We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok !not what I had in mind!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla Costanera, esquina Torres Garcia y Pedro Figari, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ok !not what I had in mind!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel,too many for what the hotel offers.
We rent a golf cart outside because the hotel carts are very pricy .This is what made our vacation a Must!
The walking distance to the main road is ok but walking to the Historic District takes more than 2km.
The flies and Mosquitos eat me up and I had to search for a local pharmacy to get a help.
If you need some extra cash ,no way less than 2km walking.
The rooms are ok,,the Riverside suite where we stay ,has no privacy in the balcony area at all.
I chose this hotel following the Trip Advisory reviews but I made a big mistake! My fault!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    166
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
88
265
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

my husband and I ended up spending our first night in a very uncomfortable room, which is supposed to be their finest (the view was really beautiful from our balcony, but we would rather have had a good night's sleep). As the room has two 'walls' of sliding glass doors, they vibrated and rattled with the wind all night long - a real nightmare. Fortunately, the following afternoon we had the opportunity to move to another room with fewer glass windows and our first bad impression was dissipated. Although it is a new, modern hotel, it is time they improved their maintenance, since too many things came off in our hands, including a towel rack, a soap dish, and even a doorknob. We loved the location and the view of the Rio de la Plata, although the hotel surroundings looked rather dirty (too many garbage bags and construction debris). All in all, it was a decent enough hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with fewer glass doors that does not face the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Really nice hotel with massive rooms on the outskirts of Colonia. We were given an upgrade as it was out honeymoon. Room was huge with a separate living area, kitchenette and large balcony overlooking the river. Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Colonia and is a very cheap taxi ride. Nice breakfast and pool area. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm,Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you just plan to stay at the hotel this is a good chioce when it comes to rooms (cool interial design) and pool area (comfortable sunbeds and nice pool). However when getting hungry you will have some issues. The restaurant offers decent selection but is severely overpriced. The alternative is a 45 min walk to the city center or to order a cab getting there (approx 140 pesos).

Our take is that the main purpose of getting to Colonia and staying the night is to eat in the old city center by night. Then this is most likely not the prefered hotel.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for river view, you will get enough and better views of the river from buquebus fer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel appears fairly new, is very clean and and large bright spacious rooms. We stayed in a 'loft room with river view' which was great. The room was modern and included a kitchen sink, fridge and microwave. The staff were excellent and the hotel has both an indoor and outdoor pool (complete with Sauna and mini gym in the indooor one).

The only thing to bear in mind is that the hotel is around a 30 minute walk from the hostoric town area where the restaurants are. It's a nice walk however and I'm sure the hotel would phone a taxi for you. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Internet is very Great
Room is large and very comfortable
Location is good, but to go to Historic centre you'll need take a taxi
Services from reception are poors
The breakfast is acceptable, few options.
I spend U$D145/per day

Room Tip: River Side Rooms are less expensive with comlete river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were in the Hotel for two nights. We were in a Suite with river view, which was and excellent option. The building has only four floors and we were at the top floor. The service is good; we used the indoor pool and other facilities. We took a massage with Susan, she is excellent. The breakfast is simple and good. The hotel has 60 rooms.
Only three things to note:
1) I called to request massage therapy availability and had to call a second time since I didn´t get an answer the first time.
2) The breakfast room is somehow small. It is the same for lunch and dinner. The tables are set for parties of four; but the vast majority of guests were couples. As a consequence, people occupied tables for four when they were only 1 or 2. Therefore, other guests had to wait for a table.
3) During our stay we saw three people of staff management of the hotel interviewing candidates for job openings of the hotel. The bizarre situation was that the interviews were performed during lunch and breakfast with all guests around them. Everybody was able to hear the full conversations. They also did an appraisal review of supervisor during breakfast. We noted that the conference room in the hotel was empty and available. So, we do not t understand why normal services provided to guests have to be disturbed with back office matters like: performance appraisals and candidate interviews.

Room Tip: Corner suite with river view higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: Rambla Costanera, esquina Torres Garcia y Pedro Figari, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel is situated in an exceptional setting in front of the river. Its 61 spacious and cozy rooms offer an ideal blend of modern design, luminosity and stunning river views.The on-site restaurant invites both guests and locals to enjoy an all-day menu and wine bar within a casual and relaxed atmosphere.The hotel Spa features an indoor and outdoor heated swimming pool, wet sauna and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.