We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half day tour...the best cycling trip ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours

Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours
57 Ngo Quyen St., Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 (0)510 3 864 362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 137 Activities in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Immerse yourself for a half day or a full day into native Viet Nam. This bicycle tour will take you far away from the beaten tracks. You will discover the genuine customs and traditions of the Vietnamese peasants. You will long remember these unforgettable moments spent in the heart of traditional Viet Nam. A truly unique experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Half day tour...the best cycling trip ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a perfect trip with Trinh (aka Gin) and Hoa (aka Miss Flower)! (Hope I got their names right;-))
Were a group of 6 young people and booked the afternoon tour. Started after lunch, first with a boat trip and afterwards a ~10km cycling trip combined with different activities (meeting local people, try to ride a basket boat...).
During the trip they won't try to sell you anything. It's an easy ride through the rice fields, across the river with a ferry and over the countryside!
Would definitely do it again! Was by far the best expierence here in Hoi An!!
You won't regret it!

Our 2 girl guides were amazing...funny, nice and entertaining! They speak perfect english so the conversation is very easy. If they lead your group you will have the perfect trip!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    89
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Loved our half day tour! Definitely recommend :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We head out to meet Heaven and Earth bicycle tours by the cooking school. Our two guides are lovely and take us through the town and out to the countryside. Given the fluidity of traffic rules in Vietnam it's a little heart-in-the-mouth dodging motos and buses at intersections. It's a relief to get out to the rice fields and back alleys. It's fantastic doing the tour as we definitely get to see aspects of life in Hoi An that we wouldn't otherwise. It amazes me how clean people keep everywhere in Vietnam (both rich and poor areas). There's no graffiti or chewing gum, rubbish or dog poo anywhere.

We visit a family that has been making the local Cao Lau noodles for five generations; the sixth generation are restless and say is too hard work. These noodles are only made in Hoi An and have to be flown to Saigon; they are not so good there as not as fresh. Everything here should be eaten the same day it is made, picked or killed. The noodles are made from rice only; the slight egg flavour is from the fire smoke. They are lengthy to make as they are made from scratch and the process starts at midnight to sell at market in the morning. There's turning the rice into paste, into dough, at least two steaming processes etc. It's fascinating to roll it in our hands as it feels just like pasta dough. In fact, the family has one woman cutting traditional style (with knife) and another woman feeding handrolled dough sheets through a hand cranked pasta machine.
The noodles are tasty. One of our group says 'yum' and our female guide giggles. Our male guide whispers in Brian's ear that in Vietnam that means 'horny'.

We visit a home where mung beans are grown. They are grown in large concrete tubs. The seeds (25%) are covered with sand (75%) and watered every day for three days to prepare them for market. Sand comes from the hills and is used once only as the beans draw out all the good energy. The sand is then piled in front of the house until it is taken away for building. In Vietnam, fresh mung beans are believed to be very 'good' for the man. They are deliciously fresh compared to when they reach our supermarkets.

We also visit the herb farm village. At the farm we stop at we get to help water the herbs (with the traditional two watering cans / wooden yoke) and meet the owner. He is 93 and still works on the farm every day!

We cycle pass beautiful vistas of river / paddy / mountains / cloud; geese farms (where their fenced field is a helluva lot bigger than we give our birds back home); and locals working in the fields.

We visit a local market to learn more about ingredients and choose to do some bartering for fresh fruit. I buy mangosteen and a small pale green fruit with white interior.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved our bicycle trip today. Guides are friendly, genuine people, funny and very knowledgeable. The big bridge challenge was not available as it had been washed away during recent flooding, instead we had some extra boat trips which were great. The pace is slow and leisurely. The peaceful beauty of cycling through rural landscapes is relaxing and refreshing. Visiting the local village craftsmen was illuminating, with no hard sell strategies. One of our favourite days so far in Vietnam.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Guide was excellent. Got to see much of the countryside, chatted with locals, ate with local family (good food). Saw how many of the local handcrafts were made. Very interesting. Highly recommend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A good way to get away from the Hoi An Hustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a great day cycling the countryside on the islands near Hoi An. Our guide was fantastic and spoke very good English.The tour was the right mix of visits to interesting local industries and some physical challenges. One of which included cycling across a rickety old wooden bridge which not only went up and down but swayed violently in the river current. Our challenge was compounded by motor bike riders roaring across and school children cycling home from school waving a happy hello as they went. Unfortunately I was concentrating so hard and trying not to end up in the river that I was unable to reply! The tour also included a lunch at a local house, which was great. A really enjoyable day, and if you feel like getting away from the Hoi An shops this is a good option.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.