We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for relax and enjoy nature and sports.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place for relax and enjoy nature and sports.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

An unique resort by the Río de la Plata river, a few minutes away from the lovely and historical Colonia old town, at 2 hours by car from Montevideo and at only one hour by ship to Buenos Aires, that is right in front of Colonia, crossing the river. Excellent restaurants that offer complete breackfast, lunch and dinner services at international level and wonderful outdoor facilities with big swiming pools on a natural environment.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those with view to the river; from rooms on the highest floor you can also see Buenos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Colonia2014, Director of Sales at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Ricardo V,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon!

Looking forward to your contact.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    196
    63
    25
    14
See reviews for
188
221
9
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Unfortunately I was not able to spend the night at the hotel as me and and my friends stay in Buenos Aires, however, we had a great time during the few hours spent there. Some of us played at the golf course located on property, others decided to have some spa treatments and everything was superb. Our lunch was excellent and the service exceeded our expectation. The hotel is modern, beautifully designed and has a very nice area to relax and the warmth of the staff made everything even better.

I would love to stay at the hotel during my next visit and spend more time to use the facilities ti their potential.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Colonia2014, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear VeronicaJacobsen,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon and for a couple of nights!

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Family of four, stayed at the Sheraton Colonia in April, 8 nights split in two stays of 3 and 5 nights.

As a family we felt welcome from day one and all our needs were attended to in an efficient but very friendly manner. We arrived very tired after long flights and the staff across areas of the resort helped and really looked after us.

Our rooms were clean and offered best views of the River Plate, golf course and the pool area. The Real de San Carlos views of the river are just spectacular, with unforgettable sunsets.
The big windows take advantage of the great location.

Breakfast buffet style, just what you need to kick start the day, with a good choice of fruit,"bizcochos", breads, jams, cheeses and some cooked little dishes. Waiters and service relaxed but attentive. It gets busy during peak holiday periods and still the staff manage to serve you well and smile all the way.

The mini club is well equipped and run with a varied programme to keep the younger ones moving and active for hours. Our kids had a wonderful time during the Easter week, playing outdoor and indoor games.

The weather was changeable during our stay and that made the Sheraton all the more interesting, with incredible thunder storms developing over the river one night and the most beautiful blue skies with views of Buenos Aires across the estuary on other days. The spa and outdoor pools great. Golf, walks to inspire you with fab views of Colonia. Cycling for those with pedalling in mind... fishing...or just seat down with a book by the pool with nature all around.

Front desk and reservations departments dealt with our ever changing schedule in the most efficient and accommodating way, 5 star service! So grateful.

We certainly look forward to visiting Sheraton Colonia again, a great resort in the beautiful city of Colonia.

We commend the management for the delivery of quality service with charm and no fuss.
Great job. Thank you again.

Any questions? Just ask the friendly and well informed front desk/concierge staff and they will go the extra mile to assist.

Thank you Sheraton for a really pleasant stay!

Room Tip: High floor rooms with River Views are a treat if you are ready for the awesome River Plate, still, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCol, Director of Sales at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear 08Nic008,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon!

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent two night in October. The hotel installation are great but the food was a disaster and expensive. We took the "buffet" menu in big restaurante and the food was horrible. In the night we dinner in the lobby bar the children menu was excellent compare with the restaurant. We dinner the two night there with the children's menu.
Is not near to the city of Colonia and they don't have free transportation. We played Golf and the course is very nice. The SPA is the best that the hotel have, but is not cheap. We took classic massage and Vine therapy for couples. The breakfast was poor too, I found a hear in the bread. The food feel that is not from the day. Really very expensive hotel and very bad experience. I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCol, Director of Sales at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Yamila T,

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to write these lines about your experience at our hotel.

We regret that our service did not meet your expectations and wanted to ask you to send us to reservas.colonia @ sheraton.com a telephone number where we can contact you with the aim you can tell us more about the problems that occurred during stay.

Again we apologize for not having provided the expected service.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We needed a break and had a great time at sheraton colonia. We went without our child and used both the open and closed pool. The staff were great and very friendly, they were helpful and took care of our needs. We had a room with a pool view. Lovely! There was a pretty decent buffet breakfast, not included in the rate but offered for a decent price. They also have a program for children! We might go back with our son.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Adrita,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon!

Looking forward to your contact.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We came over from Buenos Aires for a quick visit to Colonia and chose the Sheraton based on what appeared to be a beautiful pool and grounds but boy were we disappointed. Not typically being Sheraton brand people we didn't have a lot of options in this area and this stay did not enhance my opinion of Sheratons in general. The hotel is a great design, but the hallway carpets were in need of vacuuming and gave you an immediate perception of a hotel lacking cleanliness. The rooms are typically sized with small bathrooms with two chairs and a decent desk. The room itself appeared to be for the most part clean. The bar area is nice, as is the lobby and adjacent common areas. The room prices are completely out of line with the product provided, with no breakfast included and spa access extra. The staff seem pleasant although few speak English, but what is really disappointing is the pool area. The pool itself was filthy with debris on the bottom of the pool and floating. The well worn wood decking surrounding the pool had weeds growing up through the boards, and in general the pool area was shabby--a far cry from the appearance on the website photos! There are many loungers but only the wood loungers in the covered area have lounger pads with all of the loungers surrounding the pool lacking pads which made for uncomfortable sunning. We also had an issue with flies constantly on us causing us to leave the pool early. The grounds and the golf course are nice other than the pool although we did not play golf. The beach and dunes make for a nice walk but due to the dirty brown color of the water it is not necessarily a beautiful scenic beach. Bottom line is this is a very average hotel with a below average pool area in a not-so-great location off the beaten path that I do not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director of Sales at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Scotty:

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to write these lines about your experience at our hotel.

We regret that our service did not meet your expectations and wanted to ask you to send us to reservas.colonia @ sheraton.com a telephone number where we can contact you with the aim you can tell us more about the problems that occurred during stay.

Again we apologize for not having provided the expected service.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have visited the Sheraton-Colonia on many occasions. This time my overall evaluation is "Average", as they are missing the opportunity to "make a difference" between them and other hotels of the region. The basic staff deliver a pretty good service, with the exception of the Housekeeping Department. In this case, they lack the know-how to ammend mistakes by speaking to the guest(s) and apoligizing. As simple as that. But their problema that is doing a great harm to their reputation is the attitude of their management, who do not apply the most important hotel management practice: "MBWA - Managing by Wandering Around". There was not a single occasion when a manager approached us (or any other guests according to my observations) to introduce her/himself, and discover our feelings about the hotel´s performance by posing 2 or 3 simple questions, such as "Will you return" - "Are you willing to recommend us".
Removing this practice has been an unfortunate decisión. On my part, this was my last visit.

Room Tip: Always make sure to reserve a De Luxe room facing the River Plate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Tom,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are really sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we would be grateful if you could send us a telephone number where we can contact you to reservas.sheraton@sheraton.com

Looking forward to your contact.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort. A looking point over the calm beaches and soft breezes of this destination listed as World Heritage Site by Unesco due to its rich history.Nestled in the residential neighbourhood "Real de San Carlos", a peaceful area just 5 minutes from the historic quarter and harbor. Just 45 minutes from Buenos Aires by ferry, or a 2-hour drive from Montevideo, Uruguay´s capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Colonia Golf Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Golf And Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Hotel
Colonia Del Sacramento Sheraton
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.