We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoi an - best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Restaurant

Morning Glory Restaurant
106 Nguyen Thai Hoc St, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 510 2241 555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 468 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Noodle, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Street Food Restaurant and Cooking School. It is owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hoi an - best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

So we went in here for lunch and expected fresh and delicious food. That is exactly what we got. From chicken skewer entre to dumplings and meatball with noodles. It was all to die for. Massive thumbs

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,915
    1,190
    416
    107
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Loved the open kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What I loved most about this restaurant was the open kitchen in the center of the restaurant...I also had the pleasure of meeting Ms Vy, as she was in the restaurant on the evening we were dining. I purchased a copy of her street food cookbook for my husband and asked her to sign it...he loves it!!

The restaurant does cater well for crowds and is always busy, so I advise that you make a booking if you don't wish to be disappointed. We were turned away one evening as we didn't have a booking, so we made sure we booked for the next night :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This restaurant, located in the centre of Hoi An's old town is an example of Vietnamese cuisine at its very finest. It is reasonably priced for Hoi An, which is slightly more expensive than the rest of Vietnam. Of the many excellent meals we had in Vietnam, this was possibly the best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This place delivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant handles crowds very well. It was crowded yet service was great and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the namesake dish - never had morning glories before!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very good and very popular. It is authentic and delicious, the prawns in coconut, pork belly and crab wontons are guaranteed winners. They also had a beautiful organic Sicilian Pinot Grigio for $30, which is a bargain in Vietnam.
There are so many average restaurants in town, you will definitely be happy with this one.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Morning Glory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.