We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Shine

Sun Shine
46 Tran Cao Van St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 388 restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ok experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The fresh beers were cheap, food was ok. We ordered white rose, pho bo and pho ga. Noodles came first after about half an hour then 20 mins later the white rose came.
The waitress was very nice and price is cheap. But I thought the pho was lacking vegetables which normally come with the bowl of noodles but not at this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    79
    16
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Such a lovely place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Sunshine Restaurant is situated on a narrow, quiet street just 5 min away from Hoi An Old Town centre. We went there twice and would have gone back if stayed in the city a little bit longer. The restaurant is on the front porch of a family home, it does feel like you're their guest. We were served by a husband and wife team and they were a very lovely, welcoming couple. Food was full of flavour and very well prepared, we had white rose dumplings, wontons, fish in a banana leaf, tamarind shrimps and a couple of other things. Fresh beer is very cheap as well. This is a place to eat in Hoi An if you love a home cooked food, personal service and don't want to spend a fortune.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Reviews were right on the mark. Excellent food, authentic Vietnamese, and a great price. Definitely get the fried Wontons. I had the sweet and sour chicken and it was fantastic. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great family run restaurant. Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have never felt the urge to review a restaurant before but I had such great food at this lovely little place that I felt the need to tell everyone. Myself and my boyfriend decided to sample a few different dishes and we weren't disappointed. The food was fantastic. Hoi, the owner and be Chef came to speak to us before she started cooking and once she knew we liked spicy food she added fresh chilli to our dishes. I'd especially recommend the pork/beef wrapped in banana leaf and the Lao Cao was also particularly good. It wasn't just the food and ridiculously cheap beer that made this place so special. The staff are so friendly and take the time to chat to the customers. This is a hidden gem of a place and I'd urge you to find it when you're in Hoi An. The best meal we've had in Vietnam and definitely the friendliest staff. On top of all that the whole meal (we ate a lot!!) including 3 beers each cost us 180,000 dong (£5.50!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Paid 124.000 VND and had the white roses, pork with ginger and garlic, rice and the papaya salad... Washed down with a beer and large water. Sublime value for wonderful home cooked food. The waitress informed me it was cooked by her dad! Lovely family run operation... Shame it wasn't a bit fuller, although we had battled there through the mid day heat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Shine also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Sun Shine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Shine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.