We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thien Nga Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thien Nga Hotel to your Saves list
Thien Nga Hotel
52 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 51000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a efficiently run hotel in a great location in Hoi An. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast dining area really nice and breakfast itself was pretty good. No functioning pool at the moment although it says there is online. The manager was very apologetic. Everything else about the place was good though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    95
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
12
111
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for a week. We booked two rooms for our group of four, and negotiated $22 a room with breakfast included. If you book online their rates are much higher, but at what we paid, it was excellent value for the money:
- clean tasteful rooms, a step up from anything else we saw in Vietnam in this price range
- housekeeping staff are attentive and will make up your room daily or leave you alone if you choose
- front desk staff very helpful and accommodating, will arrange motorbike hire and taxi upon your departure at reasonable prices.
- great free breakfast with unlimited tea and coffee and fruit, with eggs or pancakes cooked to order (one review said the breakfast wasnt good, but i disagree--- most free breakfasts hotels in Southeast Asia offer are pretty lousy by comparison. We enjoyed the breakfast--- the filling breakfast is what made this place a great value in our book.
One review mentions the shower being substandard--- my thoughts: in my experience this is what showers are like in the budget price range in SE Asia. Its not my shower at home thats for sure, but it got the job done, water was hot, and it was comparable to other showers in this price range that we have seen throughout our travels in this part of the world.

I have no idea what the streets are like in the rainy season so i cannot speak to that, but in december it was a great location, pretty quiet but quick walk into the main action.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have cool attic type ceilings adding great character, but many of the lower floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel has an "Our Pick" icon in Lonely Planet, so it does good business and you might want to ring ahead for a room rather than just show up. The LP rating is fairly random though, because Thien Nga is one of perhaps ten cookie-cutter hotels along this road that are all probably largely the same in terms of quality and price.

Let me get the bad out of the way first. It's a mid-price hotel by Hoi An standards, but Thien Nga cuts a lot of corners to keep their costs down. There's no coffee/tea making facilities in your room, no toiletries, a basic hardware-store plastic shower nozzle and breakfast is cook-to-order and not bad but is missing things like cereal, fresh milk and a toaster. The wi-fi is iffy, depending on your device. It's strong on my laptop but fluctuates between one and two bars and sometimes cuts out on my phone.

There are good things to balance that out. The location is great... far enough out of Ancient Town to be away from the beeping traffic and roadside circus but close enough to be just a five minute walk away. There are a couple of rooms on the ground floor with nice balconies overlooking the fields (ask for 202 or 302). The whole hotel including the rooms are spic-and-span spotlessly clean. And prices of all the "additionals" like bicycles, motorbikes, mini-bar and Danang transfer are all sane and reasonable, so you don't have to go looking for other vendors.

You get what you pay for with accommodation in Hoi An. This hotel isn't going to leave you with strong romantic memories, but it won't ruin your trip either. It's a clean, functional hotel in the mid-tier that will serve you well as a base while you're in town.

Room Tip: Facing the fields (back) will be quieter than facing the road. Not all rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland (Europe)
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is located 10 minutes from the Old Town. Rooms are 25 US but for 30 US they give you a room overlooking the fields, which makes it much quieter. My room (300) was nice, not small, with a beautiful balcony, a writing desk, a small wardrobe, wi-fi, a new TV set and a telephone. In the bathroom you find only one piece of soap and two towels and that’s it. Certainly no frills at all. The real problem was the shower that I found quite difficult to use because there is no curtain and you can’t bend the shower-head so that the water hits the tiles behind you instead of your body. No hairdryer and no toilet-paper-holder.
Breakfast is nothing exciting. In the lobby there is a row of four nice laptops for the guests to use for free. Staff is kind though, and for my early leave one morning they prepared a bag-breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a well-working shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The Thien Nga Hotel is about a five minute walk from the famous old part of Hoi An. It's actually a good location because it's away from the music that is now played from hidden speakers around the old city.

My room was large, spacious, perfectly clean and looked out over vegetable fields. Wifi, water, etc. all worked just fine but there was a power black out while I was there. Luckily the hotel has a large back-up generator (I guess black outs are a regular problem) to keep the basics running when the power shuts down. Besides the TV there was a DVD player. Since virtually any recent movie is available to purchase in town for, like, $1.50, that could be useful on a rainy day.

Breakfast is made order. The banana pancakes are great. There are computers free to use in the lobby but there is no (despite what it says in some guidebooks) pool. There are free bicycles which are a great way to get around town or out into the countryside.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

For a walk-in-price of 25-30 § we got a nice big room (without balcony) including a good breakfast. The staff was really helpful: We had a Typhoon warning, we needed a doctor urgently and the city was flooded... All that happend within one week, and they supported us with everything in a very kind and professional way.
In the flooding season it might be better to choose a hotel more in the north, if you don't like to go to out by boat.

Room Tip: Backside rooms are extremly quiet, looking over a field. But the streetside is not very loud, compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Thien Nga is situated within easy walking distance (10 mins) of the Old Town in Hoi An. The rooms are quite large, clean and well appointed and have a balcony either looking over the countryside / garden or the town. The staff were very polite and offered great advice on what to see and do in Hoi An. We had a night train trip after we checked out and the hotel offered us use of the shower and facilities and no extra charge, which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thien Nga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Nga Hotel

Address: 52 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Nga Hotel, located in Hoi An Ancient Town, Hoi An, is a popular choice for travelers. The city center is merely 0.5 Km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Cao Dai Pagoda, Phac Hat Pagoda, Cam Pho Temple. The facilities and services provided by Thien Nga Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in all rooms, Wi-Fi in public areas, airport transfer, car park, bicycle rental to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. Experience high quality room facilities during your stay here. Some rooms include internet access - wireless (complimentary), refrigerator, desk, television, air conditioning, provided to help guests recharge after a long day. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden to make your stay truly unforgettable. Thien Nga Hotel is a smart choice for travelers to Hoi An, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thien Nga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Nga Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thien Nga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.