We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Place, Food and Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden

Secret Garden
in the alley at 56 Le Loi Street, Hoi An 510000, Vietnam
510.3911112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 433 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb Place, Food and Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Really hard to find, down a very narrow alleyway it opens into a truly a secret garden. Lovely setting, great staff and food is sensational. It is a must visit. We went back and would have liked to try the whole menu if we had enough time. Briliiant authentic dishes, presented with real style and flavour was fantastic. Google it for the menu and location.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    161
    62
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really is a secret garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Would never have found this place without our guide. Beautiful cool setting and the food was great.....had a set menu and would have gone back again if we had time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food, Service, Ambience & Live Music incredible :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The above says it all! GO!! Food amazing service great at teh live music was wonderful :) Loved walking down the little alley to find it too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

As part of our V'Explore Travel tour my wife and I were treated to dinner at the Secret Garden.
The rice crackers and pickles, water spinach salad and Spicy chicken chunks were prepared and presented with visual concern and enough spice to tantalize the taste buds. An evening well spent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Glad we gave it another try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was unhappy w/our experience last year at Secret Garden, especially with one particular waitress. But, decided to give it another try this year, in November, 2012. The restaurant is down an alley too small for motor bikes and leads to a tree lined gardens w/fountains, welcoming staff and a fine menu. This is a quiet oasis free from street vendors and they make a decent martini for $4. We had the rice pasta spring rolls, one of the soups, beef lo lat (betel nut) leaves, and a grilled fish. We topped this off w/ice cream. The staff, this time, was friendly, helpful and attentive. They did not bang on their calculators at the end of the meal, or try to charge us "tax". We ate under a soft rain to western tunes from a live guitarist and considered this the highlight of our return visit to Hoi An. The food alone is worth the visit, but the ambiance and gracious service make it memorable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.