We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to reviews we'd read” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dao Tien

Dao Tien
19/4 Phan Boi Chau, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 510 3914 996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 433 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $1 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Dao Tien had Moved To Dao Tien River on the same name at 19/4 Phan Boi Chau st.At the same street but on the River View.600M EAST of Hoi An Market
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to reviews we'd read”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just thought that the food was really average. Not nearly as nice as other places we ate in Hoi An and not as cheap. Nice location though.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    68
    30
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“beautiful riverside location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

One of the nicest meals I had in Vietnam - peaceful riverside location, friendly staff and lovely food. What more do you need? It might not be in quite the same central location as some of the other restaurants, but it is worth the effort to get there. I stayed at the Ha An hotel and it was less than a minute's walk from there, so if you are trying to picture where it is, I hope that helps you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Romantic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After looking around for a little while we decided to eat here at the Dao Tien... The location was perfect, right by the river... so romantic. Service was good, didn't have to wait too long for our order to be taken etc... The restaurant was clean and well maintained. The fish seemed to be fresh and had a lot of flavour. Would definitely return here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went here simply because we cycled past it and thought it looked nice.
We were so glad we did, lovely food (not cheap by Vietnamese standards, but certainly cheap compared to what we are used to paying at home), lovely staff and beautiful surroundings.
We went for lunch, and as it was our last day, couldn't get back to try it in the evening but I would imagine it is even more beautiful.
Hoi An can be pretty hectic so it was especially nice to find somewhere so tranquil.
Someone in a previous review mentions its suitability as a marriage proposal venue. I heartily agree.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“wonderful meal by the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

great meal mid-day by the river - good service, clean and well kept, I would recommend it for travellers

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dao Tien also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Dao Tien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dao Tien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.