We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Colonia and Uruguay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
587 helpful votes 587 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Colonia and Uruguay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

We stayed here twice. Once for one night before going to Punta del Estes, where we were scheduled to stay 5 nights. We left Punta after two nights, and returned to the peace and tranquility of Colonia and the Sheraton for our last three days in Uruguay.
The hotel is beautiful, we were upgraded to a two room suite the second stay, which was magnificent.
The front desk staff and bell boys are fantastic, especially Christian.
Great pool area, nice looking golf course, located in a quiet, safe area only three miles from downtown, which is equally as quiet and safe.
The hotel's only fault is a weak, non existent restaurant manager, and there are a number of issues with the restaurant, which could all be easily solved with better management.
If you are visiting Argentina, and want to include Uruguay, as we did by flying in and then hiring a car and driving from Colonia to Montevideo and then Punta, DON'T!
Take the express Buquebus (as opposed to the slow boat) from downtown Buenos Aires (I believe it takes less than an hour) to Colonia. Take a $6 taxi to the Sheraton and spend two, three or four days here, with visits to the old town and it's restaurants and shopping.
We found nothing in Montevideo or Punta that enhanced our trip, spend the extra time in Argentina, which has far more to offer, and leave Punta for the rich upper class from Argentina who are seeking a summer beach vacation in a rental apartment. (Punta is a tired, jaded version of the Ft Lauderdale Spring Break of yesteryear.)

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    169
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
165
198
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We spent XMAS Eve at the Sheraton in Colonia and we recommend this property. We attended their XMAS Eve show, which featured an Argentine band that played American rockabilly music and they did an outstanding job of it (their mimicking of CCR's John Fogerty and artists of this genre of music was uncanny). As for the hotel: the food is good, and the rooms are new and well maintained. The hotel has a curved pool, not heated as best as I could tell, and an outdoor hot tub. A spa is adjacent to the property. The spa is very nice and contains an indoor heated pool which extends out of the hotel exterior, serving as a second outdoor hot tub. We saw a manicured golf course, but as we don't play the game, I cannot rate it. The town of Colonia is about 3 miles away and offers a beautiful river-view vista and tree-lined streets filled with Spanish colonial-style structures and stores. A couple of things for the non-South American traveler to remember: Numero Uno, Colonia is located one-hour away from Argentina and accordingly, most visitors to Colonia hail from this country (some Argentines actually live in Uruguay and commute from here to their country's capital). The rest are tourists who are visiting Buenos Aires and maybe Punta del Este, and are traveling to Colonia to see "something different." Don't expect spicy food - it's not on the menue in this part of the world. Numero Dos: The Sheraton has a spa, but children are not discouraged from staying here as they might be at a similar property in the USA or Europe, where spa guests usually don't take the kids. I think it would be unthinkable for family-minded Latins to visit a property like the Sheraton sans the wife and kids. Don't stay here (or in any South American spa) if you want an absolutely quiet, kid-free experience. The children-guests were boisterous but friendly and behaved; not the sort to object or make you feel uncomfortable if you asked them to keep the noise down a bit. Numero Tres: the staff is polite and mostly bilingual, and they do their job. But are not dedicated to keeping you happy. Getting something done might take longer than you would otherwise expect. For example: we reserved two seats at the XMAS Eve event at check-in, through the concierge in the afternoon. When it came time to attend the event a few hours later, the staff controlling entry to the ballroom told us "everything was sold out," and that we should have booked our tickets days earlier, as part of a package, rather than through the concierge. My wife & I stood our ground, rejecting two seats at an impromptu table placed next to the amplifiers, and held out until we were given seats at a well-located table. Likewise, services like a request for your bill or coffee at breakfast can take the staff a half-hour to comply. But we are used to this and we recognize that no location is perfect. We recommend the Sheraton in Colonia, especially for Buenos Aires-based tourists who want to see a slice of small town life in a bucolic setting.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

Sheraton Colonia was a welcome respite from Buenos Aires.

The town of Colonia is an hour ferry ride across the Rio de la Plata and I couldn't see a thing on the ferry due to the low fog layer. It made me think about how these huge ferry accidents can occur.

