We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nhi Trung Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nhi Trung Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nhi Trung Hotel
700 Hai Ba Trung St, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 109 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Overall this was a good hostel - the staff were very helpful - from sorting out our postage to the laundry, to booking our night bus onwards from Hoi An.

Room was clean and spacious. Bathroom was clean with a good shower.

Breakfast was also good.

Location is pretty good being about a 10 minute walk from the river.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    71
    36
    6
    12
See reviews for
6
69
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hue, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was decent overall. Our room was pretty tiny with a small window and not a lot of natural light but clean with a fridge, AC, a kettle and an old TV. The location was good and the included breakfast was decent. Noise carries throughout the hotel from both inside and out, so you should consider ear plugs if you stay here.

My major complaint was that the staff pushed their tours and charged a higher commission then anywhere else and then were deceptive when asked about it. We questioned why theirs were priced higher than other places for the same thing, and they lied and said it was a better tour, with better guides and better buses, etc. Everything else we had heard made us very skeptical of these claims, and as we expected, this was totally untrue. Even though we paid about 25% less at the travel agency across the street, we were on the exact same tour as people who booked from our hotel. They also charged 50% more than elsewhere for the bus to Hue. Of course, they can charge whatever people will pay, but lying about it is not acceptable. And, even this would not be a huge deal (as seasoned travelers, we are used to being deceived), but they were rude after we didn't book with them. They ignored us (which was somewhat better then when they were fawning when we were still a potential tour customer), but when they avoided us when we tried to order breakfast, it started to become a a bit uncomfortable.

Overall, I would say we wouldn't recommend this place. The facility is good but not great (as its high Tripadvisor rating would imply). It would be fine but for the tour booking business, but once that stuff is factored in, I cannot recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Nhi Trung for three nights in December and were very pleased with the place. Our room's only window was overlooking the stairwell which I was not crazy about at first, but it turned out to be hardly noticeable. The room was a fair size and the bathroom was extremely clean and nice, the shower was the fanciest I have seen in my life, with a large overhead faucet and small back jets, and very hot water. The wifi connection was great and the included breakfasts were an added bonus. We also had friends staying on the floor above us with similiarly nice rooms (perhaps even better as they had balconies). I would certainly stay here again, the location was very convenient, the staff were very friendly, and the value for the money was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great location, within walking distance to the river.

Clean rooms and bathroom. Very hot shower and cleaned daily.

Breakfast included and good selection.

Free wi-fi in the rooms and lobby and staff very friendly.

They collect you from the bus drop off also for free which is quite a walk away.

Would recommend to anyone visiting.

Also, across the road, there is a restaurant with tables with pink design and puppy dogs on. This place did the best pho we had in the whole country and was soooo cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We found the Hotel very clean no noise in our room and breakfast good, Our room was large and very good value for the price being right in town, Mr Thanh helped us organise transfers & Hotels and everything we asked for he got done promptly very good manager. Have no issues to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights in December and felt very safe. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the bathroom was a welcome change from others we had used in Vietnam. The staff were very good and provided help when needed. Would reccomend this to others travelling to Hoi An.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good value hotel with clean rooms and very nice and modern bathroom. Good breakfast and nice common area.
Very friendly staff.
The only downside is that our room in the first floor had a window to the staircase so a) we could hear all the activity that was going on at the front desk and common area, which was a bit annoying at night or early in the morning and b) people going up the stairs could peek into the room and directly to the bed.
Apart from that, and from the fact that the only window was facing indoors, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nhi Trung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhi Trung Hotel

Address: 700 Hai Ba Trung St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Nhi Trung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nhi Trung Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.