We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed experience.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Las Terrazas

Save Saved
You added Posada Las Terrazas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Las Terrazas
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Manuel Lobo 281, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very mixed experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

When we arrived, we were excited about this hotel. The reception area is very modern, and fairly similar to other boutique hotels we've stayed at; there is a media area, and a waterfall (from the pool!) and green spaces inside, so it feels good to be there. The man who checked us in was very nice, very welcoming, and his English was great.

When we arrived at our room, things started to change. First of all, the room was very hot when we arrived, because apparently 80% of their power is solar, so they try not to waste. Well, it's nice that they are friendly to the environment, but it is awfully uncomfortable to try to settle in to a hot room after a long drive. The air conditioning worked, but slowly.

We were very disappointed to discover that our room didn't have a fridge. None of the rooms do, they told us. This was a problem for us, because we eat kind of a difficult diet, so it is important to us to be able to bring our own food along. We had a leaky cooler which we placed in our shower. The problem was worse because this hotel also has no ice machines or ice buckets. In the morning my husband had to go to a gas station to buy bags of ice.

There was also no wired Internet connection, only the wifi, and that wasn't a big deal, but inconvenient, because my husband's computer has some problems with wifi. We didn't expect or require a wired connection, but it would have been nice. On the other hand, the room DID have an Argentina-type outlet, so I think that would be a very convenient bonus for those visiting from Argentina.

There were other more basic things, like, there was no information in the room. Usually hotels have a little book to let you know basic things like where to get pool towels, and when to check out, and some suggestions for nearby restaurants. Most boutique hotels have a very fancy cute little book, and most cheap motels have a plastic card with the same information. This room just left you wondering.

Then there was the issue of the room key. The room key was attached to a card that had to be inserted to power the lights and air conditioning. I understand the idea behind this is to save electricity, and that is fine, but the problem was that we had only one of these keys. So, when my husband went to get our luggage, or went to get ice in the morning, or when I went to breakfast without him, you can't take a key with you and come back or you leave the other person without power. It was kind of awkward, because when I was asleep in the morning, I wasn't awake to open the door for my husband when he came back, but he couldn't leave me without cool air on a hot day, so he just had to wait until I woke up. It seemed unnecessary and inconvenient.

The "boutique" feeling that is present in the entry and shared areas is totally absent from the room. Usually boutique hotels have a lot of extra details: little decorations that make the rooms feel very homey and fresh...but our room didn't even have a rug, let alone extra pretty blankets or decorations (except for one wild painting on the wall). Obviously with no fridge there were no snacks available for purchase from the room, but there was also no restaurant there, and no book with recommendations. It just felt really empty, and not special or warm or welcoming in the room the way that other boutique hotels are. There were also no supplied amenities except for ones from dispensers in the shower. Not a big deal, but just definitely the absolute minimum. Our soap dispenser was also super hard to use (it was a pump one that you had to push and it didn't go down), which I know sounds petty, but it's just all about the details.

The pool was a little cool, but otherwise nice. The whole thing is quite deep so it did not work well for our baby. But it was okay. The pool area is pretty and pleasant.

I slept well. I thought the beds were comfortable. There were light-blocking curtains and separate, sheer privacy curtains so that was good.

In the morning, the breakfast was really disappointing. As I mentioned, we're eating a very restrictive diet, which we try to plan for, but usually--and especially at boutique hotels--we can eat a variety of different things. There was a large assortment of baked goods, little cakes and stuff...it didn't look fresh or homemade or anything like that, but if you just want a bunch of sugar to start your day, you'll have about 15 different options. There were also cereals. If you want a healthy option that doesn't have sugar, grain, or milk, you're left with a dish of fruit that is unripe. Except the watermelon, which was fine. There was some sad looking ham and sweaty cheese on a platter, and we ate a bit of that. There was something wrong with the orange juice. So we ate a slice of watermelon, a gulp of "juice" and part of a slice of ham. There was a breakfast attendant in the kitchen adjoining the dining area, but she didn't welcome us, or offer any special breakfast services, or even really reply when I greeted her. We left to search the town for somewhere that was open for breakfast.

We were not having the relaxing experience that we had hoped for, so we decided we were not really interested in staying another night.

