We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vietnamese food with atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Restaurant

Morning Glory Restaurant
106 Nguyen Thai Hoc St, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 510 2241 555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Street Food Restaurant and Cooking School. It is owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Vietnamese food with atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

You have to book for the evening - it took us two days to get in ,but the food was worth waiting for. Superb spring rolls, a delicately flavoured chicken and ginger dish, and wonderful banana crepe to finish with. Interesting old house (like so many in the centre of Hoi An) and we ate in the airy upstairs room (though not on the coveted balcony). Don't miss it if you are going to Hoi An

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,063
    782
    267
    72
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great day. Markets then cooking class. We cooked some of the best food we had during our trip to Vietnam. Thoroughly enjoyable. Inspirational story

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We sat out side which was nice although you do get bothered by the street vendors. The restaurant is in one of the lovely old buildings with great atmosphere. We had Vietnbaese food which was great and we would thoroughly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quality restaurant with local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Hoi An and we were looking forward to revisiting Morning Glory once more. We were not disappointed. Oddly enough we sat at the same place we did two years previously upstairs. The service and some of the staff were the same. We had a wonderful meal once more - traditional food in a quality setting. The service is great without being too intrusive. I would definitely recommend booking although they will always do their utmost to accommodate you or refer you to their other restaurant over the bridge. I highly recommend anyone to dine here. PS buy the cookbook - very well written.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, fast service, and kid friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Yum yum yum! the food here was just a delight - traditional down to earth vietnamese.. we did not have anything we did not like. Service was incredibly fast but also friendly. All staff very helpful with our baby - they had a high chair ready and when we ordered some steam rice for her it was on the table in a minute. Food was also very reasonably priced and while it was busy - it never seemed overcrowded or too hectic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Morning Glory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.