We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place- Marred |By Poor Organisation for English Speaking Tourists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barrio Historico

Barrio Historico
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$83*
and up
Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic section of town takes you back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with an array of interesting museums, an historic lighthouse and Uruguay’s oldest church.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Interesting Place- Marred |By Poor Organisation for English Speaking Tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Lovely town -but our 'organised tour' was a disaster- left to our own devices most of the time, almost no English spoken on our designated tour bus (despite English being advised and requested on booking). Not enough time in the town due to ferry boking by agent; lunch as part of tour was a disgrace.Did eventually get a brief 20 min tour of Colonia Barrio Historico in English , for 20 mins. Really need to improve the tourist experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,556
    681
    82
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downey, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historic Colonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We loved walking around the historic part of Colonia and met some very friendly people doing so. Seeing the oldest part of Uruguay with it's old buildings was very interesting as it differs very much from what you see elsewhere in Uruguay.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Gorgeous buildings, not much tourist info but nice to walk around. There are loads of really cool old cars just randomly parked around the place too! Worth a visit...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rich history, loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have been to both MOntevideo and Colonia and I should say the latter is a must to visit. If you are in Buenos Aires, you just need to take a 45 minutes ferry ride. I would highly recommend to hire a tour guide since the place is so rich with history. Spend a few hours strolling through the cobblestone streets, enjoy a snack or ice cream in one of cute sidewalk cafes.

After the tour, I recommend to hire a golf cart and venture to the modern city of the city. This is the best and fun way to see the beaches and nice mansions.

It is better if you but the ferry tickets in advance, at least a day earlier as they do sell quickly. YOu must bring your passport as you crossing to another country so it will be stamped.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very pleasant tourist attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a low key place to wander. It is nice to be somewhere clean after being in Buenos Aires for too long. I would visit this place again. It is certainly no disco party place and that's what makes it a nice change in this part of the world.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Historico also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Barrio Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrio Historico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.