It cost $6 US to take a taxi from the ferry terminal a few miles to the hotel.

The hotel was nearly empty of guests on a Wednesday night in June. I was staying on a Starwood Preferred Guest Cash & Points stay for 2,800 points and $45. This was a great deal considering a paid room was about $180 after tax.

My room was a full two room suite. The master bedroom had a large shower and tub and double sink. There was a flat screen wall mounted TV and an office space. Lots of stone decor in the bathroom and office area. A large patio provided wonderful views of the golf course, outdoor pools, and Rio de la Plata was about 100 meters away. At night it was nice to lay in bed with the curtains open and look at the navigation lights on the river.

The second room had a leather couch, chair, dining table, kitchen pantry, and bathroom. Both rooms had walk-in closets.

The hotel looks new and i believe it opened around 2002. There was a conference center on one side of the hotel with art gallery in the hall. The restaurant food was delicious and the prices were low by American standards which is not always the case in South American upscale hotels. Service was attentive and every need I had was quickly attended to throughout the stay. I honestly think there were more hotel staff than guests during my visit.

I did not use the spa services, but I did use the indoor/outdoor pool accessed located in the spa area. It was absolutely incredible to be floating outside in a heated pool, listening to all the song birds, as a cold breeze passed across my head.

I was enchanted with the variety of birds in the vicinity of the hotel. The area around the hotel is currently undergoing construction of a major housing development around the golf course. I was glad I visited when I did. The development might improve the overall area around the hotel or might not. The hotel is a little ways out of town, a bit far for a walk, and there are no other places to eat aside from the hotel.

The Sheraton Colonia Spa Resort was the highlight of the hotel stays on my South American trip and I heartily recommend this property to anyone in Buenos Aires who wants a change of scene.

  • Liked — Quietness
  • Disliked — Need transportation to go to town tourist area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Tranquil location...few miles from downtown Colonia. Having left Monteviedo on the beginning of a 2500 km. drive, arriving tired, going up the incorrect driveway, (not clearly marked) we were greeted by a delightful bell man. Upon check in, again, great staff in Karona...with explanation of the hotel. The view onto the river Rio de la Plata across to Buenos Aries, fantastic.

Onward to dinner and some of the worst service in any restaurant, given by HUGO. He left us to set for 45 minutes. (we did see him the next day downtown working at another restaurant) The food was questionable. Shall I add that this is an upscale restaurant. The children talking very loudly, walking very fast, and playing in the restaurant.... as there parents sat, watched and drank! The old town of Colonia is really delightful with some great restaurants, of all price category. Old town, El Torreon is very good and overlooking the river.

This is a GOLF and SPA RESORT not a children's play ground. I was mistaken, when the next day we are at the pools... spacious pool, bar service, and more children running about, not walking and nor disciplined. Even with the "babysitting" service that is available, and used the children were still allowed to misbehave. (for those of you questing... should children be allowed to play. Certainly, yet at the same time with the cost of a GOLF and SPA hotel/resort.... shouldn't adults be allowed to relax?)

ENOUGH, since we were there for a couple of days...decided to go to the spa. What I thought would be a relaxing massage, only to listen to an exercise class in the near by pool. The crowing glory, after my massage...while checking out, was when the once again, children came into the spa area, unaccompanied by an adult. Absolutely no reason for them to be there.

Breakfast, a buffet, was good, even though NOT all items were available until over 1 hour after they opened the doors for service. ... These children ranged in age from 3 to 10. Staff were disappointed, in the unruly children, also......yet what can they really do?

Driving gave us an advantage to explore the charming town.

This area is definitely worth a trip from Montevideo or Buenos Aires!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

We originally made reservations for the Radisson hotel in the center of Colonia, but they were double booked and offered us a room at the Sheraton. The Sheraton is located just outside town, but by taxi it takes only 5 to 10 minutes along the Rio de la Plata (nice view) and it does not cost much. The little town is great and definitely worth the trip from Buenos Aires!

