We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nhi Trung Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nhi Trung Hotel to your Saves list
Nhi Trung Hotel
700 Hai Ba Trung St, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 130 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

A good small family-run hotel 5 minutes on foot from the old city center. The private rooms are spacious and clean. The only thing that bothered me was the switching off of the airconditioner every time we left.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    88
    45
    7
    14
See reviews for
6
90
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Nice little boutique hotel. Triple room only $30 per night. Clean, safe, good size rooms. Nice breakfast thrown in too. Very pleasant and helpful staff. There are lots of places to eat nearby which are cheaper than in Hoi An old town proper, which is only 4- 5 inutes walk. Over all Hoi An is a realxed place to go- most restaurants and bars are closed by 10 pm- a few stay open in the old town. Hotel is only 10 minutes on a motorbike ($5) from Cua Dai beach or maybe 15 on a bicycle ($1). I ran to it in under 25 minutes so its accessibkle and very beautiful.

Room Tip: book direct- they get all the cash and dont pay commision to websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights and had a great stay in this lovely, tiny hotel. Up 'till now this has been our best experience after half a month in vietnam. The staff is superfriendly and help you with any problem you might have, the rooms are clean and spacious and we loved the little balcony we had on the inner court (room 304, I think the rooms on the third floor are the best).

Also, breakfast offers a wide range of choice (be sure to try the mango-yoghurt!) and the hotel is very close to the city center but somewhat out of the buzz.
The only small complaint I might have is that the (free) internet was a bit on the slow side.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

After a nightmare in Green Field hotel (Dont stay there!! It might be the worst hotel in Hoi An), our tour guide transfered us to Nhi Trung hotel for the remaining 2 nights in Hoi An. We were given a nice big room with city view. The staff were really helpful with perfect English. The receptionist Hang, recommended us to a famous local restaurant called Trung Bac, which was ONLY less than 10 minutes walking distance. The map printout at the reception was very useful. Take the map and get the receptionist to draw you the route to Trung Bac and food area!! You wont be lost. The map is just perfect and accurate!!! Nicely drawn!!

There are not much choice for the breakfast. However, my husband and I just love the pineapple shake and mango shake!

If you happen to have your breakfast very early, beware of the cleaners. They wiped the floor but there will be no sign of "Be cautious of wet floor". I fall down at the staircase as the floor was soooo slippery.

Recommended for anyone looking for a good value and budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We found the hotel to be a good value for money. It's basic but clean and staff is very friendly. We paid like 16-17USD per nigh and we thought it was a fair price. Normally we paid in Vietnam 30+ but this one was Ok.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in a room with a balcony overlooking the street. The location was perfect for us - only two minutes walk from the old town and close to many eateries. There are many motorbike/bicycle hire shops just across the road too.

We liked our room because it was spacious with a double + single bed and nice and bright. The only downside was that the bathroom was a bit run down and the room wasn't the cleanest. We saw some of the rooms back from the street and they looked a little dark and musty. It would be worth trying to get a room on the street side if possible.

Other than the hotel decor and fittings being a bit tired I couldn't fault the staff - they were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast included which included fruit or yoghurt shakes as well as the usual tea and coffee. The price for the room was OK but we have stayed in nicer places in Vietnam for less. I would still recommend considering Nhi Trung as a central and secure place to stay in Hoi An.

Room Tip: Request a room on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We were not expecting much, as all the reviews for places in Hoi An are not great. But this was a little gem! We had a nice big room with balcony, a En-suite with a bath, fridge and aircon with lightening fast WIFI. The staff were really friendly and helpful with perfect English. They also had PC's in reception which had facebook! There were plenty of choice for the free breakfast.

The bed was big and comfy with big fluffy pillows. The bathroom was spotless and had the water pressure was AMAZING and the heat was constant. There was always someone on guard downstairs too and the whole place felt very secure, as did the whole of Hoi An. Everythin is well within walking distance! Make sure you check out Cafe 43!!!! As reception for directions! It is really worth it! I PROMISE!

Room Tip: Room 301 was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nhi Trung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhi Trung Hotel

Address: 700 Hai Ba Trung St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Nhi Trung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nhi Trung Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.