We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orchid Garden Homestay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Garden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Garden House to your Saves list
Orchid Garden House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Cua Dai Str, Hoi An 20035, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Orchid Garden Homestay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago (Sept 2013) for a total of 5 nights. We had a fantastic time. This placed is perfectly located half-way between the Old Town and the beach, and the price is very reasonable - very good value for money.

Okay then.....the location is perfect for travellers. The hotel has push bikes for free (really good ones) or if you don't mind a bit of a walk it's only a couple of kilometres into the Old Town. The taxi's here are so cheap you can always just catch a cab if necessary.

We got exactly what we asked for, a room with a king bed, air-con and lots of space. What we also got was a bathroom inside with toilet and shower, then at the back of the room there was another bathroom with a beautiful outdoor shower, big beautiful bathtub and another toilet.

There are computers in the common area / breakfast area which is convenient.

Breakfast was included and was fresh and good.

The biggest bonus for this hotel was the staff. We have to say Han who worked on reception the whole time we were there was AMAZING! She was so lovely. I unfortuntely fell off a push bike while I was staying there, and Han (and all the other staff included) went well out of their way to assist me. They made things easier for me and always kept checking if I needed anything.

They even sent a lady to meet me at the hospital to help me communicate with the Vietnamese doctor when I had the x-ray.

The rooms also had a small kitchenette and living room space - so it felt really nice not "living" just in a bedroom for 5 days. The gardens and pool were always nice and clean too.

I have worked in the hotel industry previously and I could honestly say this was one of the best customer service I have ever had. I would recommend this homestay in a heartbeat.

Also the bed was very comfortable and so were the pillows - something I am a little fussy about. Especially since I had a broken collarbone - thank god the bed was comfortable.

Plus its a great price.

Enjoy.....and if you make it there, say hi to Han for us.

Amy and Thor

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    99
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
101
246
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Recently had three night here. Had a bungalow room which was excellent in amenities,cleanliness and size. One receptionist was extremely helpful whilst the other not so good. Had one breakfast which was adequate. Convenience of location may depend on your interests. Beach and town are both a 20 minute bike ride away or 7/8 minutes by taxi ($2/$3) . We found both too far to walk to in the heat.
Gardens needed rejuvenation. Very nice pool. More expensive than other places we stayed in Vietnam.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and was very quiet (Apart from chooks next door and noise from local temple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is such a great place to stay with a lovely atmosphere. The staff are amazing, especially the receptionists Hanh and Mimi! The accommodation is clean, tidy and reasonably priced. The pool is quite private and the water stays fairly cool as it is located in a central court yard. The home stay is close to the Old Town, the market, shops and restaurants and not far from the beaches. The vendors at the markets mark up considerably, so consult with someone locally to be sure you are not being ripped off. Fun to explore on the bicycles provided. During your stay make sure you check out Heaven & Earth Bicycle Tours, The Original Taste of Hoi An Food Tour, Marble Mountain, My Son and Kama Waters vegan restaurant. If you want a warm, friendly and low key stay in Hoi An, this is the place for you! Thank you to everyone at Orchid Garden for making my holiday so special!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff at Orchid Garden Home Stay makes you feel like you belong to the family. They are polite, friendly and very obliging with any request from the guests. Breakfast is included with sufficient choices and generous portions, including a platter of fresh cut fruits, juices, coffee or tea. The room is spacious, nicely decorated, full compliment of toiletries and cleaned every day with a fresh change of sheets and towels daily. The hotel provides free bicycles for guests at no charge. This makes the town, padi fields, vegetable farm and beach within easy reach, a mere 2 to 3 km away! Remember to ask the receptionists, Mimi and Hanh for recommendations of places to visit, eat, and buy!

Room Tip: Choose the bungalow unit for family at the ground level. Couples on second floor with more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This little homestay holds some of my favorite memories while staying in Hoi An. My boyfriend and I stayed in a second floor suite overlooking the pool during the week of my birthday this year. The staff was outstanding, always willing to go above and beyond to help. Mimi was my favorite staff member, she even had a home cooked Vietnemese dinner (including wine) for all the guests on my birthday, and brought me flowers! It couldn't have been more thoughtful! The room was so wonderful too, there was a precious little sitting area, the space was all hardwood flooring, 2 bathrooms (one of which was an amazing outdoor bathroom with a great outdoor shower and bathtub), and a big comfy bed. There were always fresh orchids (cut from the gorgeous orchid gardens that surround the property) laid on our bed every day. The location is perfect, about 3 km from the beach and about 2-3km from the shopping areas. We rented a scooter from the homestay to get around, and it couldn't have been better. I feel like this was a little home away from home, and it was the perfect place to stay in my favorite city in Vietnam.

Room Tip: This is a small homestay, I believe all the rooms were about the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We (family of 2 adults and 3 children aged 12, 8 and 4) spent six nights last week at this beautiful little place and enjoyed our stay immensely. All the staff members were very friendly, helpful and welcoming; the breakfasts were generous and fabulously tasty; our rooms were clean, attractive, quiet and well appointed; the pool was great and we loved the free bikes and the free dinner for the guests on Friday night. So generous! The ride into town was only five minutes or so and about 10 minutes up to the beach. Taxi cost only a couple of dollars to either destination. Tip: Cua Dai beach has more shade than An Banh - lots of palm trees you can sit under. We would definitely recommend this place, especially for families. And make sure you visit Ba Le Well restaurant at some stage - local and cheap and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed it last year , so returned again this year, and it is still great- with a few new bungalows added.
staff just as happy and obliging , and the guest dinner weekly , a great occasion- for food and get together!

20 minute walk to the old town or $1.5 taxi ride. And $2 taxi ride to beautiful Cui Dai beach, or $5 to even nicer An Bang beach.Other guests comments are truetoo!
Major problem for me is they(and many businesses in town) only accept cash, and it cost me over 10% to get money out of CBA Aust bank- local bank have $100 limit/withdrawal, and only 2/day, but my bank loves this with their exhorbitant charges.
Govt bank in town allows bigger withdrawals if you take your passport, but then they also charge 4% .
Ridiculous situation in this day and age! Banks getting richer all the time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchid Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden House

Address: 382 Cua Dai Str, Hoi An 20035, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Away From Home in Hoi An Conveniently located only 2 kilometres from Hoi An town centre and 2 kilometres from Cua Dai beach, ORCHID GARDEN house(R) / Hoi An provides comfortable, refreshing residential-style suites. Each living area features a kitchen, separate living and modern bathrooms and contemporary amenities of home. Enjoy our comfortable king beds, 32" flatt-screen TVs, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. After a long day exploring the city, head back and relax in our outdoor pool . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchid Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.