We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Street Food venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bale Well

Bale Well
45/11 Tran Hung Dao Street, Hoi An 00000, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Brighton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Street Food venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Equivalent to Vietnamese fast food, although the food was fast, it was freshly made spring rolls, healthy & really tasty. Don't expect too much from this venue as it is tucked away down an alley way with basic tables & chairs...... but well worth finding it. We saw lots of Vietnamese coming in whilst we were there (always a good sign) and also saw a wedding party..!!!
We were charged 110,000 dong per head (under £4 a head) & the waitress wrapped our spring rolls which was great to watch... (they don't wrap the locals... only the tourists... although you can do it yourself). It seems like small portions, but as a big eater.... I felt full & could not eat anymore. Great value. Great venue

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    215
    42
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Delicious food, Amazing staff, Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended here by a local and they were spot on - exactly the traditional Vietnamese food we have been searching for! There is no set menu, instead you try all the Hoi An specialties, and they are beautiful! The staff are super super friendly, and teach you how assemble the wrapped rice pancakes and spring rolls..
Then comes dessert - Chocolate or mango mousse with fresh pineapple. We have been traveling Vietnam for a month and this restaurant is in our top 2, not only is super delicious, for ~$10 you will leave with a full belly and also a great memory!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a great experience to have, we were suggested by friends to go here and were very happy with the lunch. It is a little off the beaten path but its about 100 meters from the post office. You sit down and immediately they take your drink order, then in two minutes the food starts to arrive do not worry they will tell you what to do and how to do it. The food is simple but fantastic and relatively inexpensive. The is no view but the food is great and the whole experience is quick so you will on your way. If you are having difficulties on what to always order stop by here let them take care of you.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So much more than just lunch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were recommended Bale Well by a local, who said that it was a place that both locals and foreigners frequent and when we finally arrived (took us a while because we didn't think to look it up before we left) we were happy to see the place overflowing with people. A friendly guy helped us find a seat, and we waited to be brought a menu and we were thoroughly confused when one never appeared... instead plates of food started appearing and we thought that we were given someone else's order - until another staff member came over and explained that it was a set menu and then showed us what everything was and how to put it together. There were Rice Pancakes, Spring Rolls, Grilled Pork Satay, Grilled Pork and Kim Chi. And it all tasted AMAZING!!! So amazing that we decided to take their cooking class and learn how to make all these brilliant meals ourselves. Go for lunch, and then come again to learn how to cook it all - the kindness and enthusiasm of the staff make Bale Well in u forgettable experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Made our street food experience complete! Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Came across this by accident just looking at a sign, and one of their staff convinced us to try it! these scnerios usually put me off, but just went with it surprisingly.. It's located off the main st in a lane way. set menu, 1 set serves one. we were excited to see the dishes include sweet bbq pork/grilled chicken skewers, pickles, yellow pancakes; this was the jackpot. Couldn't find anything like this in nha trang earlier, so don't miss out... the staff are so friendly, was not hard to communicate in English, and show you how to wrap it together. If they keep showing you just tell them "you want to try do it yourself..." it adds to the street experience. fantastic little place, wonderful service. Get past the exterior/street look.. it was as authentic as vietnamese food can get!!! My bf and I were delighted to stumble across this. Try the mango pudding!!!! Good quality, great value for money :) did not disappoint. Will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bale Well also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Bale Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bale Well, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.