We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, relaxing, and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Bridge Restaurant and Cooking School

Red Bridge Restaurant and Cooking School
Thon 4, Cam Thanh, Hoi An 1111, Vietnam
84 510 933222
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$45*
and up
Ranked #38 of 137 Activities in Hoi An
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
Attraction details
Canberra
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxing, and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We did the all day course, myself, husband and 13 yr old son,. In total there were 5 of us on the course and what fun we had. The tour of the herb gardens was educational and interesting, the markets were no different to other markets. Then onto the school, our Chef is known as the skinny one, and he was a delight. Who knew my son could actually cook, and for my husband he learnt not everything needs to come out of a bottle or packet. The flavours were delicious, the location was lovely, the company was great, the Chef and his assistants were a delight and to end a delightful boat ride back to the city.
Would highly recommend for everyone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    108
    33
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good fun and delicious simple recipes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We did the deluxe course (3/4 day) which took us to the markets where we learnt about ingredients; and to the farm where we learnt about local culture and ways of life - and saw the produce at source. The trip to the the school by boat amongst the river life was delightfuly relaxing and a great lead in to the beautiful tranquility of Red Bridge Cooking School. The class itself was a hoot. Chef had a great sense of humour and really kept things moving. The recipes were all delicious and amazingly simple and fresh. I will be making them all at home.
Take your bathers and have a dip in the idyllic Villa pool before sitting down at the table with a glass of wine or a beer to enjoy your efforts with your new found friends.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An enjoyable time and you get to eat it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We decided upon a 1/2 day cookery experience as part of our trip to Vietnam. We weren't really sure what it would be like as we turned up at our meeting point and there were about 20 in total. But we were split into smaller groups and taken round the market to get an understanding of local produce. This was extremely interesting and our guide had quite a sense of humour! We then met up with the rest of the groups and had a boat trip to the school. This gave us another perspective of life in Hoi An. Upon arrival we were given another welcome drink and then taken to the "classroom". Beautiful setting with the river behind you. Our chef was a bit of a comedian and had us laughing and joking with him. After watching him prepare we had a go. And to be honest I think we were all quite surprised at our efforts. The best part was when we got to eat our creations in beautiful surroundings. After a leisurely lunch we decided not to take the boat back but were collected by our guide as after all that hard work a sleep by the swimming pool was called for.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

4 of us traveling together participated in the red bridge half day tour/coking school. It was sensational. The tour through the market first with the local guide is good fun and was a good opportunity to buy some coffee and spices and ask questions. Then we headed by bus to the restaurant, we had no boat ride due to the flooding at the moment. The restaurants setting is gorgeous. The cooking area is lovely and makes you feel like you are cooking on a floating pontoon! The food was beautiful the instructors were very helpful (the girls and guys helping set up the equipment). The chef we had seemed some what disinterested in being there and almost arrogant in several remarks he made. This however didn't take away from the great experience. Would definitely recommend doing this whether you enjoy cooking or just enjoy eating!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Tasty Creations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Red Bridge does a really nice cooking class. We had a delightful guide who walked us through the market explaining a lot about the fruits & veg and meat & fish and more.

We were supposed to board a boat to go to Red Bridge Restaurant but he waster was too high or some such. So we rode out in a van instead. The walk through the herb garden was interesting.

The cooking portion was very well demonstrated and the staff did a great job helping us through our turn. We made several dishes, all of which we got to eat. All was very well organized.

After the cooking we went to the restaurant where we were served a couple of extra courses. So there was more than enough to eat.

It was all fun and informative and tasty!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Bridge Restaurant and Cooking School also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Red Bridge Restaurant and Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Bridge Restaurant and Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.