We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ganesh

Ganesh
24 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
0510 3864538
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Duisburg Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We love indian food and whenever we have the chance to eat it we"ll do. Many place have been quite disappointing - but not the Ganesh Restaurant. The flavours are very authentic and food is of excellent quality. Try the nan, either plain, garlic or butter nan. The price is very reasonable too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    247
    44
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This restaurant serves good Indian food at reasonable prices. Nicely presented, friendly staff, good service,cheap beer. The restaurant was full, which is usually a good sign. We liked the chicken saaghwala.
Recommended if you fancy a change from Vietnamese food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stopped by here on our first night in Hoi An. Being from Birmingham where we now quite a bit about curries, this was very good. Service was of the usual standard that we have come to expect from the Vietnamese people. My wife and I both had the Chicken Sagwala, one medium spicy the other very spicy, and there was no complaints whatsoever. If you fancy an Indian meal during your travels of Vietnam give Ganesh a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but a good curry.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After living in the UK and trips to India, I think I can pick a good curry. And although this isn't the best I've had, it's amazing for Vietnam. Beware though that it can get a bit pricey here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I visited this restaurant in December 2012 for a change from Vietnamese food after nearly 2 weeks in the country. I picked the restaurant as it was in easy walking distance from my hotel as it was raining at the time and based upon tripadvisor reviews. I was the only person in the restaurant and The food, whilst edible was quite bland and tasted odd when compared to other Indian food previously eaten. I had a Chicken jalfrazei which tasted like gravy and the naan bread was greasy and very thin.

Inexpensive, but there are numerous better options in Hoi An

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesh also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.