We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Field Hotel

Save Saved
You added Green Field Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Green Field Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   423 CuaDai St, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could not fault hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at green field. Pool areas are gorgeous, the room was very comfortable and spacious; breakfasts were superb and the free internet access a huge bonus for keeping in touch with home. The staff were the friendliest and most attentive that we came across in Vietnam - overall a great holiday experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    62
    68
    78
    90
See reviews for
28
140
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After arriving in Hoi An after a sleepless and uncomfortable thirteen-hour bus ride from Nha Trang, my friend and I, of which were desperately seeking comfortable beds; wondered around the town for about an hour before finding this gem of a place.

Once we had stepped into the foyer, the friendly Vietnamese women working on reception, who admittedly looked stunning in their traditional ‘ao dai’ baby-blue silk dresses, immediately greeted us with wide set smiles. They quoted us $10 a night for what was a fairly small but luxurious hotel for a backpacker! Our room was even air-conditioned and contained one double bed and one single, both of which were very well made up and extremely comfortable. The beds also had mosquito nets, which are always an added bonus in any South-East-Asian hotel or hostel. We had a sparkling clean en-suite bathroom and fresh towels neatly laid out every day - as well as the room being tidied and made up daily, all for just $5 a night each!

The restaurant located by the pool was inexpensive and the food very adequate, except that if you order a cheese sandwich, you will receive burger cheese singles served on bread - which at 25% 'real' cheese per slice, isn't quite what I was expecting...but I didn't dwell on it.

The pool side and patio serves as the main hub, and provides a great place to socialise with fellow backpackers which we did on several occasions, trading war stories and advising one another on good places within the town to go, see and experience. In fact, the hotel in general is a great place to socialise with other backpackers, this being because the whole place is filled with just backpackers who are generally only in their twenty somethings.

At six-thirty to seven every evening (I'm indefinite if this was the exact time) the lovely staff served up free 'cocktails' to the guests, which were basically just rum based alcoholic smoothies - not that I could complain, as they were very refreshing and served as good aperitifs before hitting the close by nightlife with the other backpackers. There were a few times where we came back to the hotel after many nights spent in 'Why Not?' bar (which served free rum and cokes from nine in the evening until eleven) one and a half hours of free refill rum and cokes is not too shabby at all, but back at the hotel, they had closed the gates and left the night porter on duty, of whom you would have to either call out and wake up to let you in through the gates, or simply just climb the gates and bang on the door until you grabbed his attention...admittedly it was always funny to see him wake up with a startle and stand to attention, as if he had been caught by the managers sleeping on the job.

In terms of location I could not fault the hotel, it was not at all far from the old market, shops, restaurants and bars. The beach was a bit further out, but not a strenuous walk in any means. The staff were always welcoming and friendly, the computers in the foyer were free and very useful for those times where you want to check in with your family and friends, but don't expect to use Facebook as the website is blocked - probably due to large amount of time other travellers have previously spent on it.

When we stayed here, they were refurbishing the patio/pool area outside of the restaurant, which at times could be irritating when you were awoken by the sound of power drills.

Overall my experience of Green Field Hotel was very positive, the service, the rooms and the hotel in general were of a high standard - I would thoroughly recommend this place to any other backpacker venturing into Hoi An, Vietnam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The location is good just a small walk from the old town. Room were spacious for both of us , clean and customer service is really good. Felt like home even though stayed for just 1 day, we move to the villa part of this place which was amazing. Overall a happy stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is not in good location little far from old square.
The wifi didnt work at all even in the lobby. Computers are slow and only 2 are available.
In our last day we woke up to noise of construction from 8am.

Dont stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saariselka, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved this Hotel, and i think the Manager and staff should take credit. everyone smiles, nothing is to much trouble and there is always someone on hand to assist you. The rooms were good with spacious bedroom and clean bathroom. All in all a very enjoyable experience and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here one night in a dorm. Upon checking in I couldn't get into my room because somebody else had the only key. I returned to the room in the evening and flicked the light switch. The light didn't work but I could still see half a dozen cockroaches crawling out of the sheets on my bed. I told the woman at reception who laughed, picked up a broom and indicated that I point out where the cockroaches were. I asked to be moved rooms and was ushered to another dorm with 'beauty salon' still painted on the door. The room was 5 degrees hotter than outside and the single rusty pedestal fan wasn't cutting it. At 8am two housekeepers knocked loudly and continually on the door until I woke up and answered. They switched the lights on and began arguing loudly while making up one of the beds.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Worth paying a little more to stay in a pool view room. We had 6 adults and 1 child in 1 Family and Double Superior. Breakfast was excellent!. It was also a nice and easy drive into the old town. The staff are friendly and service excellent. An excellent first visit to Hoi An.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Field Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Field Hotel

Address: 423 CuaDai St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Field Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-star hotel, located in the center of Hoi An Town with well-appointed rooms, swimming pool and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Green Field Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Field Hoi An
Hotel Green Field

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Field Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.