We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time making rice paper !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tra Que Water Wheel

Tra Que Water Wheel
Tra Que Herb Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 905 018009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 129 Activities in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located in the heart of the famous herb village, Tra Que Water Wheel restaurant is a rustic-designed, restored, traditional Vietnamese building. Here you can enjoy the beautiful surroundings while you watch the farmers at work tending their produce.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Da Nang, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun time making rice paper !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We visited the village today with our 2 children (9&11) and had a wonderful time.
We ground the rice with water and them steamed the mixture to make rice paper and noodles , making crispy rice crackers after this. Later we enjoyed our noodles with a delicious sauce.
Staff were welcoming and were happy to answer questions relating to village life.
A fun time - thanks for a great day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    79
    20
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A lovely cooking experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had a wonderful day with the help of Lily on the cooking experience. She arrived at 8am to pick me up from my hotel (finished at about 1pm) and we cycled to the central market, where she gave me lots of information about the food and vegetables of most popular use in Vietnamese cooking, which was really interesting. We then cycled to Tra Que which is a gorgeous ride alongside paddy fields, Tra Que is a really tranquil area itself and the cooking was really fun! It also tasted amazing and I can't wait to get practicing when I get home.
Lily was a real sweetie and the staff there are lovely and extremely helpful and friendly. I thoroughly recommend you try this. I was alone and it was a lot of fun, so alone or in a group I don't think you'll go wrong. Many thanks to Lily and the rest of the team there! A real highlight and great value for money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely experience for Urbanites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our family had a memorable experience at Tra Que Waterwheel. My 4 year old daughter loved experiencing farming and Hien was patient enough to guide her through each step- from gathering river weeds as fertilizer to transplanting saplings. The lunch was also the freshest and best we had! A must try in Hoi An!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to the Tra Que Herb Village under our own steam, riding the free bikes from our hotel. After riding straight past the restaurant therefore neglecting to pay the cost of admission 40,000VD they finally caught up with us LOL. It took us a while riding around the gardens trying to find the water wheel but then we realised it was right there in front of our eyes. We met a gorgeous young lady named Lily, what a ray of sunshine she is. We each had a go turning the water wheel and got enough speed to start the bamboo bells singing. It was great fun and would recommend this to others.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We took a bike here from our hotel through the rice paddy fields. Half the fun was getting there but once we got there we thought it was great. The food was as tasty as it was pretty and the staff were really lovely. They have a MASSIVE herb garden out the front where I think they grow all the things they need for their food and they let us have a play on their water wheel.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tra Que Water Wheel also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Tra Que Water Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tra Que Water Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.