We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most delicious curry I've had in ages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ganesh

Ganesh
24 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
0510 3864538
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The most delicious curry I've had in ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We visited Ganesh as we fancied a break from the usual Vietnamese fare without going for the Western option and were so glad that we trusted the positive reviews and made a visit to Ganesh, it was absolutely delicious!
We were so impressed that we decided to eat here the following evening too. We went for the chicken tikka and loved the juicy chunks of chicken. It was great to have a little salad to lighten the meal too.
The naan breads are huge, one between two is more than enough and the coconut curry is creamy but not too heavy. We also ordered a couple of lassi which were lovely.
Everything we ate was packed with flavour and we felt a little sad that we wouldn't have the opportunity to visit again as leaving for Hanoi the following day.
The service is great too with very friendly waiters and waitresses and everything is reasonably priced.
I would recommend making a reservation and requesting seats at the end of the large tables. On our first visit we were seated by the wall and the restaurant gets so busy that three couples will be seated on one table which can be a little cramped and slightly awkward (we're English so maybe this is a Brit thing!).
Apart from that a delicious meal, highly recommend a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    203
    36
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian in Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited here two consecutive nights based on TA reviews and we were not disappointed. If you enjoy a great Indian meal put this one on your agenda. If you have never eaten Indian - you can't go wrong. We loved the food and so did the kids.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chewing gum included”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Chewing gum in ball form in lettuce. Was given the meal free after pushing for it, but rubbish. Long waits too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I've had in my life outside of India was in Vietnam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We ate at Ganesh two days in a row, it definitely beats all other food in Hoi An! We went to Ganesh for lunch and ordered a vegetable curry and a lamb curry and we were blown away! The chai tea is what I've been searching for since I was in India. The second day we visited Ganesh we went all out and ordered one vegetable and one non-vegetable thali. THERE IS SO MUCH FOOD AND SO MANY AMAZING FLAVOURS! This was the best thing to order as you get a variety of dishes that fill you up before a long bus ride to Nha Trang! The naan is massive and very tasty!

This is the best food in Hoi An, and the service was second to none!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great Indian food is served here, including very good Nan. Be prepared to wait a little for a table though, as the place gets busy. Prices very reasonable (100.000VND mains).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesh also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.