We packed up our stuff and told the lady at the front that we wanted to check out. She told us sorry, but they were going to charge us for another night, because it was their policy that you cannot cancel less than 72 hours before the reservation. She was willing to offer us a voucher for us to use our night another time, which we didn't want. Okay, well, I can understand why they would have that policy, because of course it is not nice to reserve a room and prevent others from reserving it, and then leave them with a vacancy, but we had BOOKED it less than 72 hours before we checked in, and we had paid EXTRA for a refundable rate. The lady was really confused, and she said that she couldn't understand why we would want to leave because nobody ever had wanted to leave early before. (Really?) We mentioned some of the problems with no fridge, and with our special diet, and she kind of blamed us, saying that none of the rooms have fridges (well, I don't care, that just means that none of them will work for us), and then she said that we should have told them that we had a special diet because for grain free they have a special sugar free marmalade (? to put on bread that we don't eat?) and they can make eggs (THAT would have been nice to know) if we had told them that we had a special diet. We didn't see anything being cooked differently, so we just didn't know. She said she would call someone, and the result of the call was that she still wanted to charge us for both nights. So we said okay, well, charge the card you already have on file, and we will just dispute the charge, I guess. She wanted us to give her a new card and to sign for a new charge, which we were not going to agree to, so she said she could call the owner to come meet with us. She did call him, and asked if he could come in to talk to us, and after that call she said that he must have been in a good mood that day, because he had agreed to give us a free night. Meaning, we wouldn't have to pay for the following night that we were not going to be there for anyway, which we had only recently reserved as a non-final reservation. Ooookay. Thanks. She apologized for the moment, saying policies are policies, and she is just an employee. So we paid for our one night and went home. It was definitely the most awkward checkout we've ever had. And it isn't even like we were trying to not pay for our frustrating night that we did stay there--we just didn't want to pay double for one frustrating night!

Overall, if we hadn't had such an awkward checkout, I would have rated this a bit higher, 3 dots (average) instead of 2 (poor). The rooms and breakfast did not match our expectations based on several other boutique hotels we've stayed at...but the room was clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable, so it isn't terrible. We paid $180 for our room, and felt that it was overpriced.

Location of the hotel was incorrect on Google Maps. It is a few blocks from the old wall, and a little walk or drive to more of the city.

