We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and awesome staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Van 2 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Thanh Van 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 8 more sites!
Thanh Van 2 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
direct booking discount
Ranked #42 of 99 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Port Alberni B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very clean and awesome staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We booked this hotel through the staff at the Time Hotel in Hanoi. When we arrived there was confusion over our booking but once that got solved we were shown our beautiful room with a bathtub to boot!! The hotel is a nice walk to the downtown area and a short ride to the beach.
All the staff were so helpful and alot of fun. Breakfast was an awesome smorg and dinner the night we arrived was excellent! Can even buy a bottle of wine for $5 to take back to your room. We enjoyed our stay in Hoi An so much that the extra day we had put aside we spent it here. The Thuan Tinh Island cooking class is a must!!! If you need eye glasses go to Phuong Dong optical...excellent deal!

Room Tip: I think any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
26
122
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Once again we were booked into this hotel by the Rising Dragon Villa in Hanoi ( see review), and once again we were not disappointed. From a very warm welcome and greeted by name on arrival, we were taken to our room via a lovely marble staircase. The hotel does have an elevator but we were only on the first floor. Our room was not large but it had every thing we needed and spotlessly clean. We had doors opening onto a small balcony and off the bedroom was a walk through robe to an adjoining room which my brother in law had. Opposite the wardrobe was our bathroom which was very spacious and had black marble floors with 2 steps up to the bath and shower. All the furnishings are timber which gives a warm feeling to the rooms. the bed is king size and the room also has a divan and small coffee table. There are two of these hotels and we are staying at number 2 which is about 2kms from the town centre. However, the hotel provides a free mini bus every 30 minutes which saves on taxi fares. They also have free bicycles and rent motor bikes - if you are game enough to try the roads! The reception staff have excellent English and are extremely helpful. They can recommend good tailors and restaurants and tell you that they are reputable because they are concerned about the information reflecting back on the hotel. Due to the number of tailors in this town, we are taking their advice! Overall either Thanh Vue 1 or 2 are lovely hotels and I would certainly recommend staying here. One tip - your door locks from the inside so when you go out, make sure you turn the lock!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel was a little bit out of town, not too far and there is a free shuttle bus to there sister hotel in town, which leaves every 1/2 hour the last bus from town is 9pm. This hotel was big enough for 2, hot water was bit hit and miss, Breakfast also was bit hit and miss more hit then miss i guess. Glasses at Breakfast were not what i would call clean, Dont waste your time or money on the spa, much cheaper and better in the town. Staff friendly enough, beware of Johnny, he has contact all over town, and he will try and send you to them to have clothes shoes bags and even silver. Next time i would stay closer to town, or even the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

About a 15 minute slow walk into the main part of Hoi An but we found this fine. Deluxe 1 & 2 rooms are the best. Spacious and lovely. We didn't get clean hand towels or flannels every day though. Breakfast good & we had lunch on the last day which was way cheaper than restaurants in the town & tasty. There is a shuttle bus that takes you to their sister hotel every half hour.
By the way the sister hotel thanh van 1 is better location but smaller & the pool is just inside the main doors in the centre of the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

A good budget choice in expensive Hoi An.

We paid $20 for the cheapest room. It was clean, large, with AC, fridge and cable TV. The bathroom had an actual bath (very excited about that - we are so used to having the entire bath room soaked after a shower!) and they cleaned the room when we asked them to.

The hotel sister (Than Van 3) round the corner is where the pool is (nice for a dip but limited sunbeds) and where you get the buffet breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast: fruit, eggs, bacon, bread, ham, salad and crossiants were provided as well as tea, coffee, juice etc

Considering we normally spend $5 on brekkie this made the hotel rate within our budget.

We found the staff helpful. Yes they did try to sell us the tailor (doesnt everyone in Hoi An!) and their tours but we politely declined and it was never mentioned again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

We were picked up at the airport by the hotel car and stayed in a beautiful room which was more like a suite. 2 balconies and a seating area outside. Breakfast was good and the hotel provided a mini bus into the town every 30 minutes. We did walk back from the town and it took us about 20 minutes. The manager was a little too keen to use their tailors and their trips which did come across as a bit pushy. However the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Word of warning don't leave anything sweet out as we were infested with micro ants but other than that it was a lovely friendly hotel close to the town and away from the backpackers who seem to flock to the town.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at Thanh Van 2 for 5 nights in a superior room ($30/night). It's a good distance from the bustle of the old town - about 15 min walk. They have a free shuttle but we prefer walking/cycling so never used it. We arrived around noon and the room was ready so we didn't need to wait. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and that it was tastefully decorated with 2 small balconies, an open bathroom (with separate shower and toilet) and a little lounge area at the foot of the bed with a small TV. Internet signal in the room was weak, but useable. Breakfast wasn't too bad - fruit weren't the freshest and jam way too sweet, but they do good omelettes. They provided free bicycles which was handy for getting to the beach (Cua Dai ~ 30min cycle, An Bang ~ 10-15min up Hai Ba Trung, a lot nearer and quieter than Cua Dai Beach) and the old town (~5 min cycle). The hotel had a nice little pool as well. The staff were friendly and helpful, we were always greeted with a smile and no one tried to sell us any tours/massages/tailors which was nice.

The only issues we had were with the cleanliness of the room. The "fresh" towels almost always had hair and stains on them and they didn't seem to clean the room in the 5 days we were there. They also took away the hand towel by the sink and didn't replace it. The drainage system probably wasn't the best as the shower kept getting clogged and there was a smell of sewage coming from the sink/shower/toilet. It was only after we complained that the toilet was starting to stink after the 3rd day that they cleaned the toilet and unclogged the hair in the shower. Don't think the floors were swept at all in 5 days.

So other than the cleanliness, which could easily be sorted if we'd asked them to clean daily (we really shouldn't have to ask though), it was a nice enough stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thanh Van 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van 2 Hotel

Address: 467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van 2 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Van 2 hotel is very new, The hotel grand opening 2 month ago. The hotel is same owner with Thanh van 1 in Hoi an. New hotel and very clean, good service and so quite new, but friendly staff,....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Thanh Van 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Van 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.