We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and good cooking class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laugh Cafe Restaurant

Laugh Cafe Restaurant
126 Tran Cao Van St, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 90 519 25 32
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Laugh Cafe was set up in 2007 to provide hospitality training to Vietnamese youth. Many young people from the area around Hoi An and Danang come to Hoi An seeking work in the tourist industry. With minimal English and no experience they can only find work in menial positions. Laugh Cafe offers training in hospitality English, service skills, safety and hygiene, restaurant and kitchen management and cooking skills. When our trainees leave we help them find a job in the area that the area that they wish to work in.Laugh Cafe is supported by MAD Indochina, an Australian NGO.
2 reviews
“Amazing food and good cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We came here once, and came back a couple of times. We also did a cooking class here, in comparison to others the class is cheap en good value. We didn't need to bother going out for dinner anymore, because we were stuffed by the food we cooked ourselves! The fact that they train people is also a wonderfull thing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laugh01, General Manager at Laugh Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review. We are not in a busy tourist street, so it is always a pleasure for us when a customer walks in the door. We are very happy that you enjoyed our food and the trainees love reading the comments.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    37
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome food and nice cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The food here is genuinely awesome. It takes a small wait (it's freshly cooked!), but it is great! We also did a cooking class, which is relatively cheap, but 100% value for money.

An other good thing: it's for a good cause!

So, great food, nice staff and a good cause! Reason for us to come back multiple times!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best food on my trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was the food highlight of my trip, amazing kind service and beautiful food. I did the cooking class for around $25AUD which included a market visit and then a cooking class with a feast at the end, so so worth the money and I can't wait to come back and do it all again!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laugh01, General Manager at Laugh Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Hoi An.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great wontons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The best wontons I have eaten in Hoi An so far! Service was shy, but friendly. Fresh beer, delicious, cold and cheap. Loved my Cao Lau, husband enjoyed chicken with cashews. But the wontons are my fondest memory, yum!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laugh01, General Manager at Laugh Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed the food. Your comment on out shy staff deserves a response, as these reviews are shared with the trainees.
All the staff that you encounter are trainees (we also have a manager Mr Huy and a "teacher", Peter), which means that they might be lacking in experience and usually that also means self-confidence. That improves over time.
You can help by engaging in conversation with the staff, although this may be difficult if we are a bit busy :-)
English is a compulsory subject at Laugh, but it necessarily starts with hospitality English and food items, so it can be a little trying when the trainee has a limited vocabulary and a limited exposure to English as it is spoken in the real world.
Thank you for your review and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

After a long and dry day we decided to come to Laugh Cafe. We are all so happy.fruits shake are fresh and delicious. The foods are amazing specially fish in clay pot, wonton, vietnam salad, ... Service is nice with friendly staffs. It's really a nice restaurant with english and hospitality training.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugh Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Laugh Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laugh Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.