We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go early and enjoy the view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Son Hoian Restaurant

Son Hoian Restaurant
232 Cua Dai - Cam Chau, Hoi An 084 510, Vietnam
+84 94 950 14 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A small Vietnamese house on the way from ancient town to Cua Dai beach (in between Phuoc An River Hotel and Hoi An Riverside Resort). A stop-by site for you to take a break before heading to the beach or to gain your energy after long hours by the sea. A chill out atmosphere, a simple and elegant interior design, open space to view the Hoian rice field before it would fade out by the invading of rude modernism. Good just with the healthy-concept smoothies, without sugar and condensed milk, or a light sophisticated meal to a romantic dinner with your lovers.Perfected with jazz music collection, from Nat King Cole to Michael Buble...Welcome all of you to come and enjoy the Vietnamese slow food meals as well as enjoy every minutes of an unhurried life.
Shepparton, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Go early and enjoy the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Note the new address is 181 Cua Dai. This was another recommendation from Neville from Taste of Hoi An food tour. We therefore chose off Neville's short menu and all the food was magnificent. The Bahn Xeo - omlette wrapped in rice paper with cucumber and lettuce was divine and I'm told the duck in orange sauce was lovely but my boys 8 & 11 woofed that down so I didn't get to taste enough!
Rustic looking restaurant overlooking the river, very friendly family and nice cold beer! I'd suggest you definately go early enough to enjoy a drink and watch the sunset. We arrived once the sun had set and had a waterfront table. We intended to go back for pics as I'm sure they'd be amazing but unfortunately never got around to it. Highly recommended - go early and ask for short menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    110
    22
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exquisite dining; Duck ala Orange”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant should be rated much higher than it is in Hoi An. The trick is to tell the chef/owner that you want Neville's short menu, which features the best Duck ala orange I've ever had, and that includes dining in Europe, the U.S., and Hawaii. The duck is grilled to perfection, totally juicy and soft and complimented by a fantastic orange sauce. The chef/owner was classically trained in Ho Chi Minh city, and this experience is reflected in his food. The plating includes an exquisite carved tomato that looks like the duck that is waiting to be appreciated by your hungry self. With all the competition in dining in Hoi an, the duck itself merits a return visit.
Did I mention that you are dining next to a small and beautiful river? If you're in Hoi an, you owe your tastebuds a treat and come to Son restaurant, on the road towards the beach.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had our wedding reception at Son Hoi An. They were incredibly helpful in decorating the restaurant, hiring DJ equipment, providing drinks and cooking a wonderful meal.
The staff was excellent and the setting absolutely beautiful.
I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“We'll let you in on the secret!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went to this restaurant the first night we were in Hoi An. Food was ok, service was fair. Didn't think we'd go back. However, once we did Neville's "Original Taste of Hoi An" food tour, and he recommended this restaurant we decided to give it another try. We were also told to ask for 'Neville's short menu'. WOW! Were we in the same restaurant??? Amazing service, great delicious food!! Tam our waitress was super attentive, bringing a finger bowl of warm water with lemon to wash our hands between courses, placed napkins on our laps, complimentary cup of ginger tea and complimentary sliced mango to end. Previously we had to ask twice for paper napkins. So the secret is to ask for Neville's short menu and you will love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best tasting meals in Hoi An!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We were told on recommendation, to ask for the small menu. Papaya salad, Prawns in garlic butter absolutely to die for. Definitely go again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Son Hoian Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Son Hoian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Son Hoian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.