We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moscato Cafe

Moscato Cafe
Calle Real 166 | Ciudad Vieja, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice terrace on the cobblestones in the old town. Some items seem a bit overpriced (cappucino for $u 150), but we had some (four) empanadas and two softdrinks for $u 320, a good price for this location.

Food and service were good, would go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mate served here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice cafe with food, drinks and desserts. They also serve a full mate kit for 150 Uruguayan Pesos. It includes a bag of mate, a thermos full of hot water and the traditional mate cup. One of the only places in Colonia that serves traditional mate.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a little gem in a very touristy town. I enjoyed a pot of tea and a slice of cake here for under $10 USD. It's a relaxing and beautiful place to sit for the afternoon. The food was great and there is a nice little lunch menu that I will try tomorrow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Service & Charm In The Historic District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I am in Colonia at least once a week for business. As much as I love Colonia and the historic district, many of the restaurants (especially with river views) feel like overpriced tourist traps. For instance, a recent lunch at a different restaurant with an investor client from South Carolina cost $40 for a simple salad and agua con gas with slow, subpar service.

This is why lunch yesterday at the Moscato Cafe was such a wonderful surprise. It is located on Calle Real only one block removed from the water and the Plaza Mayor. There are a half dozen wooden tables out front in the middle of the cobblestone street with red Coca-Cola umbrellas. The chalkboard outside lists the house specialties "Cappuccino, Hot Chocolate, Medialunas, Empanadas, Sandwiches, Cake, Fresh Lemonade, Ice Tea, Apple Crumble, Free WiFi...and Love!!"

The young server, Silvina, was very sweet and made sure that everyone in our party was taken care of. The beef and chicken baked empanadas were some of the best I've had in Uruguay, the Pilsen and Patricia cervezas were ice cold, and when you ask for hot sauce, they actually bring you a big bottle of Tabasco...a tall order in Uruguay where food is not usually served spicy.

The price for lunch for all three of us was a very reasonable US$35 not including gratuity for what was outstanding service. I highly recommend Moscato Cafe for visitors to Colonia del Sacramento.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moscato Cafe also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Moscato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moscato Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.