We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy introduction to Vietnamese cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vy’s Market Restaurant & Cooking School

Vy’s Market Restaurant & Cooking School
3 Nguyen Hoang Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 510 2241 555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Food & Drink in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Street Food Restaurant and Cooking School. It is owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School in Hoi An.
Leeming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy introduction to Vietnamese cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I participated in the half-day course. It was simplified for novices with all the preparation being already done leaving mostly just the assembly for the students. The exception to this being the cabbage roll soup and the crispy pancake dishes. Overall you get to participate in creating 4 dishes: prawn cabbage roll soup; crispy pancake roll; grilled lemongrass chicken skewer and a green mango salad.
The instructor was very entertaining and the skill required is minimal. You are making the dishes for your own consumption so the more care you take, the more rewarding the experience will be. There's very little messy chopping and preparation which is good for some and disappointing for others. One young fellow opposite us had botched nearly all his dishes and was stuck with having to eat the remaining disasters.
overall the course was great and left me with the desire to try another one, so by all means, I would recommend this one as your launch point into authentic vietnamese cooking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    46
    13
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Huge business - not much room for individuals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We signed up for cooking class after a delicious meal at the morning glory restaurant. Actually the restaurant is huge, so we probably should have seen that this is a big factory where you are a number rather than a person, and unfortunately this was also the case for the cooking class: it's a good option if you know nothing about vietnam cuisine or culture and if don't mind a "lecture"-like eduction. Our first guide did her monolog in good english, but don't dare to ask questions, they were not understood. The market tour turned into a shopping tour and the actual cooking class (by a guide with more english knowledge) was more a presentation of already made dishes than cooking. I would have prefered some simpler (or less?) dishes but to do them all from start.
Some of our classmates really enjoyed it, and don't dare to say it was not good - just make sure this is what you are looking for...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Excellent food, recipes, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Took a class here and went to the new location, the Morning Glory Market Restaurant. The space is really pleasant to be in, a large 2 story courtyard with stalls, with the third floor being the cooking school. Plenty of room, all brand new cookstoves. The chef giving the course was a very friendly woman who just moved from the original restaurant to head up operations at the Market Restaurant. She is very clear, speaks English beautifully, was funny, and most importantly, is a great chef. Good direction, variety of dishes, SO GOOD. Well worth the $25 with the recipes to try to recreate some of my favorites, like shrimp spring rolls and banh xeo! Great if you're solo or with friends/family.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good cooking class - good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

At $27 a person we were concerned this may not have been the best value for money activity on our trip And We were also worried that our massive group of 36 would be overbearing and we would not get the attention that our money might entitle us to. We decided to go for it as it was reviewed so highly and We were pleasantly surprised on both aspects.

The market tour was informative and interesting and we were in a small group of 8. The tour of the market kitchen was also very informative and we saw how they made almost all the different types of food. (And tasted too). We learned more in a couple of hours about Vietnamese cooking than we have in a lifetime. The teachers had great English and were very polite and helpful.

The cooking class itself was excellent. Easy to follow and everything explained in great detail. The teacher has a few assistants on hand to help you through the process. It was easy to see despite the 36 students. The room was great, very good set up but did get very hot when cooking. We ate all the food and left with very full bellies. We even got ice cream at the end.

We were there from 08.30 until 13.30. Well worth the $27 but if you really don't want to be in a large group you should look elsewhere.

Also, don't do what we did and buy the 'chopper' at the market. They give you one at the end with the print outs of all the menus.



Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Well set up, but not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Morning glory is an impressively set up and well run business, both restaurant(s) and cooking school. I have done a number of cooking classes throughout SE Asia and this was the most professional one by far. Everything is well planned and thought through, including division of the large group in smaller groups, the menu and the presentation of their products (school, restaurants, cookbook). Disadvantage is that the group is still huge, so there is limited personal time with the teacher (my last course in Java had 3 students, this one 16!) and it did feel a bit 'too organized' at time ("let's keep walking, keep walking"), with little time for improvisation or detours.

That said: quality is high, Lulu is an éxcellent teacher and I learned so so much. People are very friendly and helpful and we had a good time in the group and with the different guides. I was afraid that i would end up solo with a big tour group, but it appeared that they give separate courses for the groups, which is great. My group was solo people or couples only.

Overall: this is an interesting course to do and great fun. If you expect an intimate affair... go elsewhere!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vy’s Market Restaurant & Cooking School also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Vy’s Market Restaurant & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vy’s Market Restaurant & Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.