We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unique experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour

Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour
Block 4-Phuoc Hai Fishing Village | Cua Dai district, Hoi An 84, Vietnam
++84 1234 33 1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 137 Activities in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Have you ever been experienced to ride a very unique Vietnamese bamboo basket boat? Have you ever ridden a water buffalo known to be " The BMW of Viet Nam" from a rice farm? Would you like to go fishing with local people to catch fish for a " Lunch" on board? Would you love biking throughout countryside to enjoy beautiful scenery of outskirts and meet the locals in around Hoi An? Would you like to explore a water coconut palm paradise with its interesting story about the V.C soldiers life before 1975? How about an early magic sunrise and sunset at a local fishing market? Will you be interested in learning how to grow and transplant rice with local Vietnamese farmers? Would you love to see "Captain Jack Sparrow" in Hoi An and enjoy the best local meals cooked by "Captain Cook" at the End of the world restaurant? Say "Yes" and let's go with Hoi An Eco-tour. We assure that you will have the best and real experience about the local people way of life that is very suitable for many people's all of ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great unique experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I went on the Farming and Fishing Life tour with Eco Tours and had a great time! You are really able to not only see, but experience, the daily lives of Vietnamese fishermen and farmers. They give you the opportunity to try your hand at each of the tasks (watering crops, riding water buffalo, casting a net).The tour starts off with a bike ride through the farms and a visit to a vegetable farm. Then, you are board a boat to interact with the fishermen, shown various fishing techniques, and get to ride in bamboo basket boats. That alone is really fun and a unique experience! The lunch served on the boat was fantastic and very large portions - too much! I was traveling alone, and our guide, Dai, made sure that I had someone to take photos of me the entire time. The other guides (Tien, Nong, Anh, and Sang) were very patient and fun. If you are looking for something to do outside of the town, definitely book a tour with Eco Tours!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Lindsey S,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours family in Hoi An - Vietnam !

Thank you very much for having reviewed us on the TRIPADVISOR. It is great to see and know you had an insight of local way with our farming and Fishing life with us. It is right that our every tours that we run, we make sure that everyone not only see but also experience. This is the reason why it has helped you understand about the hard life of the Vietnamese people in the country life who are very poor but very kind and hospitable, gentle and charm.

Thank you very much once again and I will pass all your nice words to our crews who took care of you and your partners during the Farming & Fishing life tour.

With all the best luck,

Kindest regards,

Jack Tran
Owner of Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    72
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fisherman tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had an excellent day out with the lovely tour guide Hue and the boat staff. We all tried net fishing, riding in basket boats & travelling through the waterways to a traditional house to hear a little bit about the war. Lunch was served on board the boat and was delicious! Absolutely perfect day out for families and anyone else interested in the Fishermans life.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear travelholicaussie,

I am Jack Tran, the owner of Hoi An Eco-tours family. I would like to write this reply to say thank you so much for joining Fisherman & the waterways with our family and local community at Phuoc Hai Fishing Village. I am so happy to know that you had a great trip on the river with riding basket boat, fishing with local people, visiting a traditional village, hearing about the war, getting lunch on board.... From my heart, I would like to thank you once again. Your review on the TRIPADVISOR is highly evaluated and your recommendation is deeply appreciated too.

With all the best,

Jack Tran
Owner of Hoi An Eco tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We did the fisheries and waterways tour and it was a blast. We were lucky and were the only people on our tour. We enjoyed paddling the spherical bamboo boat (harder than you think), had a great time learning how to fish the traditional way (we caught some small fish) and enjoyed an amazing dinner on the ocean. It as a fantastic dinner, well worth the time and cost.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear MrBunnsBangkok,

Thank you so much for having reviewed us on the TRIPADVISOR. How great it is to know you had a afternoon Fisherman and the waterways including dinner on board with us on the river ( not the ocean ). We hope you know now how to steer a round basket boat, appreciate hard life of fisherman with a few catch of fish for your dinner !!!???

Thank you again for being with us. We hope to see you and your friends back in the future.

With all the best luck,

Jack Tran
Owner of Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do it - great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

2 crazy mums and our 5 teens (16 - 11) woke up early for the 6 hour farming and fishing experience. I'm not gonna lie, the cycling was tough on one's nether region but wow, what a great time we had! The rice fields and local farm visit were interesting and our guide w as a lovely young local girl who was able to give us a true insight into the traditional way of life. We then went on to ride the water buffalo which was a crazy experience. The second part of the tour, on the waterways was fantastic and lots of laughter was had on the traditional fishing boats. Food was delicious and the journey home was a bit sad - 6 hours had whizzed by. Very good tour - highly recommend it to anyone with very basic bike skills.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear The3Gs,

I am Jack Tran, the owner of Hoi An Eco tours family. I have just read your great review about our Farming and Fishing Life. We are so delighted to see that you had a gorgeous time with our crews. The crazy experience for what you said " Riding water buffalo" in the water that we used to say " THE BMW of VIETNAM" while you were biking thru the rice paddies. I guess you must have laughed a lot with our local buffalo man in the pond where he said " BUFFALO ,NO SAD BUFFALO, NO WORRY" or getting down to the river for a fishing trip on the waterways with lunch cooked by our CAPTAINCOOK.

Again, On behalf of my crews, I would love to thank for joining tour with us.

With all the best wishes,

Jack Tran
Owner - Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic and thoroughly enjoyable family trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

All the rave reviews are true! Booking and logistics are handled efficiently by Jack. The Farming and Fishing Tour was very well organized and our guide (Hue, a lively petite young lady), Captain Cook and his wonderful crew. We enjoyed cycling through the rice paddies, riding the water buffalo (too bad this time it was on land and not in the water), the hands on experience to cast nets for fish and row the coconut boats. My teens were dragging their feet on this trip but were enjoying themselves within the first hour, making it a great family day out!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear ayy_wong,

Thank you so much for joining with our Farming & Fishing Life. It is so cool to see that your family had a wonderful trip with us especially with your kids. It is great to know the part of riding buffalo ( on land this time , well, you can do in the water if you want not to get wet, ask our guide, so you can have a blast fun), cycling thru rice paddies,meeting local farmers, go fishing, rounding basket boat..... We hope that with a couple of six hours, you have done and enjoyed it absolutely.

Thank you again for being with us. We wish you had a great holiday in Vietnam and looking forward to welcoming and your friends back.

Kindest regards,

Jack Tran
Owner of Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour also viewed

 

Been to Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.