We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy birthday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Lousy birthday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Another birthday, another destination. Results could not have been different.
The hotel is quite new, so the general state of maintenance is good. Can´t comment on the pools or pool bar or service since it was a very cold winter. Price is average but they are severely understaffed, resulting in nobody to welcome you and tell you where to go, line at reception desk, no possibilities of early check in or late check out, long waiting at the bar, weak service at dinner, plates piling up in your table at breakfast and etc. Last but not least: swamps of kids everywhere, lots of noise while having breakfast, lunch, tea or dinner and of course it's hard to sleep with so much noise in the corridors and adjacent rooms.
Rooms are good, food is good though expensive, wines and drinks are expensive though not always good. And taxis to the city are expensive too (Ur$ 20, Arg $ 30, U$ 8)
Overall experience: won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    149
    51
    22
    12
See reviews for
135
187
9
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NY, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We chose this hotel because it was a Sheraton and the price was right. Additionally, this seemed to be the only property in the area with a pool and places to relax. It's a five minute drive from downtown Colonia, which is a really charming little town.

You definitely need to rent a car if you're staying at this hotel. We weren't planning on renting a car but changed our minds when we arrived off the boat. It only costs about $50 per day to get a car, so that's not a big deal. It made our trip a lot more convenient.

Back to the hotel... typical Sheraton -- big with nice rooms. Good pool and exercise facilities if you're into that. There's free parking and a golf course as well. Food and drinks are very expensive, even by hotel standards. Breakfast was just okay.

One small complaint is that we asked for a couple hours late checkout and didn't get it. This was the first time we've ever been turned down for a late checkout at ANY Starwood property ANYWHERE in the world. There was no explanation as to why and no attempt to make up for it.

On a similar note, the staff are a bit ditzy. This has nothing to do with the language, just a general inability to lucidly transact everyday services with guests.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed here for two days at the beginning of two weeks in Uruguay, and one day at the end of the trip.

The hotel site is gorgeous, indoor and out. The pools are lovely to look at, and are at varying temperatures (some people like that, some don't).

I found the staff to be incredibly helpful and genuine -- whether it was in helping with bus and rental car reservations, using the computer, buying things from the lobby store after hours, etc. The computers in the business center are free for unlimited use -- that was a real treat.

The restaurant food was good (some great, some less than good), but uniformly expensive. I know that food is expensive here, but this was too much. After one meal there we ordered room service from then on -- the veggie panini was really good, and the basil ice cream was incredible.

I agree with the other poster about the kids. They have a kids' club, but it seems kids are allowed to check in and out at will. The staff had to shoo the kids off the business computers so I could purchase my buquebus tickets, and the kids left behind cookies, etc. on the desk. That's an area that definitely needs to be addressed. We had our kids with us (ages 11 & 12), so it's not that we're anti-kid, it's just that they're badly supervised.

The location is not in the part of town that most people want to see. For an adventure we walked about 1 km (seemed longer in the heat) to the city bus stop and took the bus to the old town.

The beach they mention on the website is just a little gap in the reeds where you can walk in to the muddy river. Don't mistake it for Punta del Este. My kids loved it, but it didn't appeal to me.

I would definitely stay here again if I were in this part of the world. The staff was just lovely and the hotel is beautiful. The sunsets are stunning, too.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

After a tour in Argentina and Chile we decided to visit Uruguay too. Punta del Este seemed crowded, so we choose Sheraton in Colonia del Sacramento as a quieter place in a historical area.

The first impression of the hotel was nice-the building is impressive and the reception was very good. The pools looked attractive; the Spa amenities were nice too. The bell boy was more than kind...till he got his tip.
First look in the room, kind of dusty with dirty windows. The windows were dirty even in the lobby with bird droppings here and there. The bathroom was small and not at all practical. A long black hair was waiting on the tiles above the bathtub. The paper roll disposal was so close to the seat that I almost scratched my leg, even if I`m rather thin. What if you are fatter? The minibar had only one item of each, with only one small bottle of water, even if the room was a double one.( the difference in the pricing in comparison with the bar downstairs explained that fact)

If you have decided to work on your computer during your holidays, and you need Internet for that- this is not the place. The Internet is 15 US dollars/24h, unless you want to use their three PC disposed in a kind of small conference room across the reception desk. You have the choice between waiting for a PC in this room to get free or wait between 5 min. and 3 hours( not a joke) to get a page downloaded on your own laptop, which is only usable in the lobby as the signal doesn`t go to the rooms. I complained, but after a quick excuse, the receptionist became almost aggressive.(what a spoiled foreigner!)

