We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE IN THE COUNTRYSIDE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tra Que Water Wheel

Tra Que Water Wheel
Tra Que Herb Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 905 018009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 137 Activities in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of the famous herb village, Tra Que Water Wheel restaurant is a rustic-designed, restored, traditional Vietnamese building. Here you can enjoy the beautiful surroundings while you watch the farmers at work tending their produce.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Koriyama, Japan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE IN THE COUNTRYSIDE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you wish a trip toward to countryside and experience as a farmer, it is your choice.

You can attend Farming trip (join in preparing the land and fertilising with real farmers in the herb garden); or Cooking class (preparing and cooking Vietnamese food:“Cao Lau”, “My Quang”, and “Tam Huu); or Rice Paper Making (how to soak the rice and grind it by hand to make flour which is suitable for making rice paper)....

You will have the best experience here!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    79
    20
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Interesting view of the lives of local farmers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited this village as part of a tour with Hoi An Eco Tours. A local cooperative of farmers who grow a range of herbs and vegetables using locally sourced organic fertilisers (water weed) using traditional farming practises. We watched farmers at work and had a go at watering by hand, with the help of a 70+ yr old woman. She only let us half-fill her watering cans because they would be too heavy for us!!!!! We were given lots of information about what we saw growing in the garden, what each was used for, and got to taste them as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's a must do!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We got picked up from hotel and rode around to a local village market. We tried some sticky rice treats and looked at all the fresh gorgeous food. Next we rode to Tra Que herb garden where we cooked our own lunch. All in a chefs costume! It was the most fabulous fresh organic food. The head chef was hilarious ! We played games and ate and laughed. We rode back to hotel past the beach and we had a quick swim and the guide bought us a sugar cane juice. Delicious!
This tour is a must. We organised it through On the Go and other people came and did a different cooking class coz they didn't make as much food as us. We did rice paper rolls, spring rolls, savoury pancake and chicken hot pot. All made ourselves. Best day ever!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A great day as a true farmers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Love the feeling cycling between green fields at Tra Que village. I did have a chance to cook Vietnam traditional dishes there, especially making cake with meat (Banh xeo). I am also fascinated by watching the local farmers do their daily life: raking the ground, sowing, watering, picking vegetables and many other activities. The vegetables here are safety and especially outstanding taste and flavor. At noon, i enjoyed my lunch with fresh vegetable and dishes i made by myself. An unforgettable experience!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Early morning tour and drink - lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went with a cooking school to this garden. They explained numerous things about growing methods and conditions as well as what things are used for. Had the chance to drink a lovely drink (honey sweetened water with mint and basil seeds) from local produce. It was relaxing and quite enjoyable. Could see people working in the fields.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tra Que Water Wheel also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Tra Que Water Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tra Que Water Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.