We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 Star Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not a 5 Star Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It is a nice place, mainly for gulf activities but the service is for sure not of a 5 Star Resort.
I had chosen this Resort (far from the Colonia Historic Center) only because they have special rooms for old people and would have also wheelchair available, but arriving there I found out that the entire Resort has only ONE WHEELCHAIR that was busy of course. I was with my 82 years old mother that can't walk long distances and had difficulty with the distances to walk. The front desk just gave me a phone number of a clinic in town that I could rent one wheelchair and had to went up there (only working days is opened) to rent an get it. There was no service for me to solve the problem. In other opportunity we planned to visited Buenos Aires and the hotel presented to us the all service we could buy - to come to the end of the all history the tickets of the boat arrived after the departure hour. The service in the bar and in the restaurant was very poor. The tennis court technically speaking doesn't exist. I was completely desappointed with Sheraton Group.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are really sorry that the service at our hotel did not meet your expectations and we would be grateful if you could send us to reservas.colonia@sheraton.com a telephone number to contact you in order to ask you more details about the inconveniences during your stay.

We apologize for not offering the service expected and we look forward to talk to you soon.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    151
    52
    22
    12
See reviews for
138
187
9
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Sheraton Colonia is a beautiful piece of property on the banks of the Rio de la Plata. My wife and I checked in for one evening as a getaway while on vacation in Buenos Aires. The hotel is located about 3 miles away from the historic center of Colonia, but a mere 220 Uruguayan peso ($10 US) cab ride. The hotel has a very modern design, with a four story glass atrium overlooking the lobby and providing views to the first hole and the river just outside.
The staff is very polite and professional, Valeria at the front desk is a doll and Karen at the lobby bar is a sweetheart. We are SPG members and we were upgraded to a premium room, with separate sitting areas and an office, and a patio which overlooked the beach and river. The Sweet Sleeper Beds were their usual comfortable selves. The free internet and breakfast were nice touches too.
There are bikes you can borrow and ride out to the abandoned bullring (not worth seeing) and a few small museums (if you do not understand Spanish…skip them). There are tons of dining options in the historical center of the city. The food and drinks served in the lobby bar pretty good too.
We didn't really want to check out. I am sure during the peak season this place is abuzz with vacationing Argentinians and Uruguayans…I would recommend a stay here to anyone in the area.

Room Tip: Do not use the hop on hop off tourism bus...at $25 with seven stops it just simply is not worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Trevor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in Colonia.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were here for business about a week in February.

The golf grounds, pools and beach access are all lovely. The outdoor seating area is comfortable. The spa and fitness center were quiet, clean, and very well appointed. There is technically food, coffee and booze available. The rooms are typical, clean, nothing to write home about.

Those are the nicest things I can say about Shera-tone Colonia. This is not a place for English speaking tourists. The front desk is dumbfounded by the requests of "I'd like a copy of my folio" and "can you please connect me to the telephone in the room of Mr. Smith?"

There are 2 elevators, on separate recall systems. One will fly right past you and there are no stairs to bypass this frustration unless you push past the sign that says "Employees Only, No Access." You have to push both buttons, stand in the middle and hope you see the doors open before someone pushes the close button inside. There is literally a kid's camp on the entire bottom floor, so unattended minors are in the elevators and screaming down the halls.

Service in the bar is reluctant and slow.

So yeah, probably a really great place for a family on vacation who likes to golf and speaks Spanish. It was not a happy time for me.

Room Tip: 1st floor you have stairway access The Suites are the most expansive Suites I've seen in simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you liked the hotel and its environment. However, we are really sorry that you had to go through all that inconveniences and we are working on each topic in order to improve our service.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Modern hotel and lobby. Very spacious rooms with beautiful views, comfortable beds and pillows, and ample bathrooms. The Spa and gym are very complete. We really enjoyed our yoga and gym classes, the swimming pool, the tennis court and the family bingo!!! An entertainer took care of the younger ones, organized pool games, activities in the playroom and took them fishing.
Excellent breakfast and dinner!
Very competent staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Gloria,

Thank you for taking this time to write these comments.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I parked my car on the parking lot, which is very big and free and entered the lobby. The loby was breathtaking, the service was excellent. The rooms were very big and as was the bathroom that was also very modern. The beds were very big and comfortable. The Gym was ver big, modern and complete. When i stayed at the hotel the inside pool was broken because of a storm so i couldn't use it. The outside pool is not very deep so its difficult to swim but is very big which is good because the hotel is always full.
The breakfast is very good although is very expensive and the food from the restaurant is razonable cut there are good offers.
The building is lovely, very modern.
The wifi does not work well on the loby and for having internet on the room you need to pay a high price.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the golf are less noisy, cheaper and have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Juancho:

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are glad to read that you liked the hotel and its arquitecture and decoration.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed over night at this hotel on our way from Buenos Aires to Montevideo. The pool area is beautiful and makes the stay enjoyable. It's better to have a car to get to this hotel otherwise they have a deal with a taxi company that charges $11 (about 200 pesos) to get you to town every time.
The rooms are quite spacious and bright.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you for feedback about you stay at our hotel.

We are glad that you liked our hotel, specially the pool area and the rooms.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything you would expect from the Sheraton chain and not much else. For as new as it is, the whole place looks a little beat up. Watch out for the warped wood flooring in main lobby area! It is located outside of the city in a building housing area. Avoid the rooms on the city end of the building - the rooms facing the river will overlook the roof of the building below.We stayed over a long weekend and the 'resort' was full of families and kids. If you want a bench or chair poolside, go early and stake something out. Golf course was good enough, very few players while we were there. We did not use any of the spa services. We will return to Colonia, but have already located somewhere to stay that is better fit for us.

Room Tip: Higher floors, nothing facing the river on the city end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Oldtravelinggolfer,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you liked our golf course.

Although, we are really sorry to know you found our building and the view not as good as expected. We wish we could have surprised you in a positive way as a Sheraton.

We look forward to receiving you again during your next visit to Colonia del Sacramento.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort. A looking point over the calm beaches and soft breezes of this destination listed as World Heritage Site by Unesco due to its rich history.Nestled in the residential neighbourhood "Real de San Carlos", a peaceful area just 5 minutes from the historic quarter and harbor. Just 45 minutes from Buenos Aires by ferry, or a 2-hour drive from Montevideo, Uruguay´s capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Colonia Golf And Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Hotel
Colonia Del Sacramento Sheraton
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.