We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour

Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour
Block 4-Phuoc Hai Fishing Village | Cua Dai district, Hoi An 84, Vietnam
++84 1234 33 1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 137 Activities in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Have you ever been experienced to ride a very unique Vietnamese bamboo basket boat? Have you ever ridden a water buffalo known to be " The BMW of Viet Nam" from a rice farm? Would you like to go fishing with local people to catch fish for a " Lunch" on board? Would you love biking throughout countryside to enjoy beautiful scenery of outskirts and meet the locals in around Hoi An? Would you like to explore a water coconut palm paradise with its interesting story about the V.C soldiers life before 1975? How about an early magic sunrise and sunset at a local fishing market? Will you be interested in learning how to grow and transplant rice with local Vietnamese farmers? Would you love to see "Captain Jack Sparrow" in Hoi An and enjoy the best local meals cooked by "Captain Cook" at the End of the world restaurant? Say "Yes" and let's go with Hoi An Eco-tour. We assure that you will have the best and real experience about the local people way of life that is very suitable for many people's all of ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous day in Hoi an on the Eco tour in June ,although a very hot day our guide, who was a lovely girl but i cant recall her name , made sure we had plenty of water and stopped often in the shade on the bike ride ,riding water buffalo ,learning to fish with the nets the boys had a great time ,lunch was great and there was no shortage of cold drinks and food, which was prepared by Capitan Cook, who along with his crew of merry men can make almost anything out of coconut leaves.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear johnandkim10,

Thank you very much for spending your time to review us on the TRIPADVISOR. It is so wonderful to learn about your wonderful time regarding to the Farming & Fishing life with our crews. We hope that the activities of riding the water buffalo - the "BMW VIETNAM" in the water, fishing with local fishermen, or meeting with our "MERRY MEN" at the water coconut forest to offer you with different of funny toys from the palm leaves...... are something to make you and your family have a great trip with our crews of Hoi An Eco-tours.

Once again, thank you very much for joining tour with us. We wish you would recommend our Eco-tours to your family, friends and a lot of people whom you know that are on traveling to Vietnam and Hoi An ancient town.

Wish you with all the best,

Jack Tran
Owner - Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    72
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Local village fishing tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a great trip with my wife and 3 kids aged 16, 12 and 10. The crew of Viet, liem, Tam, Anh and the energetic and interesting Hue made for a great day. It was not really about the fishing although we did manage to catch some however it was more about learning how the locals traditionally and currently catch their fish and service the local markets with their fresh produce. The food we ate was fantastic and the crew were very entertaining. This tour is well worth taking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ben Q,

Thank you so much for reviewing us on the TRIPADVISOR. We hope the fishing trip that you did join with us gave you a better and deeper understanding about the local way of life of the Fishermen at Phuoc Hai Fishing Village where you arrived. It was so great to know you had a wonderful lunch cooked on board by the CAPTAIN COOK, Mr. Viet escorting with the rest of his crews, Tam, Liem and lovely young guide Hue entertaining you on that day. Thank you very much Mr. Ben for touching into the real life of local people. We hope the trip has impressed you immensely bout the Vietnamese way of life !

We wish you with all the best luck and hope to see you back.

Cheers,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner of Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The Past's Enduring Charm...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

...that is what we experienced on the Wet Rice Tour, very well organized and conducted, starting with the pick up from our accommodation right through for the next 5 or 6 hours and return to our hotel. What "ordinary Westerner" could ever imagine riding a docile buffalo through a rice paddy the way it was done for thousands of years? Plowing the sod in almost knee deep water, planing the turned up soil while clutching the "tractor's" tail! All the while the poor beast couldn't flick off nasty bot flies which extracted some of its blood. Fortunately the guide saw it, plucked them from its hide and squeezed the "stolen" booty from their gloated bodies.
Also the age old methods of winnowing, collecting, seeding and planting rice need to be experienced and participated in to be believed. Topped off then with a simple lunch provided by the local folk rounded out the morning in a most pleasing manner.
So if one is only slightly interested in contemplating how billions of people obtain their daily sustenance, book in and see, feel, smell, hear and participate in how it is done. And as these humble people daily toil, totally reliant on water, favourable weather, soil, growth and other elements, perhaps we all may be inclined to reflect on these words: Give us our rice for this day.
Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Ferdinand K,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours company and the local farmers in Cam Thanh countryside village of Hoi An old town !

My name is Jack Tran. I am the owner of Hoi An Eco-tours. Thank you very much for joining wet rice tour with Hoi An Eco-tours company and the local farmer involved on that day. We are so delighted to see how your lovely, funny, educational time was with our local farmer. We are also just happy that the wet rice process that was shown and organized on that day has helped you understand and appreciate how the Vietnamese farmer people work so hard to grow rice.

Thank you very much once again for joining tour with us. We wish we would have more guests booking with wet rice tour so that we can help more local farmer people benefit from tourism.

With all the best,

Jack Tran
Owner - Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fisherman and Waterways Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I apologise to our crew for losing the card and forgetting their names (the tour guide was called Hue). However, I have to say that they were amazing and were wonderful to be around. They were cheerful, informative and highly professional and made the day such a brilliant experience way beyond expectations. It is probably one of the best tours I have ever done. Everything was relaxed and inclusive and the food cooked by "Captain Cook" was superb. Mr Chan should be congratulated on such a good service and the selection of such excellent staff. We have already recommended Hoi An Eco Tours to everyone we have met on our travels.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear rhysw55,

Best greetings from Hoi An Eco-tours family !

Thank you so much for your great review on the TRIPADVISOR. It is so cool to learn you had such a fantastic trip with our crews. We will definitely pass your great words about our tour guide Hue and Captain Cook.

We wish you had a wonderful holiday in Vietnam and looking forward to welcoming you back

Best regards,

Jack Tran
Owner of Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Delightful Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

By the time we took the Fishermen and Waterways Tour, we had traveled in Viet Nam for 15 days and had many questions about so many things. Hue was the perfect guide as she was able to tell us so many things and we learned so much from her. There were many things that we enjoyed on the tour. Walking through Hue's village and seeing some men repairing a big fishing boat was interesting. Riding in a basket boat was different from anything we had done anywhere and that was fun. Stopping at a beautiful home along the river and having tea, rice crackers with little coconut slices, and watermelon was delightful. We also enjoyed going through the waterways between the coconut palms in basket boats. We three Alaskans, who do a lot of fishing at home, were interested in seeing how the Vietnamese fish. Although we were not very good at throwing out the huge net, it was fun to try. The grand finale was the huge lunch which Captain Cook made on the boat. It was delicious! At the end of the morning, we were sad to leave Hue and the crew. We had such a fun morning and just wanted to take them back to Alaska with us. L&E Lee, Anchorage, Alaska

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Richard L,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours family in Hoi An ancient town- Vietnam !

My name is Jack Tran. I am the owner and Managing Director of Hoi An Eco-tours company. Thank you very much for your interest in our Fisherman & the waterways. I am so happy to read your wonderful comment on the TRIPADVISOR. Thank you so much for joining tour with us. It is very nice to read about your so many interesting activities while you were joining tour with my tour guide Hue, and enjoying a wonderful lunch cooked by our Captain Cook on board.

We hope you did have a great trip with us and looking forward to seeing you back next times.

With kindest regards,

Jack Tran
Owner - Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour also viewed

 

Been to Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.