We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of An Hoi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added An Hoi Hotel to your Saves list
An Hoi Hotel
69 Nguyen Phuc Chu Str., Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Hoi An
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely hotel beside river. very clean, nice people. Right beside river :). But don't get the room behind the reception desk; you can hear everything. Very kind staff and free, tasty breakfast. Nice, refreshing pool to dip into and cool off in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    91
    65
    26
    15
See reviews for
22
95
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
olympia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

While the location is convenient, there is not much else to recommend at this hotel. One of our pillowcases looked dirty, not merely stained, and we were brought hot water in a thermos repaired with ratty old cellophane, boasting a long hair. Both our room and our daughter's room lacked windows -- a fact we missed when being shown the rooms because the balcony door was closed (it's a big wooden door, so when it's closed for the aircon, you don't have a window). Breakfast seating was inadequate, so we had to wait for a table. Then we were refused cheese or jam with our baguette because it didn't come with our egg orders. When we ordered water, we were brought tap water (not sure if it was filtered). Also, the beds were unusually hard and uncomfortable.
When we booked, we were told the hotel would meet our bus; it did not and we paid 80,000 to a taxi driver with no meter (his starting price was 120,000). Upon arrival, hotel staff said they'd compensate by taking 40,000 off the bill, but when we decided to leave after one night, all bets were off. The manager became sullen and rude, refused the very modest discount and then tried to charge us for a beer we never had.
We moved to Than Binh II and are much happier with the clean, more spacious room. Also worth mentioning for vegans/vegetarians, we found a fabulous vegetarian restaurant called "Dam" down a small alley on the river side of Phan Chau Trinh street...ask around, because we had delicous and creative food for a dollar a person.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is situated nearby the japanese bridge, very central. But still quiet by night. In total we spent 3 nights here and got a very nice and spacious double room with a simple but clean bathroom. Breakfast was included and quite good. In the patio there´s also a free pool available. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Queensland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Right on the river and close to all the tourist destinations this was a lovely little hotel. Not sure about the photograph on the top of the Tripadvisor page - doesn't look anything like the hotel and I didn't think it was the right place till I checked the address and the other photos. Has a pool that my husband checked out as it was pretty hot in February. No lift. Restaurant is very nicely situated looking over the river and breakfast was enjoyable. Stayed 2 nights and talk a taxi down to the lovely nearby beach. Had a special lantern competition for Chinese New Year just across the road from the hotel which added value to the atmosphere. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Close to town, but far enough away from the bars to be nice and quiet. Thoughtt the staff seemed a bit moody at first, but we were wrong, thought they were great. The manageress in particular was great, she's got a wicked sense of humour which we loved. Not a great place, but good value and does what you need it to do.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Taking into consideration how much we paid I am really happy. Great location, good food, clean rooms, wifi, computer room, air conditioning and a pool. Breakfast is great! Vast range of food to choose from. The quantity and quality is more than what I have at home, so confused as to why you would be disappointed for the price you're paying. Longest we had to wait one morning was only 15mjns.
The main receptionist lady was sometimes a bit pushy in offering particular services around Hoi An but you don't let it get to you. At the end of the day you are in Vietnam...its what you expect.
If you're looking for cheap accommodation but want good value this is the place to go!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a good hotel...if you don't need great service to complete your stay. The rooms are big, clean and a good price and the pool was a great reprieve from the heat. Also, you couldn't ask for a better location. While the staff weren't rude, they weren't exactly jumping up to help you either. I wouldn't let this discourage you unless you're the type of person who really utilises the hotel staff to help you find good things around the area to do etc. We were perfectly happy to make our own way around and do our own thing so this didn't really bother us at all. That said, they will get things fixed if anything goes wrong. All in all, I'd stay again for the price and what you get for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An Hoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Hoi Hotel

Address: 69 Nguyen Phuc Chu Str., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your An Hoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Hoi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.