We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tra Que - it's free and you don't need to do a cooking class to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tra Que Water Wheel

Tra Que Water Wheel
Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 905 018009
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of the famous herb village, Tra Que Water Wheel restaurant is a rustic-designed, restored, traditional Vietnamese building. Here you can enjoy the beautiful surroundings while you watch the farmers at work tending their produce.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Tra Que - it's free and you don't need to do a cooking class to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

A little outside Hoi An's old town, you can easily ride a bicycle to Tra Que Village (3km max). I am posting this review because a lot of the reviews of Tra Que are actually for cooking schools. I think this is a bit misleading because you don't have to do a cooking class to visit Tra Que. Go by yourself and spend as long as you like taking photos and wandering around. Go at sunrise if you are really keen! Directions: follow Hai Ba Trung from the old town until you cross a tiny bridge. You will see the sign for Baby Mustard restaurant on the left. Take the next turn right and you are at Tra Que. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    81
    20
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“An alternate way to enjoy the village.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My friend and I were taken to Tra Que herb village as part of our cooking class with the effervescent Chef Danny from the Little HoiAn Boutique Hotel. He and his extended family live and work here and we received a very warm welcome from them.
The visit was only for 1 hour but this was sufficient to have a good look around, have all the herbs and vegies explained to us and have a go at the dual watering cans. Danny waters the entire family plot this way every morning at 5am for his elderly parents before heading off to work.
After enjoying our visit to the village we were taken back to the hotel and cooked up a 4 course Vietnamese banquet with Danny. This was incredible fun and of course we got to eat it all as well !
The entire 3.5 hour package was AU $26 which we thought was great value , particularly if you don't feel like spending the entire day at the village.
Also, you don't need to be a guest of the hotel to do it.
Enjoy !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“great cultural experience in beautiful Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked this tour on a whim, having spent the past week in the city we decided we needed a bit of rural charm, and boy did it deliver! The day starts with a shopping trip through the food markets in Hoi An, where you learn about all those weird and wonderful delights all but the brave walk past with their nose held! We then took a short, leisurely cycle through the beautiful countryside to the Tra Que waterwheel, a stunning little retreat set in amongst a vast, lush green vegetable plot. Throughout the day we learnt about all the (extremely) hard work the Gardners and farmers put in on the organic, government owned plot, we even got to try our hand at a bit of gardening, using old Vietnamese methods. Making the rice paper and riding a water buffalo (yeah you read that right) were both really fun, but the real highlight of the day was the cooking class, partly because we all want to replicate that amazing Vietnamese food at home but mainly because I love to eat delicious food, and we were fed extremely well! Lilly our tour guide was a hoot, so cute, funny and really patient with us and her other sisters who work in the kitchen, and as fellow guides were just as wonderful! All in all a perfect day and a real bargain for $39 USD!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Educational and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a great visit we had learning about organic gardening and actually helping to plant a plot of spinach. Everything is done by hand and is very labor intensive. Fertilizer is dried seaweed and plants are watered using dual watering cans suspended from a yoke around one's neck. Our farmer seemed to get great pleasure out of telling us what we were doing wrong - of course, with a smile and a chuckle. After our labor, we got a foot soak in medicinal waters followed by a foot massage. The cheerful young women then moved on to our head, face and neck and it was wonderful. The mini-cooking lesson involved making a type of Vietnamese pancake which was turned with a chopstick type tool and then flipped back into the pan. Our cook was very patient, very young and had a great sense of humor. The meal that followed used vegetables grown at the farm and was delicious. All this cooking and eating took place in the courtyard of one of the family's houses. We met the patriarch who seemed to enjoy the activity. We came away with a deep appreciation of many years of hard work that has made this place the successful venture that it is.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebbug, Malta
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So natural and efficient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

They use only natural ingredients, do all the work with just hand tools and seem to produce prodigious amounts of vegetables per square metre of land. Just amazing

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tra Que Water Wheel also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Tra Que Water Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tra Que Water Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.