We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel but skip their laundry service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of An Hoi Hotel

Save Saved
You added An Hoi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
An Hoi Hotel
69 Nguyen Phuc Chu Str., Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 77 hotels in Hoi An
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OK hotel but skip their laundry service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in one of their cheapest rooms on the 2nd (3rd for Americans) floor towards the back of the hotel. It was clean and spacious with a large bathroom with tub/shower and shower curtain (often missing in budget hotels in this part of the world.) AC and cieling fan functioned well and our room had a tiny private balcony. The breakfast was fine...but note that if you order a ham and cheese omelet it will be about half the size of the onion and tomato. Also, note that the milk they serve with the lipton tea is sweetened so adjust accordingly :)
Location was fine. Just two minutes walk from restaurants and the foot bridge over to the old part of Hoi An. We would have been perfectly happy to stay here longer, but left after 3 nights (half way through our trip) because we found a comparable place for $10/night cheaper.
Two bits of advice:
1) The hotel staff consistently come across as being annoyingly nosey about your schedule and interestes..."where are you going?" "what do you want to do in Hoi An?" "Are you going to have some clothes tailored?" etc. etc. We have read and observed that this is the norm everywhere in Hoi An, they want to recommend certain tours, tailors etc to you so that they will receive a commission. I always just smiled and said "that's my concern and not yours" and that usually ended the interrogation.
2) Avoid doing laundry at this hotel, if you do have them take care of your laundry be very clear about the services you agree to! My wife and I dropped off 4 kg which the gentleman at the front desk agreed to have laundered for $1/kg. There was one sweater that needed to be handwashed and I asked if they would also iron my two collared shirts and a pair of trousers -he agreed with no mention of a price increase. 4 hours later the regular front desk attendant (a lady) asked me to go ahead and pay for the laundry. I refused (I never pay in advance for laundry, in case they damage something) but in the course of the conversation she explained that $1/Kg was for washing ONLY and did not include drying the clothes or ANY ironing! I refused, argued with them, and ended up getting our clothes back un-laundered. Housekeeping at our second hotel was more than happy to do it for $1/kg...including drying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    77
    56
    25
    11
See reviews for
17
83
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vienna
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We liked this little hotel. We arrived at 5. am by the night train, and we were allowed to check in! Thanks for that!

It's in a great location, just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An.The rooms were clean and tidy, good value for money. However the room was quite shumid, there were raindrops coming from the ceiling (after turning on the AC this was not a problem any more)
The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent english. We were very satisfied with the laundry service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

An Hoi Hotel is a fine place to stay in Hoi An. Room was large, minimal furnishings (no desk or table for laptop). Very small balcony (large enough for one person to stand on). Breakfast was good (the pancakes were very interesting; I guess they were Hoi An style, because they were different from the usual). Breakfast area is nice, and overlooks the street. Hotel is in a good area, easily walk to anything in town, while still have little traffic around. Hotel rents bicycles at a very cheap price. Hotel also has a private car for airport runs. Pool was clean (not green with algae as reported in another review..I guess they cleaned it). Pool is rather small, but big enough for a few people at a time.

Room Tip: rooms closer to the lobby MAY have better wireless reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We loved this little hotel. It's in a great location, just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and quiet and friendly. The rooms were clean and tidy and we were surprised about what you got for the money! The staff were fantastic too...very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent english.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

An Hoi Hotel was a great plac for us to stay in Hoi An. Right on the river you are a 2 minute walk to the town centre and only minutes away from the bars, restaurants and night market that are along the river bed.
Our room was basic and clean and although we didnt have a balcony (we where on the ground floor) the room was bright enough. Plus we didnt go to Hoi An to view it from our hotel!
The pool was clean and had great sunshine over lunch time. A real sun trap. No body seemed to use the pool so we had it to ourselves.
Breakfast was light but satisfying, you have a choice of 1 drink and 1 meal. Selections included, fresh fruit with yogurt and honey, banana pancakes, vege omlettes or meat omlettes, toast and jam etc..... You could add more for a small price if you wanted more.
The staff were extremley friendly and helpful and although when you initially arrive they do the standard Hoi An 'my friends a tailor' routine they arn't pushy.
Wifi is accessable across the whole hotel with an excellent coverage. (At least in our room it was!)
We hired bikes for $1 and cycled to the beach that took about 20 minutes. Flat roads so was very pleasent.
If I had one complaint it would be that the water in the shower wasn't warm but after a hot day it wasn't too bad. Just dont cool down in the aircon too long before getting in!
The hotel manager arranged our 6am taxi to the airport and was there on time for only $15.
I would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Margarita
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel An Hoi enjoys a great location just across the river from main part of the old town and is just steps away from great restaurants and bars.
Staff at the front desk speak excellent English and have been very friendly and outgoing and not pushy about any tailors, tours or other ways to get Dong out of the pocket as is the norm in many tourist destinations in Vietnam.
Rooms are large and airy with good aircon and ceiling fan and most have nice big, ensuite bathrooms with ample hot water altho the bath in the room I am in (rm.306) is a bit small especially if it was for two persons but for one person it is acceptable. My friend has room 304 which has a balcony and the bath is much larger and has a tub.
Rooms and bathrooms are spotless and cleaned daily, Beds are comfy for a good nights sleep.
The only complaints are the minifridge in the room has not worked since arrival in spite of notifying the reception nothing has been done about it in four days but cold drinks are available in the lobby.
Also, the wifi sometimes does not work in the room but one can go down the hall and sit one the veranda overlooking the pool for better reception.
All things considered, I find the An Hoi to be a good deal for the price at $20 including breakfast for a single room. It seems the price for a double with a queen sized bed is available for the same price if you bargain.
Hoi An is a beautiful city but has gobs of tourists and the touts and street vendors become a little annoying after a few days.

Room Tip: Rooms 301, 303, 305 have windows looking out to the pool. Rooms 306 and 310 have large windows look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

An hoi hotel is on great location, has a great staff. Only thing we didnt like was lady on reception because she was a bit anoying with talking us to go to tailor. Rooms are very clean, staff is really trying to please you and they are very frendly. Only problem that i had with hotel was that i booked it over one web site and then i came to hotel. Next day i got an email from site saying that i didnt showed up. Then i showed an email to reception and made a complain to web site and we all agreed that it was someones mistake. Now i just need to wait will they charge my credit card. If that happens i will report you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to An Hoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Hoi Hotel

Address: 69 Nguyen Phuc Chu Str., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 77 hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your An Hoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Hoi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.