The gardens around the swimming pool look great. They really are..on the left side of the pools. There is a small path ( on the right of the pools) leading to a small white sand beach, where locals were fishing. A small kiosk offers 2 massage beds that has been never used it seemed, as the path and the kiosk & beds were run down. Don`t think you will be able to swim anywhere else than in the pool, as the waters of the sea are brown because of the river-Rio de la Plata. It was kind of depressing. The swimming pool was busy with families with children. If you are looking for a romantic quiet place, change direction.

The transport: Uruguay is a very poor country but the prices ( for tourists) are 2 to 4 times higher than in Argentina or Chile. The taxis never apply the price shown by the taxi meter. They multiply by 4. Up to you to pay or refuse. Generally the driver is rather unhappy if you don`t leave him a tip on top of the quadruple price. The price I paid for the one kilometer drive between the center of Colonia and the hotel-one straight street was between 160 and 200 Ur. pesos( about 8-9 us dollars). The cars ....in many countries the drivers would loose their license for using a car in this condition.

The food: We had first two salads at the bar. Mistake. The salads had certainly been waiting for 1 or 2 days.I had to take clean silverwear from the closer table too . Hopefully the restaurant corrected this first impression in the evening with goog service and rahter nice plates.

General feeling: the second day of my stay I was wondering what I was still doing in that rip off country, with depressive views and bad services. The following day we were dashing towards Buenos Aires where the air was somehow easier to breathe....

  • Liked — some architectural details
  • Disliked — service, view, Internet...
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

My friend and I were staying in in Buenos Aires in Jan 2009 and were looking for a place to relax for a couple days with a pool, spa and a view. The city was very hot and humid that week. All the other resort options (Punte Este, Pinamar) were either farther than we wanted to travel, more than we wanted to spend or already booked. The Sheraton seemed to fit the needs.

The price was $185 on a weekday for a room with two beds. Wanted a non-smoking room but all were booked. Was very happy that I did not notice the smell of smoke in the room. The golf course view was pleasant. It's was a large room and was totally comfortable and attractive.

The series of pools, with the golf course on one side and the beach on the other, was a great place to relax. The pool staff is helpful with umbrellas and towels and moving chairs around.

Really liked that there were free computers to check your email in the business center. There is a gym with a wonderful view and first rate "Life Fitness" equipment. While I used the elliptical trainer, I watched humming birds feed on the flowers and could see the ships passing in the distance. There is a shared sauna and steam room in the spa. They put out the glass water dispensers that are filled with fresh fruit and ice water. The staff was super nice. No extra charge to use all this.

Was very happy the room was ready for us at 10:30 AM since the regular check in time was 3:00 PM. They were nice about holding our bags and we used the spa that afternoon for a couple hours until our boat left.

The food in the restaurant was fine. A breakfast buffet that included coffee and juice was only $10 US. The chicken cesar salad for lunch was good (about $14).

The hotel is about 5 miles away. About a $10 cab ride with a tip. The hotel was great because we did not have to travel far from the city and we had a good resort atmosphere with nice staff. It was attractive, a good value and we had a great time.

On warning is that it's possible to get a sun burn through the cloth on the pool umbrellas if you stay out long enough. Be careful.

  • Liked — It had what I wanted in a spa. The accomidations are attractive and a good value.
  • Disliked — Taking a cab to get to restaurants in town but not a big deal.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I´m justing returning from my second trip to Colonia. I stayed at this Sheraton for New Year´s Eve (summer) and now in July (winter).

I just can say that it is a great opition both if you want to relax in a honeymoon mood or you want to enjoy with your family. The service still good, the heated pool on the spa (wich you can use) is just one of the greatest I ever went. The bikes to get around are a fun idea (my stepsun loved it)...

Still loving the room and the great Sheraton beds.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

The Sheraton Colonia was a nice change of pace after Buenos Aires. The hotel is only a few years old and the rooms and design are quite nice. i agree with the reviews below that the restaurant was overpriced and disappointing. <it is annoying that there is no shuttle to town, a $8 cab ride each way. All in all a nice break though. We really like the pool, sauna, and spa.

Spend a few days here on any trip to BA. Take the express hydrofoil here.

  • Liked
  • Disliked — distance from town and so so restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort. A looking point over the calm beaches and soft breezes of this destination listed as World Heritage Site by Unesco due to its rich history.Nestled in the residential neighbourhood "Real de San Carlos", a peaceful area just 5 minutes from the historic quarter and harbor. Just 45 minutes from Buenos Aires by ferry, or a 2-hour drive from Montevideo, Uruguay´s capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Colonia Golf And Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Hotel
Colonia Del Sacramento Sheraton
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.