We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phuong Duong Hotel

Phuong Duong Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phuong Duong Hotel
Save
You added Phuong Duong Hotel to your Saves list
16 Ba Trieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 111 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice room, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We picked up a room on the 2nd floor, with a balcony. It was a nice room, clean and with a reasonable bathroom. Unfortunately our stay was less enjoyable than it should have been as a result of the staff. Upon our arrival we were immediately given a long sales pitch for a nearby tailor shop, despite showing no interest in such services. We did not mind this too much at the time, though thought it was a bit excessive. As we came to the end of our stay, the staff began asking us about checking out early and did so multiple times, seemingly trying to pressure us into doing so. We had a bus trip at 5 pm, so an early checkout was inconvenient. We arranged the bus through the hotel, so they would have been aware of this. In any event, it was inappropriate behaviour and inconsistent with the arranged checkout time we had agreed to pay for. Finally, as checkout time came around the staff became more rude about us leaving, coming up to our room to insist that we leave soon, and calling our room only minutes later for the same purpose. In the end we were able to leave the room, checkout, settle the bill and remove all of our bags less than 10 minutes after the arranged checkout time, but the staff remained unsatisfied and generally unfriendly. This was particularly noticeable given the excellent service we experienced in Vietnam, and no doubt could have had elsewhere in Hoi An.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
georgetown
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights from April 29, 2012 for the full moon festival on May 4 before departing for Hue.
This is my second trip to Hoi An after the first in Jan 2009.
Pick up from Danang airport in a new private car owned by the hotel's proprietor is available for only $13, as compared to bookings in town at $15. The driver An To is very informative and will show you points of interest along the journey.
.
Booked by email and the response time will depend on which of the 2 receptionists(Hieu and Trang) are on duty.
The website is down and prices are outdated. The $12 room is now quoted for $14 during the summer season. For longer stay, the $14 price is negotiable down to $13. The receptionists are friendly and will be able to assist in making all travel arrangements.

It is less than 10 minutes walk down to the Japanese Bridge. Located along Ba Trieu St are many spas, restaurants and shops(including a extremely well stocked North Face outlet YoYo) which make it very convenient.

Wifi is available in room. The room only appear to be small because of the 2 big beds inside.
There is no smell in the room I was in, and the walls are white washed. I find it generally
well maintained except for the dust in the hard to reach places(read high on top of the tall cupboard and window). Linen is very clean. Check out the acrylic painting which is a nice touch to the room. This is a small hotel with 12 rooms over 4 floors.

Recommended for those within a $15 a night budget, there is very little to complaint about. You get what you pay for. Will have no hesitation to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: For extra $1($15), choose the bigger end rooms with balcony facing the front or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We found this hotel having left a particularly bad hotel nearby. The staff at reception were so nice and friendly and gave us a good price. They were very helpful with any queries that we had or directions that we needed.The room smelt a little musty but it was clean and comfortable and had working air con. They also have a good laundry service. Light Candle restaurant is located right across the road which is run by the lovely Madam Phuong, a must-visit for breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Maybe Phuong Dong Hotel is not the most beautiful and luxury hotel in Hoi An...
but whatever you need, you're sure, the wonderful staff of this hotel will help you.
The 2 girls at the reception can organize for you every kind of trip or tour!
...and the rooms are very cheap!

Alessandro from Italy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I had made a reservation for the balcony room and I arrived very early in the morning. There was only one man there, who spoke almost no english, so it was pretty impossible to communicate. After a couple of hours a woman arrived and told me the room would be ready in a couple of more hours. At the end I had to wait a lot more and was put in a room with a window facing a wall and not the back balcony room as reserved and confirmed.They tried to charge the same price for a worst room, but after a bit of complaining they agreed to lower it to $11, which still felt expensive. The place is clean and new enough, has a nice bathroom, tv and mini fridge, but it is a bit too humid for me. The main issue though it that they are not very organized and vary on friendliness. Not friendly for discounts and friendly for recommending tailors. It is well located, not far from the centre and there is a quite good restaurant just in front, with a super friendly lady and nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with window facing the neighbor's wall, it provides no fresh air or sunlight, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Clean room with Internet, aircon and a window.
Incredibly cheap.
Checked in by a helpful English-speaking girl.
Came back later than night and the man at the desk couldn't speak a word of English, thus couldn't give us our valuables from the safe, ie, bank cards, money, passports. After much sign language from us and other guests, we were able to use the phone and call someone to translate for us.
Woken up in the morning by incredibly loud banging, drilling and general construction outside our window!
Very cheap, but wouldn't stay again with other much nicer places in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luang prabang
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I think my husband and I got lucky when we arrived at this hotel. They only had one room and it was the one way at the top and you had to walk across a rooftop to get to it. It had 3 large beds. Since they were only asking $14/night for it, we took it. It was fairly quiet, well lit, and far from the other rooms. It had a slanted ceiling, which was kind of charming, small windows (one was in the bathroom), and stained glass blocks that looked really pretty when the light shone on it just right. The bathroom was okay - at least there was a tub so the floor didn't get completely wet, though a curtain would've helped that. They never cleaned our room once while we were there. However, we didn't ask for it either - we're reasonably tidy and are ok with using our same towels. If it wasn't for the good deal we got, I would've given this room an average rating. And another negative is that you couldn't get WIFI up there...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuong Duong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuong Duong Hotel

Address: 16 Ba Trieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuong Duong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.