We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Garden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Garden House to your Saves list
Orchid Garden House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Cua Dai Str, Hoi An 20035, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Making memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have some of our best memories of vietnam from this lovely place. The people who work there are so much fun and very kind. We should also thank mimi very much also for finding vincent and getting us to the airport on time!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    99
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
101
246
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Having booked at stay at the Orchid Garden Homestay based purely on Trip Advisor reviews, we were a little anxious. But we needn't have worried as it exceeded all of our expectations.

Set in a beautiful grounds, the Orchid Garden was peaceful and relaxing. Our room was enormous and clean, breakfast was fresh and tasty, and the staff were excellent - Tao gave us a very warm welcome, and the lovely Mimi couldn't have been more helpful with offering advice and organising taxis for us - she even cycled to the post office for me when the train tickets I was expecting didn't arrive.

It's slightly further out of town than the majority of the accommodation in Hoi An (20/25 min walk), but if you want something quiet, and don't mind a walk, then it's ideal.

Thanks Mimi and everyone at Orchid Garden for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The staff is amazing, everyone smiling and eager to help. Meme and Tau from the reception were so nice and helped us find transportation during tet holiday which wasn't easy. They give bicycles for free to ride to the city or the beach (each comfortably located 2 km from the hotel). Breakfast is delicious, the swimming pool is clean and and fun and the feng shoi of the place is relaxing and gives new energies. The only bad thing we might have to say about this amazing b&b is that the water stream in the shower was weak, but that's it. Will definitely come again in our next visit to vietnam!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The Orchid Garden is a shiny pearl in Hoi An. Situated in a lovely garden with lots of tropical flowers and a nice pool a couple of bungalows and rooms are awaiting the guests. We were greeted with fresh juice and a welcome dinner for all the new guests. Even though it is quite a walk from the hotel to the old town (about 15 min), you can borrow one of their bycicles or take a taxi, which is really cheap. We totally enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Wonderful place, caring staff - we had to change our flight and accommodation dates in Hue and we would not be able to do that without their help. Yummy breakfasts. Even a stupid thing as laundry was done so nicely that my cloths which I have not used since return from Vietnam, still smell divine and remind me of that homey place.
Average sleep quality was not really their fault. A neighbour's cat was the culprit, meowing all night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent several nights at this Homestay and had booked through Agoda which still had one room available for our desired number of days. Upon initial contact directly with Orchid once the booking had been made with Agoda we were responded to swiftly as we emailed for details on how to get to the property by taxi etc. 

The bungalow we had was the one at the front of the property which was spacious and clean with two bathroom options and two televisions so it would be an excellent choice for a party of up to four people. There is a security guard that is watching over the property all the time. The property itself is beautiful with a lot of greenery that we enjoyed looking at with lots of beautiful Orchids that are well taken care of. The pool looked inviting too though we gave that a miss this time. 

The breakfast is a la carte and prepared before your eyes and the cleaners would ask you while at breakfast if you'd want your room cleaned. They are very fast and efficient as when we finished breakfast they'd be finished cleaning. 

On the last day we checked out and had our luggage put aside until we left at around 3pm. We had asked them to get a taxi for us to the airport which was good.  It was a rainy day and we were rushed into the taxi and sent on our way to the airport. 

Unfortunately upon opening our rucksack after leaving the property we found that a ring that had been safely secured and placed in a pouch and then in a zipper within a rucksack had been stolen at the property. They however left the pouch that contained the ring in the zipper. We had placed all other valuables in the safe but this was not considered a "valuable" item but more so Sentimental and a meaningful gift. This rucksack never left the room until we left for the airport and the ring had been there in the zipper safely when we arrived in Hoi An. It was too late to turn around and at that we figured no one would own up based on another review we had remembered seeing on TA. 

Upon re reading another review here, a guest also had his cash stolen from a zipper within a rucksack that he had also concealed. Therefore we can conclude that one of the staff who kindly asks you if they may clean your room while you are at breakfast is the suspect who has a penchant of stealing guests belongings especially from rucksacks and especially if you have concealed it safely. I would say that I am disappointed that such a wonderful and lovely place would employ staff who would take advantage and steal from guests. It's a matter of principle. We have emailed them to see if someone might have "found" the ring and even if they don't own up to stealing it we are hoping for a miracle and that they may return it to us as it is not something that has value in the resale market especially in Hoi An. 

This is a place that you might consider staying at though by all means you're better off wearing your sentimental and valuable pieces or have them on your body or in your bag even at breakfast time as this would technically be the only time the staff ought to be in your room. We already limited what we brought with us and this was by no means showy or blingy. Therefore the thief must have figured that since it was hidden that it is of value to us so he or she decided to take it.  We never thought that anyone would go through our belongings to steal something at such a lovely homestay. 

Of all the places we have been it was disappointing to have been a victim of theft at the Orchid Garden Homestay as everyone was so lovely and welcoming and our experience was spotless until the theft. 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidhomestay, Owner at Orchid Garden House, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
we are sorry for the problem. however we really appreciate if you could reconsider for these things
first :each room has a safety box for the guest
second :our staffs have been empoyed carefully
and the fact is that , you left your place around 17days ago you give us know about your problem
could you kindly think over where you have been before and after staying with us
we do apologize again for your problem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The receptionist, Mimi, was very friendly and gave us lots of tips on the area. The surroundings of the B&B are gorgeous - hundreds of different types of orchids, as the name suggests. Great home, cooked breakfasts and a good location, only minutes into town by taxi, made for a very pleasant stay. Bicycles are available free of charge if on a tight budget, which is very helpful. Thank you for a lovely stay in lovely Hoi An!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden House

Address: 382 Cua Dai Str, Hoi An 20035, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Away From Home in Hoi An Conveniently located only 2 kilometres from Hoi An town centre and 2 kilometres from Cua Dai beach, ORCHID GARDEN house(R) / Hoi An provides comfortable, refreshing residential-style suites. Each living area features a kitchen, separate living and modern bathrooms and contemporary amenities of home. Enjoy our comfortable king beds, 32" flatt-screen TVs, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. After a long day exploring the city, head back and relax in our outdoor pool . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Orchid Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.