Room Tip: Our room was #14, and it was a triple-occupancy room located on the top level, facing the pool. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIguel S, Propietario at Posada Las Terrazas, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Emily, le agradezco su extensa opinión respecto de nuestra Posada, lamentamos su desilusión e intentaré responder brevemente pues así lo amerita su opinión. Nuestra Posada pretende no solo calificar (fuimos premiados por TRIPADVISOR con el PREMIO TRAVELLERS' CHOICE 2014) a través de los casi 600 comentarios obtenidos por la Posada en BOOKING, TRIPADVISOR, y DESPEGAR entre otras páginas especializadas en el tema (en todas ellas contamos con la máxima calificación para Colonia del Sacramento en nuestro rango de Posada), además confiamos en colaborar con un turismo responsable a futuro, para lo cual contamos con vidrios dobles, desconectadores con tarjetas habilitantes, aires acondicionados con gas refrigerante 410a (no deteriora la capa de ozono) aislaciones térmicas y acústicas, dispenser de jabones, champú, crema de enjuague, iluminación con LED'S etc. etc. Todo lo cual se alinea con no utilizar nevera en las habitaciones, compensando con servicio de HELADERAS a disposición del huésped, al igual que proveemos HIELO siempre a disposición del huésped, de igual modo disponemos desayunos para diabéticos y celíacos A SOLICITUD DEL HUESPED, la pastelería es extremadamente FRESCA realizada con esmero, amor y dedicación, personalmente por mi esposa (y propietaria) pues prefiere controlar personalmente su elaboración. Contamos con adaptadores de corriente para todos los usos (a pedido del huésped). La pintura original de su habitación (que lamentablemente no es de su agrado) pertenece a una prestigiosa pintora afroamericana (Maga) premiada en Europa repetidas veces. Finalmente: lamentamos que producto de la incomunicación se haya retirado anticipadamente (sin cargo) pues comprendimos su opción.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    69
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
163
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It's a 5-star posada! The staff is absolutely wonderful, better than any 5-star hotel, I'm positive about it.
We were a party of 7, and we stayed for 5 nights, so we could get a very good idea of how things work around here. I got really impressed about the staff: I have never seen such a group of people, so well prepared, so attentive, so willing to help... All of them are extremely nice, including the people at the front desk and at the kitchen/room cleaning. Andrés, Bea... I can't recall the name of everybody now, but all of them deserve every possible compliment.
My father had a medical urgency and we headed for a medical clinic right on the corner, where he was checked with no extra charge. The posada offers this great extra service.
The owner is always there, he pays close attention to every single detail. The posada itself was constructed to deserve ecofriendly status, with solar panels to save energy, double glasses and special walls to enhance the acoustic and thermal protection. The environmental conscience is in every single aspect. The pool is located in a convenient place heading west, so it hits a very pleasant temperature. The common areas are very well decorated, the home theater is amazing with great surrounding sound and extra comfy sofas, there are also a lot of games to play. The breakfast was really nice and the rooms were cozy and pleasant. There is no fridge in the room, but we asked to put a couple of things in their fridge, and we were promptly attended.
When we first arrived, Andrés said: "Make yourself at home" and he couldn't be more right. That's exactly how we felt. We felt like the posada was really our home! In summary, it was the best posada I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms facing the river are really worth it. If you don't want/cannot climb st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I were visiting our daughter in BA, Argentina and wanted to plan a 2 day side trip to Uruguay. We chose Las Terrazas as our hotel and were NOT disappointed. We were greeted warmly by the front desk staff who gave us a guided tour of the amenities. The room was tastefully appointed with modern touches. We were within walking distance of both the historical sites and many restaurants/shoppes in the city. The complementary breakfast was fantastic and filling. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Gorgeous spot to land in Colonia - easy walking from boat and bus, and to historic part of city. Very friendly staff helped us with all kinds of issues. Beautiful room, stunning infinity pool, very comfortable. Excellent facilities - game room, TV room, etc. Nice variety of foods on offer for breakfast. The wifi towards the rear of the hotel tends to be spotty (we were there for 4 days and repeatedly had to ask desk to reboot router). And, one bit of frightening drama - my husband's pillow was close to the halogen reading lamp when he went to the bathroom. He returned to find the pillow ON FIRE with me sound asleep only inches away. Could have been tragic...the desk seemed utterly unperturbed by this, just gave us a new pillow. BEWARE of halogen lamps in foreign countries!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a fantastic two days staying at Posada Las Terrazas; nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The roooms are large, simple and modern, the beds are comfy and the breakfast was great. The hotel is situated just 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal along a lovely cobbled street; it's also slap-bang in the heart of the old part of the Colonia. The downside of Colonia was its restuarants (with the exception of the fantastic wine & nibbles El Buen Suspiro and the Chivitas sidewalk cafe Los Farolitos on Gran Flores) - the quality of many of the them, and their food shows that this is a touristy place and some places just don't try very hard at all. But don't let it put you off. This is a stunning place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I picked this place because of the positive Tripadvisor reviews and the nice photos online. It did not disappoint! Most notably, this hotel has one of the kindest and most involved/helpful staffs of anywhere I have stayed. Always cheerful, always courteous, always wiling to help. It is also really well located a few steps from the gate to the old town. Special mention to the gorgeous common area in this hotel where you can sit by the fire and read on a chilly evening. They even serve you liqueurs on the house! The whole lobby setup is really lovely that way.There is a lovely pool which I am sure is a fabulous amenity in the warmer months.

The room was quite nice. I appreciated the freshness of the linens and the fluffy duvet. We had a twin room (we requested it, they have big beds too! ) and it was quite adequate, special mention to the bathroom which was gorgeous. A/C worked very well. It had a second door and probably functions as a suite which makes this hotel particularly good for families traveling with kids. The only thing that I didn't like about the room was the window gives to an exterior corridor, but it wasn't a big deal. Breakfast was basic but good.

A wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed one nite. Overall fantastic:service location, room, etc. As other reviewers have mentioned rooms were small but well appointed. Comfortable bed. Excellent price to comfort ratio. Free Wifi. Breakfast included

Room Tip: We had a garden view which looked out to the small pool area green area. Think those are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Las Terrazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Las Terrazas

Address: Manuel Lobo 281, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Las Terrazas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a warm Posada Boutique one block from the Historic District, nicely decorated, with spacious common areas, underfloor heating, swimming pool, breakfast buffet. Designed for Responsible Tourism, low standards of environmental protection (with supply solar energy for hot water and underfloor heating) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Posada Las Terrazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Las Terrazas Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Las Terrazas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.