We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was the only positive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zarina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zarina to your Saves list
Hotel Zarina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Umarova Str., Samarkand, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Samarkand
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location was the only positive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The only real plus is it's location (which is just across the road from the registan)

My main gripe is with the bathroom as:
(1) The water temparature never got above a luke warm
(2) Water was leaking from somewhere near the toilet
(3) The shower is against the wall without any enclosure or shower base, so the whole bathroom gets wet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
6
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel was great, I stayed here for three nights in which I enjoyed my stay very much. The rooms were simple , very clean with television,mini- refrigerator,Shower-bath, bathroom soaps/shampoos.The entrance to the hotel is a courtyard with antiques abound with a small pool .Entering the complex is like a elaborant home tastefully decorated as you go towards the rooms. The breakfast is included in the rates which were quite reasonable.They serve the breakfast/meals in a cellar room decorated with old artifacts quite interesting. The location of the hotel is a little hard to find as its surrounded by run-down Soviet Apartment Complexes,however the hotel is just a block away from The Registan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

hotel zarina in the best place of samarkand price is ok room is perfect i loved you can walk in registan and gur emir bibi khanim shakhi zinda hotel zarina is centre of old city hotel is very nice i will come next time again

Room Tip: i will be stay always in hotel zarina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I came in a tour and we all had completely different rooms. I started off in a fairly normal international standard room but an older couple on the tour asked to swap and I found myself in a single-bed room with TV with a spiral staircase leading up to a large twin-bed room upstairs. Full of character. The TV didn't work properly but it didn't matter as the room was fun. Some others in our tour got a suite including lounge and huge bedroom while others had unexceptional rooms. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: See my comments above. All kinds of rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is in the best location, just a couple of minutes' walk from the main Registan Square. It is a family-run guesthouse, very nice people, with traditional-style dining room and divans in the courtyard.. My room was fine, with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. However, some of our small group were put in the "annexe", just across a small lane, where the rooms were rather dreary, with no outlook.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

1. The best thing about this place is its location. It's two minutes walk from the registan and at evening you can easily get to the nice fountain and long boulevard in a minute walk.

2. The room I got was big and nicely decorated as most uzbekistans mid range hotels, except for:
A. Bad bathroom, only warm no hot water. Poor sink and old toilet.
B. air conditioner unable to adjust to a specific temp. Thus it's either turned either on or off.
C. No inside room wi fi, though in the lobby garden works fine.

3. Nice breakfast with a buffet unlike all other places in the country.

4. I would recommend trying to find another hotel in the same street but I haven't seen one walking here so maybe the location wins it all, cause its really great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights, and had a twin room. The room was very small, and seeing the tears in the walls and the bathroom, it looked like there is barely maintenance in this hotel. There was a television which probably is museum-worthy. The hotel is very near the registan, but is located itself in a somewhat ugly backstreet. We found some snack joints nearby, but no restaurants, these were all 3 kilometers away. So in the evening you are more or less confined to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zarina

Address: 4, Umarova Str., Samarkand, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Samarqand Province > Samarkand
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Samarkand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zarina 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarina Hotel Samarkand
Hotel Zarina Samarkand, Asia - Uzbekistan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.