We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food at good prices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Light Candle

Light Candle
Ba Trieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good food at good prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Light candle is only open for breakfast and lunch. The owner then goes to cook dinner at her other restaurant "Tiem An Dung" for dinner. (near the lantern night market over the bridge)
Madam is very proud of her cooking and if not busy will give you a cooking lesson. Food is fresh, well priced and cooked with love. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal of Vietnam trip and maybe my entire life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

It has been two years since I ate here and I still have dreams about this food. We walked up when the power was off and the owner said she would still cook for us. We were the only ones there and we had a great time with her! She is one of the nicest people we met in Vietnam, and that really does say a lot. And on top of that she is also an AMAZING cook. We got spring rolls, papaya salad, and some noodles and literally ordered a second order of all three dishes. If you don't go to this restaurant you are seriously missing out. I would do terrible things in order to eat this meal again.

  • Visited June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“poor vietnamese food but nice people”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I understand people who where saying that the woman is nice but I don't understand people who are saying that they got their best food in Vietnam.... I t was really simple, no so tasty and no so cheap ! we had some spring rolls, ginger chicken, and shrimps... You eat in a street which not so nice..our worst restaurant in Hoi An!
compare to that we went in Dao Tien restaurant, amazing food and service, 30% more expensive but nothing to compare !!!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooktown
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ligth Candle Restaraunt RUles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

If you are staying in Hoi An make the trip to the Light Candle cafe. You are welcomed with open arms and the food is to die for. Try the green papaya salad and the light candle spring rolls. I went back again this year and although I was staying in another part of town it was worth the trip to see them again. They looked after us like family. Many tears flowed when we left on our last night. It is Cat

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Dont miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

A hidden gem in Hoi An with the most delicious food as well as an incredibly charming, warm and delightful owner/chef. Do yourself a favour and come and enjoy amazing Vietnamese food (especially the Cao Lau and fried spring rolls) and wonderful hospitality. Whilst it is not expensive, it was one of the most treasured meals and experiences of our trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Light Candle also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Light Candle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Light Candle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.