We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, peaceful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Garden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Garden House to your Saves list
Orchid Garden House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Cua Dai Str, Hoi An 20035, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights in one of the double rooms. The location is a little out of town, but nicely placed between the town and the beach. Delightful pool, set in pretty gardens. Staff very friendly and provided good recommendations. Bikes provided free for exploring local area, however, a bit more servicing required as had at least 3 bikes that were not fit to ride. Overall a lovely setting from which to explore Hoi an

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    94
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
91
228
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in December. The breakfasts were very good (especially the fresh passion fruit juice). The room we stayed in was large and clean. Unfortunately there was construction work next door and so we woken up early because of the noise. It's a good location, half-way between the old town and the beach and the free bike hire is great. The reason we have not given it a higher rating is that we didn't sleep well and as other places we have stayed in in Vietnam offered much better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidhomestay, Owner at Orchid Garden House, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
thank you very much for your recent review. we are sorry the construction work next door in December when you stay at orchid garden homestay so you woken up early of the noise . but now the construction work was finished. if the travellers stay at our place now ,please don't worry about that
best regrds
khuong phung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our family stayed for 5 nights over New Years 2012/13. Visitors are met by staff Ruby and Mimi who could not have been more helpful throughout out stay. Staff are a huge asset for the homestay particularly the guard /groundsmen / bike repairer.The homestay consists of a number of Villas of different sizes, a meticulously clean pool and many beautiful orchids and plants. The family bungalow is perfect for a family of four. Morning breakfasts are included and were always well prepared and plentiful. While the location may be outside walking distance to Hoi An it was never a hassle to get a ($2 AUS) taxi into town. Bikes are also provided at no charge. Incredibly the homestay host put on a complimentary dinner one night for all guests. This provided a great chance to sample the local food (very well cooked) and meet a range of people from all over the world. Orchid Garden is deserving of its very good reputation. Thanks to all the staff. Great stay.

Room Tip: The family bungalow is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our family with have just spent a few days in Hoi An.Booked this accommodation over six months ago direct at info@hoianorchidgarden.com and could not have been happier.The premises set in a lovely tropical quiet setting, lanterns around the garden,very obliging and friendly staff and family, (Ruby a real gem), pool,free water and passionfruit juice throughout the stay and bikes, excellent breakfast,see lantern factory just around the corner. Not in the heart of town but only a 10 minute walk. We would highly recommend this very pleasant homestay.

Room Tip: Book rooms direct from homestay.There may be only one family bungalow which has two large sunny room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sadly only got to stay here one nght as we were on a tight schedule.
Lovely greeting from friendly, English speaking staff.
Had a villa with a pretty simple lounge, kitchen and bedroom. To off set this there was an unusualy, but very cool indoor-outdoor bathroom with an out door shower (dont worry, there is an in door bathroom too if you feel uncomfortable about bathing outdoors).
Breakfast was simple but lovley.
Was a vouple of kms to the town centre but the walk was nice and discovered some lovely resturants on our walks.
Bikes are free to borrow at your will and we used these to go down to the beach that was located maybe 4-5 km away.
Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We'd booked a bungalow, but were assigned an excellent new suite upstairs. It was quite delightful... and included two of everything, from flatscreens to bathrooms(!) Breakfast was high quality and delicious. Staff were friendly, helpful and unstinting. Provision of free bicycles made access to the town and beaches easy. A nearby restaurant on the water, the Son (Slow Food for a Slow Life) was a major plus... and we revisited with (new) friends. We've been in Vietnam just two weeks, but this has been our most enjoyable accommodation yet. A big thank you to the staff for organising a party, with local wine and wonderful food, for their guests. We'd usually give such an unscheduled event a miss, but we are so glad we participated... it was outstanding! Special thanks to Mai and Ruby and all the Orchid Gardens personnel for their generosity, care, and top-quality service!

Room Tip: We heard no complaints from any guests at all, but would advocate trying to get one of the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in a family bungalow. We were quite impressed at first with the bungalow itself. The bedroom is big with a large double bed and a seperate single bed seperated by a curtain. The sitting room is also large, however has a very uncomfortable sofa and hence we did not make much use of it. It is a shame as there is cable TV in the sitting room as well as the bedroom, but watching the one in the sitting room proved to be very uncomfortable!

The small kitchen looks OK (fridge, hob, sink), however is poorly equiped and is a little shabby. There is just one wine glass, no knife or any cutlery for that matter, and minimal other utensils and cooking equipment. The kitchen is therefore unusable, unless you ask for stuff, which is something a guest shouldn't be expected to do. The shower and bath in the bathroom is good, however the bathroom itself is the biggest let down. It appears that the bathroom was once an open air room, but the shower has been filled in above, which now means that if it rains outside drips fall into the bathroom from a small gap which has been left. This not only causes an annoying and constant dripping noise, but means that if one is in the shower you can feel the rain drops outside dripping on your head! The bathroom has an intensely musty smell, and the drain smells beside the toilet. With improvement to this room and the kitchen, just a little upgrading here and there, the overall standard would be so much better.

The staff at reception are very friendly and give some helpful advice for getting around town, scams to try to avoid, tailors to use etc. We unfortuantely did find that although staff at reception were always friendly the breakfast staff could smile a little more.
Tip: make sure you do not just stick to one thing on the breakfast menu if you're feeling hungry. This wasn't pointed out to us, but you can order more than just one option. The fresh passion fruit juice is delicious!

As other reviews have stressed there is building work going on next door, which is quite noisy, however there is nothing that the owners can really do about this and it is bearable.

The owners kindly put on a meal for us and other guests one evening, this was a nice touch and the food was very good.

Pool is small but would be good if you had kids, and is plenty big enough for a quick dip.

Wifi is pretty good in the bungalow. TV's have a number of English film Channels.

Location - not in the Old Town - 25 minute walk to this lovely part of Hoi An (the walk is very straightforward, you just follow one road and then turn left). 5-10 minute bike ride using the free bikes. Note these are a bit old and rusty and could do with an oil, but perfectly usable. About 10 minutes on bikes to the beach.

Overall we did enjoy our stay but felt that for the price we expected a little better. With a few improvements here and there to the accommodation, this would be a terrific place, as the staff (especially Ruby and Mimi) really care about their guests and are helpful and welcoming.

Restaurant Tips:

Dingo Deli, left out of the hotel, about 400m on the right for really great Western food and friendly service. A great place to relax over a good coffee and lovely food.

Ganesh is also excellent and well run - Indian restuarant in the Old Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden House

Address: 382 Cua Dai Str, Hoi An 20035, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Away From Home in Hoi An Conveniently located only 2 kilometres from Hoi An town centre and 2 kilometres from Cua Dai beach, ORCHID GARDEN house(R) / Hoi An provides comfortable, refreshing residential-style suites. Each living area features a kitchen, separate living and modern bathrooms and contemporary amenities of home. Enjoy our comfortable king beds, 32" flatt-screen TVs, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. After a long day exploring the city, head back and relax in our outdoor pool . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orchid Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.