We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ganesh

Ganesh
24 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
0510 3864538
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Serves Indian cuisine.

The food was really very good and reasonably priced. Any special requests were catered to, even when they were full.

We ended up eating here several times during our 5 day stay in Hoi An.

As a benchmark, our typical bill was US $35 for 9 of us. That's cheap.

Oh, and they provide free wifi. :)

Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    203
    36
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Amazing Tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We eat Indian regularly in the UK. We were a bit sceptic when we read the reviews but it definitely is one of the best tasting Indians we have had and the cheapest. The bill came to less than 20 quid with cocktails and drinks for two people.
Popadoms are small compared to uk. Pakoras are big. Plenty for sharing. We ordered a chicken madras, the flavours were tremendous. Also lamb punjab, very good. The pashwari naan was the best ever. You do have to wait a little as the restaurant is very busy but it is worth it and coded fresh. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This Indian restaurant is better than most restaurants I've dined at in the UK. Lamb vindaloo was flavoursome. Would recommend ordering the salty lassi aswell to calm things down. Good portions and naan is very tasty. You will not be disappointed if you appreciate good Indian food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best curries I've ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I found the Hoi An cuisine quite bland by Vietnamese food standards so this curry offered a massive respite. If curry houses in the UK were as tasty as this place, I would eat curry every day. It was seriously delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The most delicious curry I've had in ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We visited Ganesh as we fancied a break from the usual Vietnamese fare without going for the Western option and were so glad that we trusted the positive reviews and made a visit to Ganesh, it was absolutely delicious!
We were so impressed that we decided to eat here the following evening too. We went for the chicken tikka and loved the juicy chunks of chicken. It was great to have a little salad to lighten the meal too.
The naan breads are huge, one between two is more than enough and the coconut curry is creamy but not too heavy. We also ordered a couple of lassi which were lovely.
Everything we ate was packed with flavour and we felt a little sad that we wouldn't have the opportunity to visit again as leaving for Hanoi the following day.
The service is great too with very friendly waiters and waitresses and everything is reasonably priced.
I would recommend making a reservation and requesting seats at the end of the large tables. On our first visit we were seated by the wall and the restaurant gets so busy that three couples will be seated on one table which can be a little cramped and slightly awkward (we're English so maybe this is a Brit thing!).
Apart from that a delicious meal, highly recommend a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesh also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.