We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asia Samarkand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Asia Samarkand Hotel to your Saves list
Asia Samarkand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kosh Khovuz St., 50, Samarkand 140100, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Samarkand
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Location...Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As of this review, the picture above is NOT of this hotel … I have included a picture of this property
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is a tour group hotel during the season and the hotel does a good job of catering to that business. It has a great location with about a 10 minute walk from Registan Square.

It is a medium sized hotel that has grown over the years by adding multiple two story buildings as they have acquired additional property.

The rooms are nice sized, the A/C works well but the bathrooms are dimly illuminated. We found the beds are hard (a mattress on a wooden platform) and the sheets don’t fit well.

Be aware there are no elevators so be ready to carry your own bags since tour groups overwhelm the bell staff.

The hotel restaurant has a wide selection at breakfast of wonderful foods…always something for everyone (including the ubiquitous instant coffee).

There is intermittent free WiFi in lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
30
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

By central Asia standards, this hotel is above average. Excellent location near to where you want to be as a tourist, including the market which is worth a visit. Friendly staff, wifi in the lobby, a decent breakfast, comfortable bed, hot shower and generally clean. The hotel caters mainly for tours. The dining room looked rather uninviting so we had dinner in a restaurant right opposite the Registan which was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I looked at a couple of nearby hotels in Samarkand before picking this one, and it was far better than the other two. The rooms are clean but small. Mine was on the ground floor, and there was quite a lot of noise from the street, plus the walls are thin, so I'd get woken up early by the cleaners outside. Having said that, the location is absolutely perfect, just outside the Registan, and I really enjoyed my stay - actually stayed a couple of nights longer than planned. I have no complaints about the service - laundry service was cheap and efficient, staff were helpful, tea delivered to rooms for a very low cost. As with almost all hotels in Uzbekistan, don't pay in advance if you can possibly help it - if you wait until arrival, change your money in the market and pay in local currency, you'll make a huge saving. Guide books explain this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel is in an amazing location to wander the sites of Samarkand like the Registan. In a quiet street with nice grounds and pool.
However, the hotel itself is a bit dated and faded, but nothing too bad by Central Asian standards. The counter staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Near the pool would be the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We had booked this hotel a month in advance. We got the confirmation too. About a week before our travelling date, they cancled our booking because THEY WANTED TO ACCOMODATE BIGGER GROUP, EVEN THOUGH THIS BIG DIDN'T HAVE ANY KIND OF RESERVATION. We had to look for another hotel for first 2 nights and last night we stayed at this Asia Hotel. TV volume was too loud in reception area so we couldn't sleep. Second thing was food, they do big talks that they serve international and Uzbek food but they are lieing. They serve only Uzbek food and only one dish in the dinner. Breakfast was very very bad. First 2 nights we stayed at Malika Prime and it was amazing everything there. I recomend Malika Prime but not Asia Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed 3 nights with a group. Main advantage: close to the Registan.
In a dead-end street - difficult for the bus to enter and leave.
Poor lighting in the lobby, old fashioned.
Small room, small and bad designed bathroom. Killed at least three/four cockroaches during our stay. Hard matresses.
Staff unfriendly and very bad service and cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, uzbekistan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stayed in Asia Samarkand for 6 night to conduct training and found this hotel very pleasent to deal with. Rooms were specious enough, room service was great. Matresses were comfy. There was WIFE availbale in lobby of hotel, which I used every night. Satelite TV. Buffet breakfast with few options to choose from. Since I am uzbek citizen I payed only 20 USD per night , but I saw that walk in rates are much higher for forienghers. Regarding training facilities it was big enourg room for twent participants, cofee breaks were on time with huge selection of snaks. Hotel staff was very helpfull in all our inquaries. P.S. Hotel has disco bar in down floor and sauna. Defenetly will stay in this hotel again if will be in Samarkand.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Asia Samarkand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Samarkand Hotel

Address: Kosh Khovuz St., 50, Samarkand 140100, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Samarqand Province > Samarkand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Samarkand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Asia Samarkand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Asia Samarkand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Samarkand Hotel Uzbekistan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asia Samarkand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.