We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food, Average Price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Green Moss

Green Moss
341 Nguyen Duy Hieu | 341 Nguyen Duy Hieu , Hoi An , Viet Nam, Hoi An 563800, Vietnam
913499683
Improve this listing
Ranked #322 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average Food, Average Price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We ate at the Green Moss with hopes that the food would be exceptional and we would want to take a cooking class there. I must say the food was plain at best and nothing to write home about. There are so many other great restaurants in the area that I would skip this unless you were staying right next door.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    9
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular--so many other great places to eat in Hoi An--if you skip this one, you're not missing out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My friend read about this restaurant in Lonely Planet, so we went there and the menu looked promising, but the food was nothing special and service was just okay. Their cooking classes were recommended, but EVERY restaurant in Hoi An has cooking classes. My friend ended up choosing a cooking class at a restaurant where we liked the food, and he wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“informal cooking lessons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

In the kitchen with the cook, write down the recipe as you cook, then eat the dish. Then do the next. $2 extra.
Great way to do a cooking lesson.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Take one of the informal cooking classes here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have had lunch here a couple of times - and the food is briljant. The best thing is - you may have a look in the kitchen while your dinner is prepared, so you are able to recreate the meals yourself.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Just OK - if you are looking for a quick cuppa then this is o e of the place you should stop by... If not just go forward to the acient town of Hoi An. Anyway, the food served does not taste good and not really reasonable. Not much to write as the restaurant is plain.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Moss also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Green Moss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Moss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.