We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thien Nga Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thien Nga Hotel to your Saves list
Thien Nga Hotel
52 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 51000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 4 nights in Nov 2012. The standard room we got was big and clean - USD 30,- per room per night incl. breakfast. Very nice straf. Standard simple breakfast incl. No pool as advised in Lonely Planet. All together we were very happy with this hotel and would choose this option again if coming back to Hoi An.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    95
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
12
111
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Pool currently unavailable. It might be worth checking other options in town. They charged 1 USD a day for bike hire. Pick-up from the train station worked perfectly and is worth the 16 USD. Rooms OK with A/C, bathroom below standards, no shower curtain. Staff helpful but not very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

First off, there is NO POOL as both Tripadvisor and Lonely Planet (2011) state. You should know that right off the bat. There is also no restaurant as Lonely Planet describes, just breakfast service in the morning.

We booked this hotel because it was listed as a top choice in the Lonely Planet. We didn't mind that it was not right in the heart of the center of town. We arrived, received a rather gruff greeting from the front desk man with glasses, and after viewing two rooms we were practically pushed into the room that we chose. When I turned around to ask him something he had already said, "Ok goodbye!" and was halfway down the stairs. There were other desk people that were a little sweeter than this guy, but all in all, I would say that the staff here does the bare minimum for its guests, and asking them for anything gives you an overwhelming sense that you're putting them out.

Keep in mind that, in all of our previous accommodations on our trip in Hanoi, Ha Long Bay, and Hue, we received spectacular service that made us feel welcome, safe, and cared for. Perhaps we were spoiled or naive to think that we would receive the same or at least similar service in Hoi An.

To sum up: If you expect the absolute worst, there is a small chance that you might be pleasantly surprised. if you come in expecting a decent, standard level of service, you will be disappointed. This hotel really detracted from our Hoi An experience. Bummer.

Pros:
- Nice location on a quiet street, if you don't mind a short walk (about 5 min) into town
- Clean rooms and lobby
- Rooms that face behind hotel have pretty view of rice fields
- Breakfast OK
- Ride to Da Nang airport was cheaper than a taxi, and right on time

Cons:
- No lift (maybe not a con if you prefer to get exercise)
- No shower curtain in bathrooms
- Air-con not super cold even on lowest temp setting
- Staff service unreliable compared to everywhere else we've stayed
- Internet service in room spotty, and stopped working on our last day here and wasn't working even when we left; staff were unsympathetic and reluctant to fix, insisted that we go downstairs to the lobby to use the internet
- Hotel reception surly and unhelpful - wanted to charge us US 0.25/minute for calling ahead to HCMC to confirm our hotel reservation (our other hotels made a point of offering this as a courtesy)...so it's a do-it-yourself experience here
- mysterious noise above ceiling in our room - like something walking around
- only one usable outlet in entire room
- mosquitos and lizards in room (the lizards are cute but you still might not like it)

Room Tip: Pretty view of rice fields on back side of building and quieter. But you should really stay somewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed on the 2nd floor. Room very quite with no street noise. Bed was extra hard. Bathroom included the usual asian style shower over the toilet. Plenty of hot water,room serviced daily & very clean.
Breakfast was basic but adequate.
Stayed 2 nights before heading to Nha Trang
Hotel has no lift so if you have a heavy pack or don't like too many stairs suggest a lower level room.
Would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Room is clean and decent with LCD tv.


Ants in the bathroom. Decent hot water but the shower head is pointed at an odd angle.

No basic toileries like shampoo etc.

Hotel chases me out at 11.30 sharp.I will have to wait at the lobby for an hour for the afternoon bus to Danang. No extension even thought i only need an extra half an hour. Note; its the low season i guess the hotel is almost empty.


Except the late checkout, everything is quite ok.

Room Tip: Walk around .. hotels aplenty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff with excellent English took our booking and were very concerned that we got to the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The very nice guy in reception was very concerned that we got the most out of our stay in Hoi An and drew detailed maps for the old town, night markets, recommended beaches and the best places to buy various items. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. One point to note, the lonely planet shows it as having a swimming pool but it doesn't. Who needs a swimming pool when the south china sea is a short bike,bus taxi ride away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The room was spacious but didn't have any of the usual small perks like complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, water etc.

The place seemed fairly clean but the sheets had some small rips in them, overall the room was nothing special. The bathroom was a bit average.

Breakfast was nothing special and the fruit tasted like onions.

The staff were nice enough, though not overly friendly or helpful and a little bit off. We asked the reception staff to call ahead to a hotel in Hue for us and they asked for 1000VND per minute of their time which I didn't really appreciate.

Fine for a bed for a night but I wouldn't recommend it for a nice holiday experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thien Nga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Nga Hotel

Address: 52 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Nga Hotel, located in Hoi An Ancient Town, Hoi An, is a popular choice for travelers. The city center is merely 0.5 Km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Cao Dai Pagoda, Phac Hat Pagoda, Cam Pho Temple. The facilities and services provided by Thien Nga Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in all rooms, Wi-Fi in public areas, airport transfer, car park, bicycle rental to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. Experience high quality room facilities during your stay here. Some rooms include internet access - wireless (complimentary), refrigerator, desk, television, air conditioning, provided to help guests recharge after a long day. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden to make your stay truly unforgettable. Thien Nga Hotel is a smart choice for travelers to Hoi An, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thien Nga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Nga Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thien Nga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.