The Sheraton is very new, with a nice pool (plus some salsa lessons next to it on the grass), great spa and nice big rooms. The restaurant and the waiters were less impressive, so going out for dinner in Colonia town might be a better idea. Everything else was fine. The hotel looks modern and nice, especially the main hallway with a beautiful HUGE chimney and a hip cowskin carpet on the floor.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed for three nights at Colonia Sheraton in December of 2006. Hotel really feels new when arriving there, everything seems modern. We had booked three nights there through Sheratons home page and paid US$189:-/night for a classic river view queen room.

Hotel is situated very well by the river with a beautiful view of sunset and if it isn't too hazy you can see the skyscrapers of Buenos Aires. Pool area is also fantastic with a huge pool and a lot of space. Spa treatments were also very nice and the spa area is luxurious.

First noticeable problem is service. Surely there were few friendly and professional members of staff but most of the staff were quite clueless with no initiative. We asked at reception if we could leave a few postcards which already had stamps to be sent... third person could give us an answer that it would be ok if we paid US$1:- per postcard. First two persons didn't have a clue. So as can be guessed we didn't leave the postcards there. Luckily my fiance is fluent in Spanish as otherwise I don't think we would have really gotten much service as most members of staff didn't even understand basic English.

On our second night after spa treatments we thought we'd order some room service. There was supposed to be a bottle opener by the mini bar but as it wasn't there we asked room service to bring one to us but after asking it for three times, receiving ok every time, first when ordering dinner, second when dinner was delivered and third time when the check came (wasn't delivered with dinner) we never received it. So we never had wine with our food. But in a way it was ok as during our dinner THREE cockroaches appeared in our room so we pretty fast lost our appetite. So about 22:30 I went down to reception to ask for a new room. It was supposed to take about 30 minutes to get the it and we were supposed to get a phone call when the new room was ready. Of course the phone call never came so after an hour I went down to the reception to get the keys for the room. But at least there weren't any uninvited guests at the new room...

The old town of Colonia is really beautiful with some nice restaurants. We had a nice dinner at "El Drugstore", recommended!

I feel very mixed about this hotel. It has great potential but as it is right now I wouldn't go back there as the quality is definetly not worth the price. I expected much more from a Sheraton resort. But do visit Colonia for a day or two, it is an easy boat trip away from Buenos Aires with the ferry company Buque Bus.

  • Liked — Location and pool area
  • Disliked — Bad service, cockroaches in room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2005

We just stayed at this hotel when it was only 6 weeks old. We stayed midweek and offseason, so there were very few other people there. The staff was incredibly gracious and attentive.

The outdoor pool overlooks the river and is lovely, but there were lots of little gnats (we found this to be true outside the hotel as well when near the river). The staff was wonderful about bringing towels and cushions and checking to see if we wanted refreshments. The indoor/outdoor pool is also terrific and relaxing. They fitness area is fairly small but has all the basics. I was treated to a yoga class with Carlos, which was a wonderful surprise!

The room was big with a superbly comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. The common areas have soft Uruguayan leather furniture and are very tastefully decorated.

Unfortunately we were so exhausted that we fell asleep and missed dinner. The restaurant staff was so kind when we were checking things out, and the prices (while high for Uruguay) were reasonable for a hotel of this caliber.

We actually took a city bus, the #123, which runs every 30 minutes, to get to the hotel. It took less than 1/2 hour, and everyone on the bus was very attentive and concerned that we get off at the right stop. The bus costs about 50 U.S. cents. The hotel ordered a cab for us to go back to the ferry port, and the cab was right on time with a very kind driver (cost about $7 USD). If you take the bus you just have to walk about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort. A looking point over the calm beaches and soft breezes of this destination listed as World Heritage Site by Unesco due to its rich history.Nestled in the residential neighbourhood "Real de San Carlos", a peaceful area just 5 minutes from the historic quarter and harbor. Just 45 minutes from Buenos Aires by ferry, or a 2-hour drive from Montevideo, Uruguay´s capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Colonia Golf And Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Hotel
Colonia Del Sacramento Sheraton
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.