We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange hotel experience in Samarkand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamila

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Samarkand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kamila
Save
You added Hotel Kamila to your Saves list
Artema Street, 26, Samarkand, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Samarkand
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Strange hotel experience in Samarkand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here for two nights during an eight day trp to Uzbekistan. When we arrived, the main Kamila hotel seemed to be full so we were driven to a nearby street and put up in a complex which seemed to be a semi-complete addition they use for overflow when the main hotel fills up. The outside of the buildings looked nice but the room was tiny with no airconditioning and the bathroom was difficult to even get into it was so small! There was also insects in the bathroom which suggests they don't clean very well. The shower was terrible - virtually no water pressure whatsoever which was unlike any of the other hotels I stayed in Uzbekistan. Also had trouble sleeping as people kept talking downstairs in the central courtyard at all hours of night. Strangely some elements of the hotel were quite nice - the breakfast area was a large dining room very well furnished and breakfast itself was quite good. The whole place felt a little odd - it was like the owners had taken over some expensive villa and started to convert into a hotel but wasn't quite ready for use by guests. The location is pretty bad too - luckily my group had a driver to take us to dinner etc as there is nothing within three kms of the place. Would recommend people stay away from this hotel as there is clearly better value and quality available in Samarkand.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Its location is very good and you not need to hire taxi to visit places around old city. i used walk to all important places including Ragistan. Owners are friendly and one boy and a young girl at office where they take your passport are very helpful for finding cheaper taxi back to vozgal. It was nice and good expereince.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I still havent been there. But I wanted to warn people. I had booked for hotel Malika and there internet reservation is handled by a bunch of psychos called Adventour. They confirm my reservation April 15, then suddenly a MONTH later I get an email saying they have no rooms in Malika and that they can give me a room in Hotel Kamila. From reading the other reviews it looks like this is some game they play with most people and it should stop.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I can't say enough good things about the family who run this hotel. They were very accommodating when I needed extra pillows to support my bad back, cheerfully providing a range of 5 different types of pillow. The young man (about 13) who works most with the foreign visitors spoke a range of languages and could teach customer service lessons. The service was outstanding.

My room (22) was comfortable and immaculate and I loved the wood carving at the windows. The bed was just right for my bad back, especially with the extra pillows.

The location may not be as central as other hotels, but I loved the entrance off a small side street and the feeling of staying as a guest in a family home.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

We were supposed to stay at Malika, but there was a mix up with bookings and we ended up here. The hotel was ok but nothing special. The room was clean but basic, and the hotel was quite pleasant with rooms arranged around two courtyards. Even given the obvious language barriers, I found the staff very unfriendly - no-one could be bothered to look up when you entered the hotel let alone say hello. The location wasn't great - quite a walk from the sights. All in all, not a bad place to stay but there are better located hotels for the same money

  • Liked — Clean but basic rooms
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff and location
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Kamila. Our room - No. 3 - was very basic, as was our bathroom, but sufficient. The weather was on the edge of needing an air conditioner, and our air conditioning unit didn't immediately seem to work - so we didn't bother. The place itself was anything but generic, and the staff showed such great pleasure at helping us. The owner couldn't speak English, but one of his young employees (also a relative, I believe) could, so he made sure this young man spent a long time talking to my husband. Kamila is the name of the owner's young granddaughter. Our breakfast was served on an "ihvan" (reminded me of the big opium beds in China where you sit cross-legged or with your legs curled up underneat you) just outside our room. We enjoyed our breakfasts here! When we left, the owner presented me with a small teacup. We felt very welcome here.

  • Liked — The warm reception we had, throughout our stay.
  • Disliked — Shower head needed to be handheld.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamila

Address: Artema Street, 26, Samarkand, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Samarqand Province > Samarkand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Samarkand
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Hotel Kamila Samarkand, Asia - Uzbekistan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.