vietnam (at least in all the hotels I stayed before.) so what? Gate and reception door where open, room keys ready in reception desk. So grab your key and go to sleep!

So stop been a spoiled tourist and think again where you are, which country have you choosed to go on holidays and make the most of it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good with a good variety of choices including fou different types of fruit every day.
The rooms were clean but my room had mould on the bathroom ceiling and a strange smell.
It was also quite loud during the night from the surrounding area. So bring earplugs or maybe ask for a room further to the back? Building works were still going on too.
I used the shuttle to get into town which was fine. The bike hire is free, so that is great.
Free internet access in the lobby.
All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thanh Van 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van 2 Hotel

Address: 467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Van 2 hotel is very new, The hotel grand opening 2 month ago. The hotel is same owner with Thanh van 1 in Hoi an. New hotel and very clean, good service and so quite new, but friendly staff,....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thanh Van 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Van 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.